PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Openwrt On Wl700ge Update Book



back2basic
03-02-2007, 19:07
We are setting up a book on how to update and set up the asus wl700ge firmware to openwrt
This book will eventualy be a detailed instruction guide on how to set up every component of openwrt
It can be modifyed by registerd users ,so feel free to participate in it
installing custom asus firmware is also in here

http://wl700g.homelinux.net

clausbruun
05-03-2007, 13:27
We are setting up a book on how to update and set up the asus wl700ge firmware to openwrt
This book will eventualy be a detailed instruction guide on how to set up every component of openwrt
It can be modifyed by registerd users ,so feel free to participate in it

http://back2basic.shacknet.nu/WL700Ge/


Thank you very much, this proved very useful to me!

umonster
05-03-2007, 14:50
Forgive my ignorance, but does this firmware require everything to be setup and run through a command line? In other words, there is no GUI?

back2basic
05-03-2007, 15:10
Forgive my ignorance, but does this firmware require everything to be setup and run through a command line? In other words, there is no GUI?

there is no GUI atm x-wrt is builing one but it is still in develepment

back2basic
06-03-2007, 16:58
The name of the site has changed into

http://wl700g.homelinux.net

mecheng
14-04-2007, 18:06
I tried openwrt on my wl-700ge. It is decently fast compared to asus firmware but the lack of a gui for making quick configuration changes is a big disadvantage. I use pppoe adsl and never could get it shared to wireless clients. When I went through my old router into the asus with DHCP everything was fine but pppoe would just work on the router and wouldn't share to clients.

I will go back to this firmware as soon as X-WRT is available on kamikaze and wl-700ge.

Just my 2 cents.

mecheng

back2basic
15-04-2007, 09:24
I tried openwrt on my wl-700ge. It is decently fast compared to asus firmware but the lack of a gui for making quick configuration changes is a big disadvantage. I use pppoe adsl and never could get it shared to wireless clients. When I went through my old router into the asus with DHCP everything was fine but pppoe would just work on the router and wouldn't share to clients.

I will go back to this firmware as soon as X-WRT is available on kamikaze and wl-700ge.

Just my 2 cents.

mecheng


x-wrt is availble and working but still in development so it isn't 100%

mecheng
19-05-2007, 17:30
I couldn't get any of the X-wrt versions to work on my router. I tried install from the firmware on their website and installing it on top of kamakazi install from your guide b2b. Please help me with a link to some info on this or lets chat so I can pick your brain as to what works and what doesn't.

Kfurge's firmware seems to work good lately!!

15:29:13 up 19 days, 20:02, load average: 0.09, 0.09, 0.08

pppoe adsl
and 3 linux laptops on wlan

Just to Update I had OpenWRT Kamikaze and a very nice web interface (X-WRT Webif^2) running on the router. The only hitch was that I was never able to connect to the wireless. Wired was fine. I am going to try to reflash.

houli-mouli
03-07-2007, 11:05
PPTP is not working on Austrian AON provider!
If someone is willing to provide me with support I am willing to make the eval on the entire PPTP interface.

Azultra
15-08-2007, 20:51
Hi back2basic,

Thanks for this messy but very useful resource ;) Unfortunately I haven't been able to install OpenWRT on my unit.. I've been playing with my new WL700ge for two days now, recovering back from death and switched back to the Asus firmware several times, but no way in installing the "libre" beast. I'm using the last subversion source, image sizes are ~1.7Mbytes and either 2.4 or 2.6 seem to work.
Once I've flashed the OpenWRT .trx image and pressed the RESET button the orange power led and the switch blue leds light on, then the READY blue led starts blinking ~6 seconds, then it(the ready led) lights off, and then nothing. I can't ping the router and even the others comp' linked to the switch.

