PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : External USB Drives



Danimal
18-01-2007, 06:19
:mad:
I have read many posts here.. but I don't find instructions on how you can see or access external USB drives.

I have read the manual, and tried everything I can find on the router... it does not seem to see any USB drives I have tried to plug into it.

I realize (now) that external devices apparently also will have to use the unique format(linux). I think that really sucks.... ASUS should have mentioned this in their advertising. They make this unit sound like you can plug in ANY external USB drive and use it.

This unit would really ROCK if it could do 1/2 of what they claim it can.

luckynuts
18-01-2007, 13:39
Hi Danimal,

Im gonna write you a small manual how to view external drives which are pluged in your router.

1. Plug in an Turn on your Router and the External Drive to the Router.
2. click on start --> run and type in \\ip of your router\ ( Example: \\192.168.1.1\ ) Do NOT use / like you do on the internet!
3. press enter
4. now youre gonna see your drivces on the router. one of those is your external drive. (mine aint got a password and is named ntfs)


you can also use NTFS drives, at least with the new firmware of the wl 700ge

have fun dude! :D

Danimal
19-01-2007, 06:19
Thanks for your prompt reply...still no dice..... no matter how I look at the router.... as you recommended..... also tried thru network browsing....can only see the internal HD of the unit.

I even formatted the USB drive as NTFS.... It just can't see the damn thing.

When I plug the USB drive into my computer a small light blinks.... this same light does NOT even lite up when plugged into the router.

I have also not been able to get the "Copy" button to work on the router. Does the external device need to be NTFS for the Copy to work?

I also tried a small external drive... 80 gb unit that is USB powered.... no dice... the light on that one does light up. I did not try that one formatted as NTFS yet.

Not sure if these drives are USB 1 or USB 2... will USB 1 work??

I've looked all over in the config for this unit... and the only drive I can see is the internal.

Thanks again.

n00ben
19-01-2007, 07:12
if the light on the hd doesn't even light up, perhaps it's a defect usb port?

mumsoft
20-01-2007, 13:42
When I plug the USB drive into my computer a small light blinks.... this same light does NOT even lite up when plugged into the router.

I have also not been able to get the "Copy" button to work on the router. Does the external device need to be NTFS for the Copy to work?


No NTFS is needed. If the White thing has an external drive it will want it formatted in it's own dark way. Ik you want it to be able to use the copy button with it, so far I have had only success with FAT, that is, a usb-stick and an image tank that shows itself as a usb-host and a usb-client (with USBOTG).
I have formatted a huge 250GB drive with FAT, but mr. White did not bother, it only saw this one as an external volume without a proper filesystem. No Copy button here.
I still don't understand.

But your problem: if you can see the USB Drive in your pc (with windows or Linux or so), you should be able to see it either as an external volume or as an attached USB stick from which you can copy stuff in Mr. White
If you can't see the thing with your pc, I bet something is wrong with the USB port on the drive.

Marc