PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : usb hdd problems



andy99
28-04-2004, 18:30
hello,

i tried to use an external hdd case with an ibm hdd with my 500g, but I can`t login via ftp. what could be the problem? Im neebie :-(

and what means that?
Apr 28 19:14:20 WL500g user.warn klogd: Vendor: IBM-DJNA Model: -351520 Rev: 0811
Apr 28 19:14:20 WL500g user.warn klogd: Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 02
Apr 28 19:14:20 WL500g user.warn klogd: Attached scsi disk sda at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
Apr 28 19:14:20 WL500g user.warn klogd: SCSI device sda: 30033360 512-byte hdwr sectors (15377 MB)

- andy

copycat
28-04-2004, 21:23
Log looks perfectly normal. Are you sure your hd isn't formatted ntfs?

Royan
28-04-2004, 23:27
Ok...
really stupid question, but it has to be asked. ;)
Did you set the "Enable FTP Server" to "yes" in the USB Application/FTP Server page?

Royan

andy99
29-04-2004, 08:36
Ok...
really stupid question, but it has to be asked. ;)
Did you set the "Enable FTP Server" to "yes" in the USB Application/FTP Server page?
Royan
yes :-)
and its fat-formatet.

- andy

Antiloop
29-04-2004, 09:04
ok try this:

open this page
http://my.router/Main_AdmStatus_Content.asp

be sure your harddisk contains data/directories
enter this command:
ls /mnt/usbfs/
and press REFRESH button Enter only will not work.

if you see nothing enter this command:
mount
presh REFRESH again ofcourse.
copy and paste the output here please

andy99
29-04-2004, 09:36
ls /mnt/usbfs/
no response ;-)


if you see nothing enter this command:
mount

/dev/root on / type cramfs (ro)
none on /dev type devfs (rw)
none on /proc type proc (rw)
/ramfs on /mnt/ramfs type ramfs (rw)

- andy

goudkamp74
30-04-2004, 09:43
I've got exactly the same problem. How do you mount the disk manually ?

Antiloop
30-04-2004, 11:52
ok, so nothing is mounted

try those commands and copy the output here:


ls /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/

ls /dev/scsi/

cat /proc/partitions

andy99
01-05-2004, 11:56
ls /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/
disc
part1
part2
part3
part4


ls /dev/scsi/

host0


cat /proc/partitions[/QUOTE]
major minor #blocks name

8 0 15016680 scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc
8 1 839922362 scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1
8 2 269488144 scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part2
8 3 699181456 scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part3
8 4 10668 scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part4

Oleg
01-05-2004, 12:04
try

mount -t vfat /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt/usbfs

or

mount -t ntfs /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt/usbfs

andy99
01-05-2004, 13:03
try
mount -t vfat /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt/usbfs
or
mount -t ntfs /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt/usbfs

nothing happens....

Antiloop
01-05-2004, 13:18
nothing happens....

try after applying the commands from oleg


ls /mnt/usbfs/

make sure there are some files at partition1

andy99
01-05-2004, 13:34
try after applying the commands from oleg


ls /mnt/usbfs/

make sure there are some files at partition1

after olegs commands my browser hangs up and with your command i get no response :-(

Antiloop
01-05-2004, 16:38
ok, anyway your problem is almost for sure in the partitioning. so make sure you have 1 PRIMARY partition (it may not be logical!)

you can use Partition Magic 8 to do this eventually (windows xp does not support fat32 bigger than 32gb or something)

after you've done this hook up your usb drive to your wl500g, and reboot it.
and try again

should be working then

andy99
01-05-2004, 16:59
partition manager says:
1 primary partition
mounted as "drive z"
fat32
14,3gb space

that should be right but it doesn`t work :(

- andy

Antiloop
01-05-2004, 20:39
can you please post a screenshot of that?

andy99
02-05-2004, 17:05
can you please post a screenshot of that?

Partition (http://www.kleiser.info/partition.jpg)

Antiloop
02-05-2004, 18:30
see attached please, that's how it should be

your router reports more partitions.. so something should be wrong

edit: didn't see your last post.. try Partition Magic instead please

andy99
04-05-2004, 19:31
i tried it with a new hd and it works finde now :-)

thank you very much!

- andy

pengs
03-03-2005, 15:01
I'm using the latest firmware for WL-500g and attached one usb HDD but how could I change it form ro to rw??

[local_adm@WL500g /proc]$ mount
/dev/root on / type squashfs (ro)
none on /dev type devfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 on /tmp/harddisk type ntfs (ro,sync)

It could find my usb hdd and auto mount to /tmp/harddisk but I don't know how to change the type to rw.
And does it will effect the samba setting? Because my samba also can't work for now.

Thanks,
Simon

max2950
03-03-2005, 16:15
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 on /tmp/harddisk type ntfs

It seems that your drive is formated in ntfs, backup your data and reformat it using FAT....

NTFS volumes are mounted as readonly.....