PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Firmware v1.7.5.6 CR2 [Oleg]



Oleg
09-04-2004, 10:48
Changelog:

- Removed temp. function speed setting for WAN because of some problems it seem to cause
+ Added Print driver P910LD
- Removed LPRng printing daemon

New custom firmware (http://wl500g.dyndns.org/wl500g-1.7.5.6-2.trx) and accompanying sources (http://wl500g.dyndns.org/wl500g-1.7.5.6-2.tar.bz2) (10 MBytes) for building it and a root fs (http://wl500g.dyndns.org/wl500g-1.7.5.6-2-root.tar.bz2) if you need this. Also I've updated the wl500g page (http://wl500g.dyndns.org)

Also it's available here:

Thanks to WISI!
http://www.kjo-msp.de/wl-500g/1.7.5.6-2/wl500g-1.7.5.6-2.trx firmware
http://www.kjo-msp.de/wl-500g/1.7.5.6-2/wl500g-1.7.5.6-2.tar.bz2 sources
http://www.kjo-msp.de/wl-500g/1.7.5.6-2/wl500g-1.7.5.6-2-root.tar.bz2 root fs

http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/firmware/customized/1.7.5.6-2/wl500g-1.7.5.6-2.trx firmware
http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/firmware/customized/1.7.5.6-2/wl500g-1.7.5.6-2.tar.bz2 sources
http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/firmware/customized/1.7.5.6-2/wl500g-1.7.5.6-2-root.tar.bz2 root fs


Differences with 1.7.5.6-1
Wan port speed setting removed due to problems on booting with some hardware. Sorry, I can't test it, so I've decided to remove this. For ones who need this I'm recommending using nvram command execution as below
nvram set bootCmdX="/usr/sbin/et -i eth1 speed 100full"
nvram commit

Replaced ASUS supplied printing solution with p910nd (http://etherboot.sourceforge.net/p910nd/) daemon which implements Raw port printning with Socket API protocol (also known as HP JetDirect)
In order to use new printing facility from Windows you will need to change the port seetings to use "Raw" protocol instead of "LPR" and specify port number for the port. Use 9100 for printer connected to the LPT port or 9101 for USB connection. Please note, it's now possible to use two printers at the same time. The port settings dialog should look like the on the attached image.

For ones who is interesting why I've changed this: lpd implemented by ASUS are in fact based on LPRng printing daemon and implements LPR protocol, which is in fact need spooling directory. Asus guys has modified it a little so it does not use spooling but resultant software is a big piece of glitches which we can't fix due to number of reasons - unavailability of source code (yes, Asus violating GPL) and the LPR protocol nature. JetDirect printing on the other hand is support direct printing without need for spooling and provides everything needed for remote host software to talk with printer. What it gives? Higher printing speed, support for unlimited prining job size (with Asus solution I'm unable to print any photo to my deskjet, and now it's possible) canceling of the job and everything you ever need. :) Everything that was supported with Asus LPR printing is supported with RAW protocol, may be it's supports even more. :) Also there is a Linux Router project page (http://www.pigtail.net/LRP/printsrv/) which has a list of successfully used printer in such setup and has a link in how to setup different Windows versions. Personally I'm using HP DeskJet 3420 printer which is now works like a charm. :)

Styno
09-04-2004, 10:59
Wow, great work Oleg!

I guess there's some configuation to do on the router if you want to do this. Have you added web setup pages to enable this?

Oleg
09-04-2004, 11:16
It's just a drop-in replacement for the ASUS thing (yes I've modifed firmwar scripts for this to work).

Antiloop
09-04-2004, 12:00
are 2 usb printers possible too? (surely coming question by someone)
or should the printing script be changed then..

Oleg
09-04-2004, 14:53
This is possibly, but I don't recomend this, because usb printer numbers can't be determined in advance. It's plug&play like. To whom who needs this I recommend add this using nvram commands like this
nvram set bootCmdX="/usr/sbin/p910nd -f /dev/usb/lp1 2"
in this case port 9102 will be assigned to the second usb printer.

