PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : USB Device setup

scottietohottie
07-05-2006, 11:56
:DHello:D

Im all new to this and am trying to find out the how behind building in new drivers to the firmware (if possible). I am running Windows at present and have been googling all th openwrt tutorials and the like. is there a way to add drivers to the firmware or can you compile an extra driver on to the .trx then flash it?????? As i said I am new to this I know a few things but am missing a lot. If there are threads which explain this if you could point me to em as i did search but to no avail (proberly looking for th wrong thing).

I have installed Putty and Python and have a basic understanding. Have looked at Openwrt but am a bit scared to start messing around with it.

Cheers

Details
Firmware 1.9.5.0
Router WL-500G
OS Windows xp home
Brouser Firefox

TheEagle
07-05-2006, 20:38
Look here

http://wiki.wl500g.info/index.php/compilingcustomfirmware

and try to compile Olegs latest firmware yourself. If you not only follow the tutorial,but try to understand what is done why, you'll know a lot more about the whole stuff after. And you will be able to answer the basic question (possible to add driver to firmware?) yourself. (No you won't be able to write a driver yourself, but let's start slow ;) )

scottietohottie
07-05-2006, 22:24
:D Thanks for that when i said about the driver thingy i meant going on a web site getting the source code and adding it in to the firmware if possible, even the thought of trying to compile a driver myself sounds abit scaryto me. The tutorial is being read as we speak and will be af great use thanks again Scottietohottie. Always been a problem of mine running before i can crawl :D

OK