PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : MANUAL: How to compile a firmware for the WL-700g from the GPL 1.0.4.2



MoD
06-07-2006, 21:56
Prerequisites


A computer with a running Linux Distribution with ash shell.
Basic knowledge of standard unix commands / usage
Some experience with compiling software with configure && make && make install would be an advantage
Non-dialup internet connection

My own setup is a Fedore Core 4 running on an Pentium 4. I am working with root acount.

Setting up the software

If it dosn't exist create the directory /opt.
# mkdir /opt < enter >

Download the Asus GPL sources for getting the Asus toolchain (we need mipsel-linux 3.0, so we are not downloading the lates firmware source) :

# cd /opt < enter >
# wget http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/gpl/GPL_1.8.1.9.tar.gz < enter >
# tar xvfz GPL_1.8.1.9.tar.gz < enter >
# cp -R /opt/broadcom/opt/brcm /opt < enter >

Change mipsel-linux to version 3.0:

# ln -sf /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.0 /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux < enter >

Create a symbolik link from /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.2.3/mipsel-linux/sys-include to /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/mipsel-linux/sys-include

# ln -sf /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.2.3/mipsel-linux/sys-include /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/mipsel-linux/sys-include < enter >

Copy a file stdio.h from /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.2.3/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.2.3/include to /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0/include:

# cp /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.2.3/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.2.3/include/stdio.h /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0/include/stdio.h < enter >

Add toolchain path to your PATH:

# export PATH=$PATH:/opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-uclibc/bin:/opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/bin < enter >

Set up GPL code

Go to the /root directory and download the GPL source code:

# cd /root < enter >
# wget http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl700ge/gpl/GPL_WL700gE_1042tar.zip < enter >

Unzip GPL_WL700gE_1.0.4.2.tar.gz from GPL_WL700gE_1042tar.zip:

# unzip -u GPL_WL700gE_1042tar.zip < enter >

Extract the source:

# tar xvfz GPL_WL700gE_1.0.4.2.tar.gz < enter >

Make a change in 3 files by adding a path to executable mkcramfs (replace mkcramfs to /opt/broadcom/src/linux/linux/scripts/cramfs/mkcramfs):

/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/Makefile
/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/pivot_root/Makefile
/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/mfgtest_root/Makefile

Compile the firmware

Go to the directory /root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps and type:

# make rebuild

DaNawq
07-07-2006, 15:06
Nice manual, but I discovered a small mistake.

You just have to switch the parameters in your symbolic link commands.

# ln -sf /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.0 /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux < enter >
# ln -sf /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.2.3/mipsel-linux/sys-include /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/mipsel-linux/sys-include < enter >

After that the firmware compiles to the following error:


make[3]: Entering directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/tcp_wrapper'
mipsel-linux-gcc -O -DFACILITY=LOG_MAIL -DHOSTS_ACCESS -DPARANOID -DGETPEERNAME_BUG -DBROKEN_FGETS -DLIBC_CALLS_STRTOK -DDAEMON_UMASK=022 -DREAL_DAEMON_DIR=\"/usr/sbin\" Gilouche -DSEVERITY=LOG_INFO -DRFC931_TIMEOUT=10 -DHOSTS_DENY=\"/etc/hosts.deny\" -DHOSTS_ALLOW=\"/etc/hosts.allow\" -DBROKEN_SO_LINGER -DSYS_ERRLIST_DEFINED -Dvsyslog=myvsyslog -DALWAYS_HOSTNAME -c options.c
mipsel-linux-gcc: Gilouche: No such file or directory
make[3]: *** [options.o] Error 1

Hope you can help me ;)

UPDATE: By editing the cflags in tcp_wrapper I could surround that problem, but I run into new ones :P
We'll see by when I can help you with the telnetd^^

One small question at the end:

By flashing a new firmware, do I lose all shares with all the files in them?

thx alot.

MoD
07-07-2006, 18:28
Nice manual, but I discovered a small mistake.

You just have to switch the parameters in your symbolic link commands.

