PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Desperately seeking help!!

trebor
19-05-2004, 22:56
I am new at this...so please bear with me and forgive me if much of the following sounds like jibberish...

I bought a WL-500g Router and WL-100g adapter for my laptop. The reason I went with ASUS because I've been told it's one of the easiest to install....NOT!

I followed step by step the instructions in the manual, but I am still unable to connect with my router (i.e. I can't access the "my.router" web page).

When I type ipconfig at the DOS prompt, I get the following..

Connection-specific DNS Suffix.. :
Autoconfiguration IP Address..... : 169.254.120.46
Subnet Mask.......................... : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway..................... :

I tried to call ASUS support...but was put on hold for 20 minutes (long distance call).

I restored the router to default settings several times.

My need is simple, I merely want to access the internet via my laptop...that's it.

Can someone please help me see the light?? :(

Thanks in advance....

Trebor

saga2000
19-05-2004, 23:13
Well I have had the same problem...
I don't know what the problem exactly is,
but I know the prossible solution for it...

You have probably set you network-adapter to get his IP automatically
But the trick is to set it static the first time because you are probably out of the range for the router or something like that I don't get this...

So you will have to set something like this:

IP-Number: 192.168.1.xxx /for xxx choose a number you like between the 1 to 255 (so not 0,1 or 255)
Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1

I hope you're problem is solved now
Greetings

Ps I know my english is very poor

trebor
19-05-2004, 23:36
Well I have had the same problem...
I don't know what the problem exactly is,
but I know the prossible solution for it...

You have probably set you network-adapter to get his IP automatically