PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : newbie: configuring adsl wan access

naftis
02-07-2005, 15:50
Hi all, please excuse me for the stupid questions but I'm a newbie... I have to setup the following scenario:

ADSL line (Italy, provider www.tiscali.it) --> ADSL ethernet modem D-LINK 300T --> ASUS WL500G DELUXE --> wired & wireless client PC's connected via LAN and sharing the internet connection.

I have configured the modem for my ISP using PPPoA and required user name & password. If I connect the modem directly to one PC via ethernet all works fine. This modem has the IP 192.168.1.1 and offers a DHCP service I can fully configure (or disable).

Now I'd like the modem to provide just the "bare" connection to my ISP and let the WL500G connect to the internet using this modem, serve as DHCP and share the connection to all the LAN clients.

I have tried the following setup:

1) modem configured for my ISP as specified (PPPoA) and tested. Its IP is 192.168.1.1. Its DHCP service is OFF (or this is a fault? I'm a bit confused about the two DHCP servers, modem + WL500G).

2) the modem is connected to my WL500G via ethernet cable to the WAN port. The WAN led in WL500G is steady green. Of course, my PCs are connected to the WL500G (wired and wireless).

3) the WL500G has IP 192.168.1.2, and its DHCP service has a pool from 192.168.1.3 to .254. I have used the quick setup wizard to set it for PPPoE, with the required username & password (the same I provided for the modem). Other than changing the IP addresses and setting up PPPoE I have made no other changes to the default settings.