# ln -sf /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.0 /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux < enter >
# ln -sf /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.2.3/mipsel-linux/sys-include /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/mipsel-linux/sys-include < enter >

After that the firmware compiles to the following error:


make[3]: Entering directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/tcp_wrapper'
mipsel-linux-gcc -O -DFACILITY=LOG_MAIL -DHOSTS_ACCESS -DPARANOID -DGETPEERNAME_BUG -DBROKEN_FGETS -DLIBC_CALLS_STRTOK -DDAEMON_UMASK=022 -DREAL_DAEMON_DIR=\"/usr/sbin\" Gilouche -DSEVERITY=LOG_INFO -DRFC931_TIMEOUT=10 -DHOSTS_DENY=\"/etc/hosts.deny\" -DHOSTS_ALLOW=\"/etc/hosts.allow\" -DBROKEN_SO_LINGER -DSYS_ERRLIST_DEFINED -Dvsyslog=myvsyslog -DALWAYS_HOSTNAME -c options.c
mipsel-linux-gcc: Gilouche: No such file or directory
make[3]: *** [options.o] Error 1

Hope you can help me ;)

UPDATE: By editing the cflags in tcp_wrapper I could surround that problem, but I run into new ones :P
We'll see by when I can help you with the telnetd^^

1) I fixed symbolic link mistake in the manual. Thanks!
2) I just rebuilt the enviorment and recompiled without any problems. I dont know what is wrong.

Now I'm trying to incude telnetd.... for now it seems that make menuconfig doesnt work. makes a mistake at compilation.

MoD
07-07-2006, 20:13
By flashing a new firmware, do I lose all shares with all the files in them?

no I don't. all files stay where they are saved. no problems.

But I don't take any resposibility for your data lost:rolleyes:

MoD
07-07-2006, 20:23
I noticed that if you want to enable telnetd, you will need:

1) launch make menuconfig
2) load settings from file NASoC_config

My question is: do I have to select only telnetd and nothing else? like addgroup, passwd or something similar?

Give me a hint!

I enabled telnetd and added something like this to services.c:

int
start_telnetd(void){
int ret = 0;
pid_t pid;
char *telnetd_argv[] = { "telnetd", NULL };
ret = _eval(telnetd_argv, NULL, 0, &pid);
dprintf("done\n");
return ret;
}

and added the function to the function start_services.

reflashed the firmware, but telnetd is not working:(

MoD
07-07-2006, 21:14
After compiling the firmware I even see (in the directory /root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/mipsel/target/sbin) that telnetd has been compiled.

But when I flash and reboot the router, telnetd has not been started :(

DaNawq
07-07-2006, 23:11
I do believe there's still something wrong with the firmware update itself.

When I flash my new image to the router it still keeps all my settings.

I think only by a complete update (hdd also) it will accept the new changes.

Still experimenting ;-)

MoD
07-07-2006, 23:50
I'm thinking about two possibilities:

1) your version. try firmware restoration tool. or reset router after upgrade?!
2) old busybox that doesnt support telnetd

I changed busybox from Oleg's firmware. Trying to compile now.

DaNawq
07-07-2006, 23:55
My version isn't really working yet ;)

Perhaps I'll connect the harddrive to a normal PC to see weather there are stored some configs or not...

MoD
07-07-2006, 23:57
My version isn't really working yet ;)

Perhaps I'll connect the harddrive to a normal PC to see wether there are stored some configs or not...

I changed firmware version. At least it appeared on web interface...

MoD
08-07-2006, 00:14
I noticed that WL700gE in web pages use ash shell. Telnetd by default uses whitch one? does that makes sense?

MoD
08-07-2006, 00:15
recompiled with busybox from Oleg's source. The result wasn't succesfull:mad:

hmantsao
08-07-2006, 06:26
I noticed that WL700gE in web pages use ash shell. Telnetd by default uses whitch one? does that makes sense?

on the wl700ge, the telnetd is "/bin/utelnetd",you can try to start it. I had telnet to 700ge one month ago using a stupid method.

1. modify the web started page fils ( /layout/layout.cgi ) from neighbor.
2. add " /bin/utelnetd &" on the page, need carefully the add location.
3. reload the web starting page.

ps.
1.this method worked on firmware 1.0.4.1, didn't check on better or new
2.if we can write utelnetd on starting process, will easy to telnet . becase this method will been cleared whe you reboot.

you can contact with me by IM ( see the userCP).
my new firmware didn't finish , still have some problem.

MoD
08-07-2006, 11:37
You are right! there is utelnetd in /bin directory. I'll try to use this daemon. but for this daeomn the full syntax is:


/bin/utelnetd -l /bin/sh -d

The question is if the parameter -l /bin/sh is important? I'll try to use /bin/utelnetd -d

MoD
08-07-2006, 11:49
1. modify the web started page fils ( /layout/layout.cgi ) from neighbor.
2. add " /bin/utelnetd &" on the page, need carefully the add location.


where is that layout.cgi located? I cant find in my router:(
what do you mean with
, need carefully the add location.

