PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : 1.9.5.0 Firmware on asus site



sandoval
06-09-2005, 18:37
Yesterday I downloaded the firmware source of the new 1.9.5.0 of the asus website. Today the link on the asus site was removed..

The zip file contains a .GPL file.. The file is about 500MB large, but I can't do anything with it..

Does someone have a usable 1.9.5.0 version?

OlegI
11-09-2005, 22:47
just gunzip it. I have downloaded a usable version

sandoval
12-09-2005, 09:06
I'm confused..

C:\>gunzip -d -S .zip GPL_1950.zip returns the same .GPL file as winrar..

C:\>gunzip -d -S .gpl GPL_1950.gpl
Returns:
gunzip: GPL_1950.gpl: not in gzip format

What am I doing wrong?

Styno
12-09-2005, 10:08
Perhaps this .gpl extension is in reality a .tar? Try rename the file and/or use 7zip (http://www.7-zip.org/) (freeware)

sandoval
12-09-2005, 10:55
Ok, that seemd to work...

But no I have a map called Broadcom... With 500 MB of linux tools... and sources..

If someone would be so kind to post a compiled version of 1.9.5.0.. I would be glad to make a mirror of it...

WVR
19-09-2005, 15:38
I just downloaded it and Winzip will work with it if the extension is renamed .tar.gz. Viewing the files in the archive by date, most recent first, shows there is a file WL500gx_1.9.5.0_EN_CDMA.trx size 3.747Mbyte.
Anybody game enough to try it on their Asus? :)
Edit: Correction there are many .trx files in the subdirectory broadcom/src/router/mipsel-uclibc/ all dated 31/08/2005

visortgw
21-09-2005, 03:33
I just downloaded it and Winzip will work with it if the extension is renamed .tar.gz. Viewing the files in the archive by date, most recent first, shows there is a file WL500gx_1.9.5.0_EN_CDMA.trx size 3.747Mbyte.
Anybody game enough to try it on their Asus? :)
Edit: Correction there are many .trx files in the subdirectory broadcom/src/router/mipsel-uclibc/ all dated 31/08/2005

Actually, the file to load appears to be WL500gx_1.9.5.0_EN.trx (no "_CDMA"). I have loaded this, and it appears to be a stable release (so far), but I have not noticed any new features.

sandoval
21-09-2005, 10:18
Actualy the Guest account for wireless that was in 1946 was removed in the 1950 version..

The WL500gx_1.9.5.0_EN.trx worked fine on my router... To bad I could not find a change log, and it appears to be not that differtent from the 1946 release...

WVR
21-09-2005, 15:57
..The WL500gx_1.9.5.0_EN.trx worked fine on my router... Too bad I could not find a change log, and it appears to be not that different from the 1946 release...
Me too. It works, but I don't know why I should use it. :confused:
The linux kernel still seems to be 2.4.20
Edit: Is it the case that this is just the final release candidate after several 1.9 beta releases? so there are no real changes since the last beta...

sandoval
22-09-2005, 10:49
That could be, all the other firmware releases are marked as *BETA* this release isn't marked as *BETA*, but it isn't marked as final either..

The Asus wl500G is a perfect product, to bad that the rest isn't as perfect as for example Linksys wrt54g.. that has a included change log and everyting..

I hope that Asus works on that some more, I would consider replacing al my WRT54Gs with Wl500GDs if the firmware releases where better documented..

visortgw
23-09-2005, 14:03
Actualy the Guest account for wireless that was in 1946 was removed in the 1950 version..

The WL500gx_1.9.5.0_EN.trx worked fine on my router... To bad I could not find a change log, and it appears to be not that differtent from the 1946 release...

I was never able to get the guest account to work. I was able to configure it, but I was never able to connect using it.

sandoval
26-09-2005, 11:16
I was never able to get the guest account to work. I was able to configure it, but I was never able to connect using it.

Yes, idd. It seemed to be an empty feature... This is the reason I would like some better documentation on Asus side...

