PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : WL-HDD as WLAN client



sjoerd
15-09-2005, 12:55
Hello all,

Although I bought a WL-HDD for custom development, I now want to use it temporarily because of some unsolvable trouble with my wired Internet connection (I am now using the PC of my neighbour :( ). On the university where I live, there is a WLAN in the air, so I want to use the WL-HDD as an oversized WLAN-card for my PC.

The WLAN network has a difficult to enter part (SSID "WLAN") using xsuplicant and other troublesome stuff) and an easy (but unsecure) to enter part (SSID "GUEST"). At the moment I don't care about security, so I want to enter the GUEST network.

I flashed the last firmware, configured and rebooted:
- Wireless -> bridge -> AP only
- Wireless -> advanced -> Extended mode -> Station (also tried Ethernet Bridge)
- System setup -> operation mode -> Home gateway

Then (just to debug and try to get it to work) in Telnet:

[admin@(none) root]$ wl scan -i eth1 -s GUEST
[admin@(none) root]$ wl scanresults
SSID: "GUEST"
Mode: Managed RSSI: -62 dBm noise: -92 dBm Channel: 11
BSSID: 00:0B:5F:D0:0F:53 Capability: ESS ShortPre
Supported Rates: [ 1(b) 2(b) 5.5(b) 11(b) ]


SSID: "GUEST"
Mode: Managed RSSI: -76 dBm noise: -91 dBm Channel: 1
BSSID: 00:0B:5F:E2:45:21 Capability: ESS ShortPre
Supported Rates: [ 1(b) 2(b) 5.5(b) 11(b) ]


SSID: "GUEST"
Mode: Managed RSSI: -83 dBm noise: -95 dBm Channel: 6
BSSID: 00:0B:5F:D0:10:5D Capability: ESS ShortPre
Supported Rates: [ 1(b) 2(b) 5.5(b) 11(b) ]
Without -s GUEST, they don't show up, because the GUEST network is hidden.

Now I try: (tried join with all amodes, only shared seemed to fail)

[admin@(none) root]$ wl join GUEST
[admin@(none) root]$ wl assoc
SSID: "GUEST"
Mode: Managed RSSI: -72 dBm noise: -83 dBm Channel: 11
BSSID: 00:0B:5F:D0:0F:53 Capability: ESS ShortPre
Supported Rates: [ 1(b) 2(b) 5.5(b) 11(b) ]
Then I try:
[admin@(none) root]$ udhcpc -i eth1 -s /bin/true
udhcpc (v0.9.9-pre) started
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending discover...This goes on forever.

When I break it, I'm not able to ping any address (although I know that any address under http should redirect me to a login page to gain Internet access on the GUEST network):
[admin@(none) root]$ ping 130.89.1.2
PING 130.89.1.2 (130.89.1.2): 56 data bytes

--- 130.89.1.2 ping statistics ---
7 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

ifconfig gives:

[admin@(none) root]$ ifconfig eth1
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:2F:B6:A1:40
inet6 addr: fe80::211:2fff:feb6:a140/10 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:271 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:483 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:18396 (17.9 KiB) TX bytes:32554 (31.7 KiB)
Interrupt:4 Base address:0x8000

Anyone ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance,
Sjoerd