Antiloop
09-04-2004, 21:04
damn.. first firmware failure as it looks..

power led keeps flashing :S

anyway going to recover as soon as i've downloaded the asus tools :)
edit:
downloaded and recovered with no loss of settings :)
back on track

Styno
09-04-2004, 21:14
After I flashed the router, the admin pages did not return. Internetting was also impossible. I could use telnet to login though and looked around on the system and this is what I found:


conntrack_ftp: partial 227 2744943456+23
Error -5 while decompressing!
8019df7e(1686)->808ca000(4096)
Error -3 while decompressing!
8019e614(1651)->80652000(4096)
Error -3 while decompressing!
8019ec87(1544)->80347000(4096)
Error -3 while decompressing!
801a0006(1592)->80346000(4096)
Error -3 while decompressing!
801a0d04(1784)->80ab1000(4096)
I've got no idea what this error is or what caused it, but after I did a power cycle, everything was working fine..

Oleg
09-04-2004, 21:37
Originally posted by Antiloop
damn.. first firmware failure as it looks..

power led keeps flashing :S

anyway going to recover as soon as i've downloaded the asus tools :)
edit:
downloaded and recovered with no loss of settings :)
back on track
Which firmware version you've used for recovering? Does 1.7.5.6-2 works for you?

Oleg
09-04-2004, 21:40
Originally posted by Styno
After I flashed the router, the admin pages did not return. Internetting was also impossible. I could use telnet to login though and looked around on the system and this is what I found:


conntrack_ftp: partial 227 2744943456+23
Error -5 while decompressing!
8019df7e(1686)->808ca000(4096)
Error -3 while decompressing!
8019e614(1651)->80652000(4096)
Error -3 while decompressing!
8019ec87(1544)->80347000(4096)
Error -3 while decompressing!
801a0006(1592)->80346000(4096)
Error -3 while decompressing!
801a0d04(1784)->80ab1000(4096)
I've got no idea what this error is or what caused it, but after I did a power cycle, everything was working fine..

WL-500g was not able to reboot as seems after it has completed flashing. I can't do anything with this thing. I'm recommend to manually power off/on router after the firmware upgrade.

Styno
09-04-2004, 22:08
Originally posted by Oleg
WL-500g was not able to reboot as seems after it has completed flashing. I can't do anything with this thing.Ok, I was expecting that...

I'm recommend to manually power off/on router after the firmware upgrade. I did that and the router has been working flawlessly since.

Wisi
09-04-2004, 22:57
do i simply have to upgrade the alternative firmware over the web admin? didnt work with it, and didnt find any information about needed steps or if i need an usb flash for doing this

sorry for this question rofl, but i really didnt find it :)

the main reason is the new printer support *G*

good work oleg and antiloop

edit OT: since now already over 550 MB traffic :)

Antiloop
10-04-2004, 01:53
Originally posted by Oleg
Which firmware version you've used for recovering? Does 1.7.5.6-2 works for you?

yes using CR2 now, don't why the upgrade failed..

Oleg
10-04-2004, 10:01
Originally posted by Wisi
do i simply have to upgrade the alternative firmware over the web admin? didnt work with it, and didnt find any information about needed steps or if i need an usb flash for doing this

sorry for this question rofl, but i really didnt find it :)

the main reason is the new printer support *G*

good work oleg and antiloop

edit OT: since now already over 550 MB traffic :)
You don't need USB flash for normal operation. This firmware is just a replacement for the official one, so process for upgrade is identical.