MoD
08-07-2006, 13:16
Please find attachement with the code how to launch utelnetd daemon.

I can compile the firmware, flash it but telnet daemon doesnt work. Can anyone help me? What is wrong with that? I have three versions:

1) something with firewall rules.
2) something with firmware upgrade - the firmware isnt upgraded actually.
3) something with execution permitions or daemon parameters (maybe telnet daemon doesnt like shell or login cedentials)

The third is most likely because if there were a problem, hmantsao wouldnt be able to start telnet from web page and I have chaged firmware version number. It appears on web interface - firmware has changed.

any ideas?

Antiloop
08-07-2006, 13:25
you could add it in index.cgi like this:



#!/bin/ash
################flag
/bin/utelnetd &

MoD
08-07-2006, 13:28
you could add it in index.cgi like this:



#!/bin/ash
################flag
/bin/utelnetd &

I was able to telnet in. But I was trying to add it to the firmware. without any success:( I started new thread to show how I did that: http://www.wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=5762

MoD
08-07-2006, 14:02
I can start another utelnetd from userspace on a different port, but why it doesnt start with router?!

BarBaar
09-07-2006, 18:30
I haven't been able to succesfully compile the firmware.. but have you tried running telnetd from inetd?

I do see options for this in the busybox menuconfig..

Don't forget to enable the inetd itself..

DaNawq
09-07-2006, 22:47
Trying to replace busybox with the latest one (1.2.0).

Wish me luck, seems to compile successfully ;)

BarBaar
09-07-2006, 23:10
right.. I just compiled a new firmware (no problems here), and tried to put it on the 700g. But apparently something was not good.. now the router does not come into it's ready-state... I cannot ping the router either...

So it's quite hard to put back a previous firmware using the webinterface.. also the firmware restorationtool cannot connect, or I am having troubles putting the device in rescue mode (power off, hold reset button, power on, readly led starts blinking)

any ideas how to fix this?

done it!

But don't ask how :P Some combination of buttons I guess.. The firmware probably did not work because I compiled it on a x86_64 box.. Forgot about that :P

MoD
10-07-2006, 08:26
About latest busybox - I already did it. Easily:) but does it makes sense?

maybe it is good idea to set nvram set boot_wait=on && nvram commit :D ?

MoD
10-07-2006, 08:48
Can anyone explaint me this:

The mount command shows that /dev/se/2 on /shares/MYVOLUME1 is mount as reiserfs (rw) whitch means that my changes in \\192.168.1.1\myshare1\web\Layout\showMessage.cgi (I wrote about this here http://www.wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=33160&postcount=1) are made on reiserfs filesystem, right?

Then why does my changes after reboot are lost?:confused:

ralam
10-07-2006, 11:13
I think the router does some automatich updating or something, There is a layout taiwanese and english folder, I'm assuming it's copying the one for your selected language to the folder at startup. Or maybe it's just a symbolic link or something similar...

If you disable the default photoalbum and webpage, you can put your own website in the webfolder (I did this with a web export from picassa, it the starts to show the index.html I put in the webfolder when I browsed to it). I'm not sure if you can put you own cgi scripts in it too, since I'm not at home in CGI specifically and WWW/HTTP in general :)

Remco

DaNawq
10-07-2006, 15:25
My busybox 1.2.0 does not work as easily as you mentioned^^

My seps:

-moved busybox to busybox.asus
-extracted new src to busybox
-copied the configuration manually with make menuconfig
-edited Rules.mak (outcommenting CC etc. but CPP $(CC) -E and MAKEFILES ... (like in the old Rules.mak))

Result: compiles the firmware, I do see binarys in bin etc, BUT does not mount my harddrive on boot (mount is selected in busybox) so telneting does not work (no access to passwd on hdd)

MoD
10-07-2006, 15:57
My busybox 1.2.0 does not work as easily as you mentioned^^

My seps:

-moved busybox to busybox.asus
-extracted new src to busybox
-copied the configuration manually with make menuconfig
-edited Rules.mak (outcommenting CC etc. but CPP $(CC) -E and MAKEFILES ... (like in the old Rules.mak))

Result: compiles the firmware, I do see binarys in bin etc, BUT does not mount my harddrive on boot (mount is selected in busybox) so telneting does not work (no access to passwd on hdd)

You should do the following:

1) open two terminal windows.
2) in each window go to busybox directory
3) issue command make menuconfig
4) original ASUS busybox settings are stored in NASoC_config. You have to load them.
5) go trought all sections and check the same vaues for new busybox, as it is set for original Asus busybox.
6) save the values for new busybox
7) as original ASUS busybox settings are stored in NASoC_config, copy them from .config by

#cp ./config NASoC_config

8) compile the formware


this way it should work!