Antiloop
26-09-2005, 11:51
I was never able to get the guest account to work. I was able to configure it, but I was never able to connect using it.
I have tested the Guest Account feature on 1.9.4.6 and worked fine for me !?

the guest account was seperated on another subnet and another interface at the router and was not able to reach the routers config page nor the internal network

sandoval
14-10-2005, 15:12
Asus released the official beta today...

Description WL-500gDeluxe English Firmware Version, version 1.9.5.0
1. Remove console message
2. Fix Table editing bugs
3. Update wireless driver
4. Update et driver
5. Support CDMA in English Version

http://dlsvr02.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/WL-500gDeluxe/WL500gx_1950_EN_CDMA.zip

WVR
18-10-2005, 21:00
Asus released the official beta today...


Thats the same as was in the GPL release on September 2nd.
CDMA build no good for UK anyway.

madmax
24-10-2005, 14:44
For Oleg or Antiloop :
Our purpose was to allow EAP and PSK authentication at the same time so, using original 1.9.4.6 ASUS firmware we enabled guest account and switched to AP mode.
We're able to see two different SSID at the same time but this is the only useful result we're able to archieve.
For this reason we accessed the access point via telnet and tried to join the two virtual interfaces (for example adding wl0.1 to br0 using brctl) but with no success (probably thanks to a lack of informations about "guest mode" itself).
We was able to archieve some limited functionality tryin'different configuration but, at last, we're unable to find nothing stable (and repeatable) so we're asking if a way exist to allow EAP and PSK authentication at the same time (since we need to give access both to "dumb" AP configured as "client" WPA-PSK and wireless network cards WPA-EAP) aswell.

JohnSK
30-10-2005, 09:07
This official FW works very nice.. no dropouts, client works with WPA, nice speed (1,5km link @ 2MB/s average)

starzykp
09-11-2005, 20:18
I just upgrade firmware, but I notice that Wi-Fi (Air) led is turned all time off. Do you have any idea why? Do you have same problem?

TheEagle
09-11-2005, 20:49
What FW did you upgrade from? Did you reset to factory default BEFORE flashing? Maybe flash once more, set to factory default before.

For me 1.9.5.0 was working like charme, tho I still prefer Oleg's firmware for obvious reasons :)

starzykp
09-11-2005, 23:34
What FW did you upgrade from? Did you reset to factory default BEFORE flashing? Maybe flash once more, set to factory default before.

For me 1.9.5.0 was working like charme, tho I still prefer Oleg's firmware for obvious reasons :)

Thanks for quick answer. I was upgrading from 1.9.4.0 in which the led was blinking on Wi-Fi access.
No, I didn't reset it to factory setting, am I? What is the reason?

donzee
10-11-2005, 04:51
same probleme here no Air led after upgrade !:confused:

TheEagle
10-11-2005, 18:20
Thanks for quick answer. I was upgrading from 1.9.4.0 in which the led was blinking on Wi-Fi access.
No, I didn't reset it to factory setting, am I? What is the reason?
All I can tell you is that I already had different problems when I didn't reset to factory defaults BEFORE flashing, even a not booting router. I'd give it a try ... save your settings before that, so if it's not better after setting to factory default and re-flashing 1.9.5.0, u can simply reload them.

starzykp
11-11-2005, 16:05
All I can tell you is that I already had different problems when I didn't reset to factory defaults BEFORE flashing, even a not booting router. I'd give it a try ... save your settings before that, so if it's not better after setting to factory default and re-flashing 1.9.5.0, u can simply reload them.

Thanks, but is still not working. I reset it to default upgrade it, but no luck :-( So, I downgrade to 1.9.4.0 and everything works great. 1.9.5.0 is not for me.

donzee
11-11-2005, 23:19
After an electricity cut, wireless led work again :strange: :D :confused:

Amelie
12-11-2005, 16:30
After an electricity cut, wireless led work again

I made some similar observations:

1. Switching radio (airless) off with web-interface, had no impact on the
AIR LED until i executed a power-on reset.

2. The device has no power-on switch.
Reconnecting to power supply often ends up in a non-determinictic
state (? PWR LED off, LAN+WAN LED on).