Wisi
10-04-2004, 10:49
thx :)

wuh, the new buttons are slightly crazy ;)

Josephus
11-04-2004, 23:46
I don't know whose problem is (Asus's, Oleg's, my printer's, or mine), but I'm going to post it anyway :)

So, when I connect my printer, the kernel module says ooops :|


Dmesg:
printer.c: usblp0: USB Bidirectional printer dev 2 if 0 alt 0 proto 2 vid 0x04F9
pid 0x011E
printer.c: usblp0 Device ID string [51]='MFG:Brother;CMD:HBP,PCL;MDL:MFC-9180;CL
S:PRINTER;'
Unable to handle kernel paging request at virtual address 00000000, epc == c00a1
3b4, ra == c00a1440
Oops in fault.c::do_page_fault, line 192:
$0 : 00000000 c00a0000 0000006e c00a37a7 c00a3f1f 00000000 ffffffff c00a3ed8
$8 : 00001035 0000000a 00000000 00000000 80191329 fffffffa 0000000a 80755cb1
$16: 00000001 80133058 809a1c02 00000000 807633a0 80ac4800 00000000 c0098460
$24: ffffffff 00000002 80754000 80755de0 00000000 c00a1440
Hi : 00000000
Lo : 0000006d
epc : c00a13b4 Not tainted
Status: 1000fc03
Cause : 00000008
Process khubd (pid: 464, stackpage=80754000)
Stack: c00a373c 00000000 00000033 809a1c02 00000001 00000000 809a1c00
000003ff 80ac4a00 c00a1000 c00a3844 80010fac c00a2ec8 c00a2e4c c00a39c0
80183a64 80763620 00000002 00000000 00000000 00000002 000004f9 0000011e
8076335e 0030706c 80a11f40 c00a3df8 00000001 c00a3db4 c00a3e18 c0087484
c0087f90 00000190 c0080008 c00985e0 80010fac 80ac4828 00000000 00000001
80ac4800 ...
Call Trace: [<c00a373c>] [<c00a3844>] [<80010fac>] [<c00a2ec8>] [<c00a2e4c>]
[<c00a39c0>] [<c00a3df8>] [<c00a3db4>] [<c00a3e18>] [<c0087484>] [<c0087f90>]
[<c0080008>] [<c00985e0>] [<80010fac>] [<c00872c4>] [<c00870f4>] [<c0087960>]
[<c0091fc4>] [<80010fac>] [<c00984c4>] [<c008a4d4>] [<c008a460>] [<80010fac>]
[<c008c964>] [<c00967ac>] [<c008c1c4>] [<c008b2fc>] [<80010fac>] [<c008c6d0>]
[<c008cca0>] [<8000cda8>] [<c00984d0>] [<8000eb64>] [<8000ea80>] [<c00984e0>]
[<c00984d0>] [<c008ca50>] [<c008cfe4>] [<800113f4>] [<80011318>] ...

Code: 10a00021 00008021 24a50004 <80a30000> 2402003b 10620003 00003021 1200
000c 00a01821
SCSI subsystem driver Revision: 1.00
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
usb.c: registered new driver usb-storage

And the new print daemon does not start at boot, nor dropbear (Yeah, bootcmds are set)

Any solution?

btw Oleg keep up good work. Still better than the ASUS stuff, even if it's not working :P

Thorz
12-04-2004, 01:38
Hi m8s.

First of all thank you Oleg for the firmware work.
I am asigning a host name to the router (LAN) "router" but I still cannot use "ping router" succesfully, "ping my.router" still works.

What can be the problem here?

Thanks.

Oleg
12-04-2004, 08:20
Originally posted by Josephus
I don't know whose problem is (Asus's, Oleg's, my printer's, or mine), but I'm going to post it anyway :)

So, when I connect my printer, the kernel module says ooops :|


The idea is what printer driver (modified by ASUS guys) can't parse printer name or something. As for dropbear and printing daemon - probably initialization just hangs at some point due to the oops. Can you please try booting the router without the printer connected and check the running processes?

Oleg
12-04-2004, 08:21
Originally posted by Thorz
Hi m8s.

First of all thank you Oleg for the firmware work.
I am asigning a host name to the router (LAN) "router" but I still cannot use "ping router" succesfully, "ping my.router" still works.