DigiTalik
10-07-2006, 16:46
make[4]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt/po'
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[2]: *** Keine Regel vorhanden, um das Target &#187;/opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0/include/stddef.h&#171;,
ben&#246;tigt von &#187;popt.o&#171;, zu erstellen. Schluss.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[1]: *** [popt] Fehler 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps'
make: *** [rebuild] Fehler 2




i become this error????
please help me...
thanks DigiTalik

MoD
10-07-2006, 18:29
make[4]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt/po'
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[2]: *** Keine Regel vorhanden, um das Target »/opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0/include/stddef.h«,
benötigt von »popt.o«, zu erstellen. Schluss.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[1]: *** [popt] Fehler 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps'
make: *** [rebuild] Fehler 2




i become this error????
please help me...
thanks DigiTalik

did you follow my manual? do you have ash shell installed?

MoD
10-07-2006, 18:30
make[4]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt/po'
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[2]: *** Keine Regel vorhanden, um das Target »/opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0/include/stddef.h«,
benötigt von »popt.o«, zu erstellen. Schluss.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[1]: *** [popt] Fehler 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps'
make: *** [rebuild] Fehler 2




i become this error????
please help me...
thanks DigiTalik


I don't know German, sorry. Plz translate to english

DigiTalik
10-07-2006, 18:47
Yes i did install ash shell... :( and i followed the manual.

But not check this

Make a change in 3 files by adding a path to executable mkcramfs (replace mkcramfs to /opt/broadcom/src/linux/linux/scripts/cramfs/mkcramfs):

/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/Makefile
/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/pivot_root/Makefile
/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/mfgtest_root/Makefile
:mad:



make[4]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt/po'
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[2]: *** No rule to make target &#187;/opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0/include/stddef.h&#171;,
needed by &#187;popt.o&#171;. Stop.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[1]: *** [popt] Fehler 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps'
make: *** [rebuild] Fehler 2

MoD
10-07-2006, 19:02
But not check this

Make a change in 3 files by adding a path to executable mkcramfs (replace mkcramfs to /opt/broadcom/src/linux/linux/scripts/cramfs/mkcramfs):

/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/Makefile
/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/pivot_root/Makefile
/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/mfgtest_root/Makefile


for me it used some internal mkcramfs from fedora core or similar. I dont know. The problem was: http://www.wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=32994&postcount=6

I fixed it with modifying these 3 makefile files.

MoD
10-07-2006, 19:10
Yes i did install ash shell... :( and i followed the manual.

make[4]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt/po'
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[2]: *** No rule to make target »/opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0/include/stddef.h«,
needed by »popt.o«. Stop.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/popt'
make[1]: *** [popt] Fehler 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps'
make: *** [rebuild] Fehler 2

I had the same problem: http://www.wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=32873&postcount=1

I guess you have a problem because /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux is still pointing to /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.2.3 and not /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.0

DaNawq
13-07-2006, 15:01
I have found out a few new things.

-First you don't have to change the 3 files just add broadcom/src/linux/linux/scripts/cramfs to your PATH

-Second you don't have to change to mipsel 3.0. Only popwhatever needs one file.
creating a symlink in hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux from 3.2.3 to 3.0 is enough. (I assume that you do not have changed to mispel 3.0 and hndtools-mipsel-linux points to version 3.2.3

That's it for now.

DigiTalik
13-07-2006, 16:01
hi can you explain as that go, please?

I become now the raidtools error... what must i do?

DaNawq
13-07-2006, 16:50
Öhm,

all I did was to extract both files in /root

symlinked /root/broadcom/opt/brcm to /opt/brcm
and /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.2.3 to /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0

After that I used the export PATH statement of MoD's first post with :/root/broadcom/src/linux/linux/scripts/cramfs added to the end.

make rebuild in /root/WL700gE/nasoc/src/apps did the rest.

More or less that's all. I've written that of my mind, so maybe I have forgotten sth. but don't think so.