Maybe the WL500gx is very sensitive to run of the voltage curve
during power on. Another reason might be my Siemens E-010-I ASDL modem
connected to WAN port. It is quite power consumptive and might suck off
to much energie during start up.

chicobaud
23-11-2005, 20:10
Hello,
I bought an WL500G Deluxe

to use with my USB EVDO modem z010 (www.zapp.pt)
and with my USB Printer (this one has 2 USB ports :-), it work on the ethernet 10/100, for now. But...

I see that one must compile or build a (Linux distro?) version from the GPL code to enable the CDMA (English) for thw Deluxe version.
I have no skills for this.
Any chance of an help to WL500g Deluxe and CDMA needed owners ?

dark.knight-
09-12-2005, 09:53
Hi, i need help, because i don't know how I setup the download policy. I will limit ports between 1 to 65536 and I don't know how i enter the ports.

Sorry for my English, because I'm from czech republic and I study English only 3 Months.
Thanks DarkKNight

engy
09-12-2005, 22:49
ad CDMA support:
Look at http://koppel.cz/cdmawifi and there is fully supported CDMA firmware (1.61) based on Oleg's 1.9.2.7-6b firmware. It's working with z010 modem.

Vrana
25-12-2005, 10:19
Hi, can I change MAC adress on wireless interface? With current firmware I can only on WAN interface?
And can I setting asus by don't change TTL of thorough packets? Need I special modified firmware?

I need secrete net (home LAN) behind asus500gx to my WiFi ISP. Thank's for help.

thegeronimo
04-01-2006, 16:02
I noticed a big difference between this firmware and the Oleg firmware.
The difference is in the strength of the wireless signal. As I noticed this firmware has an updated wireless driver.

My question is when does the oleg firmware comes available with this 1.9.5.0 firmware. Because I want to use the SAMBA config.

mako2077
04-02-2006, 12:51
i am waiting for a new Oleg FW as well.
i' ve got a centrino notebook with an Intel® PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection (802.11b/g). it is not possible for me to get an stable wireless connection with the Oleg FW 1.9.2.7-7b, with asus 1.9.5.0 no problem!

what are the differences (wireless- part) between the Oleg and the asus FW???:confused:

MARCO

bord4kop
13-02-2006, 10:29
...

Description WL-500gDeluxe English Firmware Version, version 1.9.5.0

1. Remove console message
2. Fix Table editing bugs
3. Update wireless driver
4. Update et driver
5. Support CDMA in English Version

http://dlsvr02.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/WL-500gDeluxe/WL500gx_1950_EN_CDMA.zip

Can anybody tell me what ET is?
Just wondering, because they seem to update the et driver @ every new release..
So what does it mean, this "et"?

zagi
17-03-2006, 09:21
Hello!

I am a new user on this forum, i found it interesting also a have one problem.

I cant't use ip with 255 in wan ip, the latest asus firmware don't acceppt IP with no. 255 (i recceive message xy.255.xx.xz is not a valid IP adress.)

The IS provider changed IP(with 255 no.), so for now on i can't use router.
Can please anyone tell me what can i do.

Best regards!

And thanks for helping me!
p.s. I tried to reach asus help desk, they said that thea are not planing any new firmware updates for router WL 500 g deluxe that i have.

Sorry i didn't know where in form i should ask...

pieggi
28-03-2006, 12:52
I just upgrade firmware, but I notice that Wi-Fi (Air) led is turned all time off. Do you have any idea why? Do you have same problem?
Me too.
I noticed that seems to be a bug shared wit our wl500g friends:
http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=4873&highlight=air+led

Maybe we should join the messages together to create e new discussion about it.

I upgraded today from 1.8.2.1 (the original that was in when i bought it)

There's another problem: daylight saving option is missing, so i had to modify the start and end hours for wifi radio enabled. (my wifi works only during office hours). Is impossible set correctly the clock because every hour it checks NTP server (and for him now is 11:51 GMT+1,but is 12:51)
I consider this another bug from ASUS.

visortgw
11-04-2006, 17:39
Can anybody tell me what ET is?
Just wondering, because they seem to update the et driver @ every new release..
So what does it mean, this "et"?

Most likely Ethernet...

bord4kop
12-04-2006, 15:27
Yap, kind of thougt the same..
They probly forgot the "h" -> eth.