PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Access services (ftp, ssh, web, samba) from outside AP in "client mode"/"station"??



xlazyx
29-09-2006, 22:30
Hi,

I just got myself a WL-500G Premium, and successfully managed to set it up in "client mode" by going to the advanced wireless settings, setting the mode to "Station", and entering the other APs SSID and channel in the normal settings.

Right now my setup looks like this:

http://idi.ntnu.no/~torarnv/alt2.png

I'm using a D-Link (AP2) to extend the range of my university wireless network into my apparment. Note that the router part of AP1 is on a different subnet (192.168.1.x), so the DHCP server on the Asus gives IPs to both the D-Link and the other computers in that range.

I've also managed to connect an USB-drive, which I've shared using samba. The two computers in my apparment (PC and laptop) can both access the samba share on 192.168.1.1.

BUT, I would very much like to access the data on the USB-drive from my university computer, or when I'm at a friends house, though the Internet.

Is this at all possible? Is it limited to some services? Can I for example not have the samba share "public", but have a web-interface to my data?

For reference, ifconfig looks like this:


[admin@asus root]$ ifconfig
br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:D6:97:20
inet addr:192.168.1.1 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::217:31ff:fed6:9720/10 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5962 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:386164 (377.1 KiB) TX bytes:3992122 (3.8 MiB)

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:D6:97:20
inet6 addr: fe80::217:31ff:fed6:9720/10 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8779 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:472008 (460.9 KiB) TX bytes:5017137 (4.7 MiB)
Interrupt:4 Base address:0x1000

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:D6:97:20
inet addr:42.53.175.78 Bcast:42.53.175.79 Mask:255.255.255.252
inet6 addr: fe80::217:31ff:fed6:9720/10 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2879 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:6183
TX packets:2224 errors:36 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:1418902 (1.3 MiB) TX bytes:298090 (291.1 KiB)
Interrupt:2 Base address:0x2000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:4420 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4420 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:616125 (601.6 KiB) TX bytes:616125 (601.6 KiB)

vlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:D6:97:20
inet6 addr: fe80::217:31ff:fed6:9720/10 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6622 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:401772 (392.3 KiB) TX bytes:4058238 (3.8 MiB)

vlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:31:D6:97:20
inet6 addr: fe80::217:31ff:fed6:9720/10 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2155 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:958751 (936.2 KiB)

When wget'ing whatismyip.com from the Asus I get a different IP than the one eth1 has (129.241.x.x), so I suspect my university have some stuff going on. Related to this, is it possible to have lynx on the Asus?

Thanks for any input!

Tor Arne

Gerry Boland
01-10-2006, 00:00
It depends on how your University network is set up!

I'd imagine it has it's own subnet, and internal DCHP server so your Asus router's IP will change (no big deal, dyndns can tell you it) so you'll probably be able to access it in Uni. But it's unlikely that IP will be accessible externally.

Still that's only a guess, you'll have to nose about the Uni's own computers to see how it's set up.
-Ger