DigiTalik
13-07-2006, 18:11
I need the commands please, because i don´t know how this work... :)

hmantsao
14-07-2006, 07:44
Following the Mod manual, i have a problem as below.
It seem the compiler can't find the stdio.h, but i had included it.
Could someone help piont out what is the problem::confused:

My system is Ubuntu 6.06

===========================================
make[2]: Entering directory `/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/nfs-utils'
Making all in tools
make[3]: Entering directory `/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/nfs-utils/tools'
Making all in rpcgen
make[4]: Entering directory `/WL700g/nasoc/src/apps/nfs-utils/tools/rpcgen'
gcc -O2 -I../../support/include -Wall -pipe -DVERSION="\"nfs-utils 1.0.5\"" -DNFS3_SUPPORTED -c -o rpc_clntout.o rpc_clntout.c
rpc_clntout.c:39:19: error: stdio.h: No such file or directory
rpc_clntout.c:40:20: error: string.h: No such file or directory
rpc_clntout.c:41:23: error: rpc/types.h: No such file or directory
In file included from rpc_clntout.c:43:
rpc_util.h:37:20: error: stdlib.h: No such file or directory
In file included from rpc_clntout.c:43:
rpc_util.h:63: error: syntax error before ‘*’ token
rpc_util.h:63: warning: type defaults to ‘int’ in declaration of ‘fout’
rpc_util.h:63: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
rpc_util.h:64: error: syntax error before ‘*’ token
rpc_util.h:64: warning: type defaults to ‘int’ in declaration of ‘fin’
rpc_util.h:64: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
rpc_util.h:158: error: syntax error before ‘*’ token
========================================

MoD
14-07-2006, 10:51
[QUOTE=hmantsao]Following the Mod manual, i have a problem as below.
It seem the compiler can't find the stdio.h, but i had included it.
QUOTE]
While trying to find a way how to compile the firmware I was trying different ways. Also to stay with mipsel-linux-3.2.3. But then I also had a problems with files or pionters whitych were incompatible or similar. Don't remeber. So I fould the easiest way to stay with mipsel-linux-3.0.

Of course, stdio.h is not included, so you must copy it:

# cp /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.2.3/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.2.3/include/stdio.h /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0/include/stdio.h < enter >

hmantsao
14-07-2006, 18:42
[QUOTE=hmantsao]Following the Mod manual, i have a problem as below.
It seem the compiler can't find the stdio.h, but i had included it.
QUOTE]
While trying to find a way how to compile the firmware I was trying different ways. Also to stay with mipsel-linux-3.2.3. But then I also had a problems with files or pionters whitych were incompatible or similar. Don't remeber. So I fould the easiest way to stay with mipsel-linux-3.0.

Of course, stdio.h is not included, so you must copy it:

# cp /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux-3.2.3/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.2.3/include/stdio.h /opt/brcm/hndtools-mipsel-linux/lib/gcc-lib/mipsel-linux/3.0/include/stdio.h < enter >

here is the problem. I am very make sure i have copy stdio.h and check double .:(

DaNawq
20-07-2006, 02:12
To make Twonkyvision run all you need is a shell-login and some modifing of the install script.

Note take the Maxtor Storage Binary.

BarBaar
25-07-2006, 11:56
I don't get it.. I have compiled several firmwares, but they never work..

Last one I only added telnetd, vi and login. Compile does not give any problems (I am compiling on a intel laptop).. But when I copy the image to the wl700 and reboot, the wl700 never comes up again. I do see HD-activity, but the ready-light never turns on...

I have installed the new firmware using the webinterface and using the firmware restoration tool.. same result, it just never works...

Any ideas?

AverySimonsen
15-09-2006, 21:14
I'd love to help out and play around with the sources myself, but I just can't seem to get the file downloaded from Asus' crappy servers. The download is insanely slow and it usually fails after 300 mb. I just can't believe that a company like Asus are so cheap with their bandwidth. :mad:

So does anybody know of a better mirror holding these files?

EDIT: finally got hold of the file. I'm attempting to compile on Ubuntu 6.06 like hmantsao and I'm getting the same problems. Time to take it once more from the top :)

Maybe it has to do with what gcc version 'gcc' is symlinked to by default in Ubuntu 6.06. Note that the failure occurs when rpcgen is built (using 'gcc' on the command line). rpcgen is used later in the build for something or other. I tried symlinking 'gcc' to mipsel-uclibc-gcc only to find that the code built with the call to gcc is later attempted run (on the x86 platform) which fails for obvious reasons. Maybe DaNawg and MoD would be as kind as to reveal which version of gcc their gcc is symlinked to?

Guru
28-09-2006, 02:45
I would like to help you guys with all this problems but I have no clue on how to use Linux.

I hope someone makes a custom firmware work and share with the rest of us noobs:p

Keep up the good fight and fix Asus mistakes.