Could you help me ?

back2basic
15-08-2007, 21:24
after flashing the openwrt image over tftp and a reset you box should powerup the ready light goes on and if the boor completes the ready goes off after that telnet is available, don't reboot it then unles root is on a usb/hdd else the box wont power up
But in youre case if the ready lights starts blinking after flashing something has gone wrong I think.
Did you flashed over tftp ( power on unit with ez-setup pressed -- ready lights blinks 5 times after that try to flash)

PS gonne clean up the tutorials (got a 2 week vacation and a really bad summer)

gratitude182
15-08-2007, 21:34
i think if you install openwrt you have not to press the reset button after that. telnet is open after installing the trx openwrt file. only if you wanna go back to asus firmware you have to press the reset button.

grat182

back2basic
06-09-2007, 09:07
due to a power failure my site got kicked offline last night and somehow my modem did not connected anymore .
I didn't noticed it until I was at work this morning so I can't fix it right now but it will be online somewhere around 16:00 cet (amsterdam)

Sorry for this problem hope it won't happen again

back2basic
06-09-2007, 14:40
ok site is back online
Turns out I caused the problem, Last night I made a backup and rebooted the server and it got another ip than it supposed to do trough that firewall blocked us :) ( Stupid me didn't configured a static ip ---Now it does )

Arikon
07-09-2007, 07:57
Btw, site is down.

"Unable to connect to database server"

back2basic
07-09-2007, 09:56
Btw, site is down.

"Unable to connect to database server"

I'm starting to think someone is f*cking me yesterday everything worked fine
I resetted the server and mysql is running again gonne dig in some loggs
Again sorry for the downtime

back2basic
07-11-2007, 17:58
Due to a powerfailure my host got kicked offline .
It's the second faillure today, I don't know how long its gonne take until power is restored.
I'm sitting now here in the dark with a few candles, logged in over my mobile phone line.

As soon as power is restored I'll post a message,I hope it will be in a few hours.

Sorry for the problem......

back2basic
07-11-2007, 21:06
Its back online
:cool::cool:

hal2k1
08-11-2007, 00:49
I tried openwrt on my wl-700ge. It is decently fast compared to asus firmware but the lack of a gui for making quick configuration changes is a big disadvantage. I use pppoe adsl and never could get it shared to wireless clients. When I went through my old router into the asus with DHCP everything was fine but pppoe would just work on the router and wouldn't share to clients.

I have an ethernet ADSL modem and a wl700ge unit for my home networking equipment. It was a bit tricky to get these working together with wireless enabled.

Use your old router first, login and install every package with either "pppoe" or "ppp" alone as part of the package name. At least one ppp-related package is not included in the default firmware image, but I forget which one it was. You can find the packages you need by using the command: 'ipkg list | grep ppp'. You can find the ones you have already installed using the command: 'ipkg list_installed | grep ppp'.

Also, install the wirless-related packages as described here:
http://wl700g.homelinux.net/portal/content/view/37/30/

OK, now you need to set your modem to "bridging" mode, to allow the wl700ge to do the pppoe login. Do not let the modem login and connect the wan interface of the wl700ge using dhcp, as this interferes somehow with the dhcp part of dnsmasq in the wl700ge serving the lan ports.

With the modem set to bridging mode, and all of the ppp and pppoe related packages previously installed, edit /etc/config/network and set the wan section as described in post #3 on this thread:
http://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=11451

For PPOE/DSL connection try the following settings in /etc/config/network :

config interface wan
option ifname "eth0.1"
option proto pppoe
option username "your-userid@isp-name"
option password "your-password"
option keepalive 10
option mtu 1492


AFAIK, the wireless configuration at either reference is correct, but the wan section must be set as per the code box above.

This combination works for pppoe and for wireless, and dnsmasq also works properly.

hal2k1
09-11-2007, 12:03
This combination works for pppoe and for wireless, and dnsmasq also works properly.

Not stable, I'm afraid. The kam7.09 version and pppoe somehow can't live with each other for mor than a few days, it would seem.

Back to the drawing board!



OK, now you need to set your modem to "bridging" mode, to allow the wl700ge to do the pppoe login. Do not let the modem login and connect the wan interface of the wl700ge using dhcp, as this interferes somehow with the dhcp part of dnsmasq in the wl700ge serving the lan ports.

I tried this again, and this time I seem to have got it working with the ADSL modem doing the pppoe login, and the wl700ge using dhcp.

I'm not sure how it is configured differently now compared with before, but it does now seem to be working.

So ... mea culpa, I was wrong. Don't use pppoe on the wl700ge box while running kamikaze. Get another router, or your ADSL mode, to do the pppoe login instead.

ded.perdyn
03-02-2013, 16:42
I've just installed open wrt on my ASUS-wl700ge using your link: http://wl700ge.hezik.nl (OpenWrt - BackFire - 10.03.1 - Asus WL700gE)
Now I need to install software.

Can somebody please advice sowtware repository and package to be used with that version. Since now there is no any package manager installed (ipkg or opkg).

Thanks, Pavel