What can be the problem here?

Thanks.
Please do
cat /etc/hosts
from the telnet/ssh prompt and post the output here.

Thorz
12-04-2004, 21:57
Originally posted by Oleg
Please do
cat /etc/hosts
from the telnet/ssh prompt and post the output here.

Done, this is the result:

192.168.74.1 my.router my.WL500g router

Why it isn't working then? Can it be the Asus utility that I have installed? I will uninstall it and try again.

Oleg
13-04-2004, 08:11
Try pinging like this

ping router.

Please note the dot (.) at the end of "router"

Pirat
13-04-2004, 09:25
Hi!

I'm the "new Kid" here!
@Oleg: Well Done!!
I use your WL-500g-Firmware 1.7.5.6-2, but since I use, it's not possible to use FTP from the World.
Is this a bug, or a feature (or is it unnown to you)?

Oleg
13-04-2004, 11:13
Mine works just fine. Probably there is a problem which is already reported by other users. Can you please review the system log? Does it contains strange items, such as kernel oops?

taufer
13-04-2004, 13:37
Hello All,

which version of tar is necessary to use for source package unpacking. I use RH 9 tar with vzxf option , but it does not works. What is the size of source package in bytes, maybe the problem is wrong download, but my size of downloaded package is over 10.1 MByte

Thanks Pavel

Oleg
13-04-2004, 13:46
Once you've downloaded source package you jsu need to unpack the sources using

tar xjf wl500g-1.7.5.6-2.tar.bz2
This will create directory named wl500g-1.7.5.6-2
You then will need to just type 'make' and everything will be built for you. Please be sure to install toolchain (compilers) from the ASUS sources and add them to your PATH.

Pirat
13-04-2004, 15:38
Hi Oleg!

Internal it works fine, only from World, it dosnt work.

Oleg
13-04-2004, 16:58
Originally posted by Pirat
Hi Oleg!

Internal it works fine, only from World, it dosnt work.
What exactly does not work? Can't connect, transfer files, whatever?

Thorz
13-04-2004, 19:26
Originally posted by Oleg
Try pinging like this

ping router.

Please note the dot (.) at the end of "router"

First I pinged my.router and it worked off course, then I pinged with "ping router." and it worked 1 time, but after that I tried again and it didn't work, and I cannot make it work again.
WTH? Can you please explain me this? Thank you.

Edit: I have changed the host name and checked in the web interface with the command given by Oleg for confirmation, I flushed the dns cache of my unique machine connected, I turned it off and on and nothing worked. I cannot ping by the name given as host.

Lionking
20-04-2004, 20:45
Originally posted by Oleg
This is possibly, but I don't recomend this, because usb printer numbers can't be determined in advance. It's plug&play like. To whom who needs this I recommend add this using nvram commands like this
nvram set bootCmdX="/usr/sbin/p910nd -f /dev/usb/lp1 2"
in this case port 9102 will be assigned to the second usb printer.

Is this also be possible if you have 1xUSB Printer and 1xparallel Printer ?

Antiloop
20-04-2004, 23:27
Originally posted by Lionking
Is this also be possible if you have 1xUSB Printer and 1xparallel Printer ?

.... copied this from the first post of this thread



Replaced ASUS supplied printing solution with p910nd daemon which implements Raw port printning with Socket API protocol (also known as HP JetDirect)
In order to use new printing facility from Windows you will need to change the port seetings to use "Raw" protocol instead of "LPR" and specify port number for the port. Use 9100 for printer connected to the LPT port or 9101 for USB connection. Please note, it's now possible to use two printers at the same time. The port settings dialog should look like the on the attached image.

