PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : wireless not working



oldfieldso
01-10-2005, 05:11
Dear all,

Thanks for the great work here, it shows the power of open source!!!!

My wl-500b is a very old one, and I tried to upgrade to it to support maybe a httpd or something like that, and I was too happy when I saw this was done already.

Last night was the first time for me to do the upgrade, I fetched the latest version here and all works until this morning, I noticed that the "Air" LED is not lighted. And all my wireless clients cannot connect.

Then, I figured out that it should be that the fact I used a v2 firmware, I downgraded using the firmware restoration tool, back to use those for wl-500b without v2 in the file name... now, the "Air" LED light up, but still none of my wireless client can connect. I cannot even detect any wireless network, I've reset everything, and make it an open network, but it won't work too.

Any hint? Thanks a lot for this great forum, and also those amazing firmwares!

Oldfield

oldfieldso
01-10-2005, 10:38
Since going back to older firmware does not help much, I moved on to use the latest, everything seems fine except wireless again, I telnet into the box and see the following:

== BEGIN ==
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: eth0: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 3.90.7.0
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: eth1: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 3.90.7.0
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: PCI: Enabling device 01:02.0 (0004 -> 0006)
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: eth2: Broadcom BCM4301 802.11 Wireless Controller 3.90.23.0
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: device eth0 entered promiscuous mode
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: device eth2 entered promiscuous mode
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: br0: port 2(eth2) entering listening state
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: br0: port 1(eth0) entering listening state
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: br0: port 2(eth2) entering learning state
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: br0: port 1(eth0) entering learning state
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: br0: port 2(eth2) entering forwarding state
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: g
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: br0: port 1(eth0) entering forwarding state
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: br0: topology change detected, propagating
== END ==

so with my limited knowledge, the device seems working, at least the kernel can detect it (still).

also, I saw "waveservermain" is active from "ps", I assume it's the process responsible for wireless connection?

any one can shed some light here? thanks.

oldfieldso
01-10-2005, 10:45
is it the problem? but I can't find modprobe....

[admin@(none) /]$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
usb-storage 62144 0 (unused)
sd_mod 13268 0 (unused)
scsi_mod 70176 1 [usb-storage sd_mod]
videodev 8304 0
audio 50120 0 (unused)
soundcore 5280 0 [audio]
printer 12652 0 (unused)
lp 8628 0
parport_splink 2956 1
parport 25664 1 [lp parport_splink]
usb-ohci 21764 0 (unused)
usbcore 77224 1 [usb-storage audio printer usb-ohci]
wl 420904 0 (unused)
et 34912 0 (unused)
ipt_NETMAP 992 2
ip_nat_starcraft 2224 0 (unused)

oldfieldso
01-10-2005, 11:44
Finally, I solved the problem, I manually removed that wl module and install it again, it works now... just wonder if I have to do this everytime I restart it... anyway, better than nothing.

Now, I can try out those new features of these amazing firmwares!!!

Sounds like talking to myself here, but I hope my problem solving log could help someone else later. :-)

Oleg
03-10-2005, 11:19
Have you tried reseting to defaults?

oldfieldso
14-10-2005, 06:04
yes, thanks for your tips.

pegnin
25-03-2006, 04:29
hello oldfieldso the same thing append to me my wireless router is old wl-500b and the only firmware to connect with bigpond is 1.9.2.7.-7c and is working fine but no wireless can you explain me how to fix this problem.
:confused:

Finally, I solved the problem, I manually removed that wl module and install it again, it works now... just wonder if I have to do this everytime I restart it... anyway, better than nothing.

Now, I can try out those new features of these amazing firmwares!!!

Sounds like talking to myself here, but I hope my problem solving log could help someone else later. :-)

gigi2
03-09-2006, 12:45
hello oldfieldso the same thing append to me my wireless router is old wl-500b and the only firmware to connect with bigpond is 1.9.2.7.-7c and is working fine but no wireless can you explain me how to fix this problem.
:confused:

same HW same problem, i removed the wl part from inside, reboot, and give it back again but nothing happend, wl still dont work, plz help

oldfieldso
18-09-2006, 04:56
Try to do a reset, and then downgrade the firmware to standard ones, and do a reset again.

Maybe the difference is due to v2 vs. the oldest hardware.

share009
19-01-2007, 07:20
I have the same HW same problem now. I have tried the firmwares as follows:
wl-500v2 1.9.2.7-7f
wl-500v2 1.9.2.7-7e
wl-500v2 1.9.2.7-7b
wl-500v2 1.9.2.7-6b
wl-500v2 1.9.2.7-6a

but the wireless doesn't work all the time. Could anybody help us?
Thanks in advance.

jjindrich
19-11-2007, 21:02
Hello, I have WL-500bv2. I have upgraded to version WL500bv2-1.9.2.7-8.
When router boots up, AIR light is on. But wifi network is not found. I have restored default setting a few times.

In system log:
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: eth0: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 4.108.9.0
Jan 1 00:00:05 kernel: eth1: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 4.108.9.0

and nothing about wireless adapter.

When i run: wl up
wl: wl driver adapter not found

Can help me someone ?
How can I reload driver ?

Thanks.

Oleg
19-11-2007, 21:07
Most likely you've original wl500b, not wl500b v2.

Use wl500b firmware. Flash it with firmware restoration tool.

jjindrich
19-11-2007, 21:52
I tried to upgrade to wl-500b, WL500b-1.9.2.7-8.trx.

Result is:
Firmware upgrade fail. It may result from incorrect image or error transmission. Please check the version of firmare and try again.

In System Setup - Firmware Upgrade - Product ID: WL500bv2

:(

Johann
22-11-2007, 09:27
Upgraded 2 WL500b's and one WL500bv2, all three do not show any radio
After downgrading to factory firmware all is OK.

jjindrich
22-11-2007, 09:32
Finally, it's not possible to use oleg's firmware for this device :(