PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : NAT doesn't work



ela002
01-04-2005, 10:38
I am using ASUS as Internet Gateway. it connects fine using PPPOE through USR 9105 ADSL modem. I can ping fine internet addresses via telnet. But every pc that has a gateway to ASUS doesn't have internet access. I have no firewall enabled of filters in ASUS. I am using the latest Oleg firmware. What can be wrong?


Thank you

Oleg
01-04-2005, 11:19
Check that operation mode is "Home Gateway". Also, please provide your WAN and LAN IP settings.

ela002
01-04-2005, 12:35
I have checked that ASUS works in Home Gateway mode.

For LAN IP I have set 192.168.0.174 netmask 255.255.255.240 (network 192.168.0.160/28)

For WAN IP I tried to use 192.168.0.171 or leave it as 192.168.1.44. I have tried to change gateways on the terminal PC's to LAN IP and WAN IP(192.168.0.171).

In the WAN IP field it says that I can leave this blank but it won't let me save the change.

Thanks

Oleg
01-04-2005, 13:20
Yes, you could not leave WAN IP address blank and it should not be in the same net as LAN IP.
LAN and WAN should be different networks.

ela002
01-04-2005, 16:58
But if I can't/don't want use another network on my LAN? The workstations must use 192.168.0.160/28. Is there any solution to stay within 192.168.160/28? I don't want to use double IP's at workstations. For example in USR Robotics ADSL modem I just use the LAN IP as gateway for NAT.


Thanks

Oleg
01-04-2005, 21:05
Switch wl500g to AP mode then and use your modem for routing. Or reconfigure your modem to bridge mode (without pppoe) and let wl500g do the pppoe job.
Why did you need to have 192.168.0.160/28 on the LAN?

ela002
02-04-2005, 15:25
I have tried the ADSL modem in bridge mode.

I tried firmwares 1.9.3.6 and 1.9.2.7. With defaults, the WAN IP is grayed out when using PPPOE. It works for the workstation and they have Internet access. But I have another problem. When there is some activity on the WAN I get ping timeouts for the LAN IP on ASUS. I tried all combinations of 100/10 full-half duplex. Looks like the WAN port dies when PPPoe is activated and there is Internet acivity. The ADSL speed also it's slow because of these timeouts.


Thank you