Sandros
22-04-2004, 19:06
Hi! Thanks Oleg for the fantastic work! I have a small problem which i thought was not to be resolved. However, with the new firmware, I there might still hope. I noted "Support for specifying the static address for the external interface in PPPoE mode. Useful for management of the external ethernet modem. " in your list of improvements. But how do I get it to work? I am using my router in a LAN:



|-- Comp 1
|-- Comp 2
inet--LAN(145...)- Asus500g-|-- Comp 3
| | |---Comp 4
|-----PPPOE (172…)-|

I am now unable to access the LAN(home.local) since my router was given the 172... ip adress when using PPPOE. Is it possible to use PPPOE and access the LAN at the same time?? (without switching cables ;)) The LAN is using a DHCP server to supply the 145... ip adress.

edit: I tried "udhcpc -i br0" to enable a dhcp client on br0, but this results in a broken connection and I become unable to reach the router...

Oleg
26-04-2004, 20:51
DHCP is not supported at the moment for the WAN port in PPPoE mode you need to statically assign the address (in fact this could be added).
In my setup there is a ADSL modem which has an address 192.168.0.1. I've assigned 192.168.0.254 to my wl500g WAN port. Also, I've configured static route on the modem to route everything for 192.168.1.0/24 addresses via the 192.168.0.254 (wl500g). And this working just fine (but there is no firewall between physical wan & lan ports).
So in your case you could probably do the same thing, except you should specify the route to 192.168.1.0/24 network on all of your LAN 145... devices or just add this route to the default router routing table and it will answer with icmp error codes for correct route to anyone. But you need to establish the firewall between eth1 and br0 on the wl500g using bootCmds (but this is really tricky - wl500g tends to clear forward chain during ppp line changes, but if you've a linux experience you will notice /var/tmp/pppoe_rule[0-2] files which could be filled with the your rules via bootCmd). You could also make the simpler thing: just add the NAT between br0 and eth1 - no route changes required and you will get firewalling.
Also, you could launch dhcp client via bootCmds to get the dynamic address.
Regards,
Oleg.

Sandros
03-05-2004, 17:42
Thanks for the reply. My excuse for the late reply, I was abroad. Currently wrestling with linux.... :o I will let you know if I get it to work.

saga2000
04-05-2004, 17:58
Security Lack???
Well I installed the new firmware 1.7.5.6 cr2 and went to the foloowing website: https://grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

The problem is that port 22 (ssh) is not stealth but closed and port 23 (telnet) is widely open...:(

Didn't have the problem with the previous version of my firmware,
so I assume that it has to do with this version...
Will this be solved in the next version...??
Or am I the only one who had this problem??

Greedthingzzz

Antiloop
04-05-2004, 19:33
no this will be solved in one of the upcoming firmwares.. it's not such a big issue further..

and i believe if you turn of websetup from wan, the telnet port closes but you should try that. as i have websetup always open for wan

Oleg
04-05-2004, 19:33
Disable web access from the WAN and relax.

rej
04-05-2004, 19:51
Security Lack???
Well I installed the new firmware 1.7.5.6 cr2 and went to the foloowing website: https://grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

The problem is that port 22 (ssh) is not stealth but closed and port 23 (telnet) is widely open...:(

Stealthing port 23 is easy, just do what the other guys says.

Stealthing port 22 can be done by making a virtual server (under NAT in the settings) of port 22 to a non existing PC on the LAN.

BR,
René

saga2000
04-05-2004, 20:53
thanx for the solutions I very grateful for them...
However I don't think it's a progress when in the previous version all the ports are stealth and next versions some ports are open or closed (have to make them manually stealth)...
I think that's a pity and it's a step backwards...

I think you doing a great job and hope you wil go on for a long time... I'm just honest and hope you will not mind I give my opinion on such matters...
Otherwise just ignore what I said before...

Greedthingzzz

Antiloop
05-05-2004, 04:10
in the only version 'ports were stealthed' ftp didn't work for wan at all.. :confused:

the ports are still open due to configuration things in firewall etc.. as the firewall script has improved some things have been forgotten probably.

e.g. fix the problem(s) with a working solution and publish the script here :) we'll be thankfull