PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Can't get anything to work ! I beg you help me

alexikiki
13-04-2005, 23:52
Hello all,

First of all this is my first post, and I am a complete newbie to wifi. I feel that this forum is for rather skilled people so I apologize in advance but I would REALLY appreciate any help because I am in complete desperation.

Here's what it is : I bought the wl-500g router the other day. since then i've not been able to get anything to work (in terms of internet, wifi or not)

my config is : thomson cable modem (from french ISP Noos), two pc's running xp sp2 and one acer laptop.

i have upgraded the firmware version of the router following a tutorial from this site.

I do get to the web settings page (so I think nothing is wrong with the hardware and cables) There in quick setup I set :
cable connection,
in isp information i don't know what to set so I don't write anything,
then IP and DNS automatically determined,
and wifi : default and zero protection (for now)

and then...

nothing works !
i can't access the web, even with inly one computer connected to the router.

So if you can help me please do because I am feeling very depressed.
Thanks!

Antiloop
14-04-2005, 08:41
Mostly you have to clone the MAC address from your PC into the Router, please try to read the manual for exact steps

please also check at your status page, if you receive an IP from the outside world at your router.

alexikiki
14-04-2005, 22:09
Thank you very much for answering, Antiloop, but I don't understand what you're talking about. Could you be more specific please?
I have read the whole manual several times and can't figure what you mean.
And about the status page I don't think My modem receives an IPfrom the outside world, although I'm not sure where to look exactly.

gwl
15-04-2005, 01:56
Thank you very much for answering, Antiloop, but I don't understand what you're talking about. Could you be more specific please?