PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : DHCP and more than 8 manual IP assignemtent



oswald
24-09-2006, 15:52
Is there a way to overcome the limit of 8 entries for the manual IP assignement in the DHCP option? I need to bind like 20 IPs to MAC addresses.. but unfortunatily the 1.9.6.0 FW only alows 8 entries....

chicagorich
25-09-2006, 10:01
Have you tried any of the custom firmwares..?

I am running 1.9.2.7-7e on a WL-500 G Deluxe and the unit does not limit the number of manually assigned IP addresses for the DHCP server---at least not yet for me and I have 10 or 12 assigned in the manual assignment section...



.

chicagorich
25-09-2006, 16:38
Another thought---is it IP's you need to associate with a MAC address or is it pc's..?

I attached a pic of my WL-500g Deluxe with more than 8 manually assigned IP addresses functioning...




.

oswald
25-09-2006, 20:11
Hmmm... this is just the dhcp status log.... I mean the "Assign IP Address Manually" under the "IP-config" menue.... There is a mask for entering MAC addresses and IPs.... I can only enter 8 in there.... The DHCP can of cause lease out more than 8 IPs.... but I want to have fixed IPs for all my machines without setting up fixed IPs on each machine... so that the machnes obtain the same IP each time they connect to the router through DHCP....

chicagorich
25-09-2006, 20:22
Those IPs listed are all manually assigned.

I have 15 entries under manually assigned IP adresses--see attachments...

.

oswald
25-09-2006, 23:13
ok, thanx! :)... then I gonna try 1.9.2.7-7e
...even though I hate changing a running system.... but I just need that feature.

chicagorich
26-09-2006, 00:25
Good luck...!!

Just remember all of the good practices for flashing a new firmware---do it over a wired connection, etc..

Also, I have never had any good luck at trying to apply the saved settings between firmware versions---always had to re-enter everything from scratch..


.