PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : DCHP request and USB Disk



rej
18-06-2009, 08:09
Hi all,

I have a very strange problem. When I have a USB stick connected to my router, DHCP seems to not work very well.

Without a USB stick connected, the router automatically obtains the DHCP lease when the router is restarted, and it virtually never looses connection.

With a USB stick connected, I often times has to enter the web interface and press connect after the router has been rebooted. Then after a day or so, the router again looses its lease and I again have to reconnect using the web interface.

Does anybody have an idea to how I can trace this error, or know what it could be?

I have attached the syslog. This shows the boot this morning. I had to connect using the web interface.

BR,
René

rej
30-06-2009, 14:05
More info:

[admin@WL-500G root]$ more /tmp/syslog.log | grep lease
Jun 29 10:37:24 udhcpc[130]: Unicasting a release of 80.161.176.147 to 172.31.0.15
Jun 29 10:37:25 dhcp client: deconfig: lease is lost
Jun 29 10:37:25 udhcpc[130]: Entering released state
Jun 29 10:37:31 udhcpc[130]: Lease of 80.161.176.153 obtained, lease time 10800
Jun 29 12:07:31 udhcpc[130]: Lease of 80.161.176.153 obtained, lease time 10800
Jun 29 20:29:32 udhcpc[130]: Unicasting a release of 80.161.176.153 to 172.31.0.15
Jun 29 20:29:32 dhcp client: deconfig: lease is lost
Jun 29 20:29:32 udhcpc[130]: Entering released state
Jun 29 20:29:38 udhcpc[130]: Lease of 80.197.159.201 obtained, lease time 10800
Jun 29 21:59:38 udhcpc[130]: Lease of 80.197.159.201 obtained, lease time 10800

It is now june 30 14:52, and it stopped updating the DHCP lease. If I plug out the USB stick and reboots it continues updating DHCP. The router also always gets the IP address in the first place when no USB stick is attached, whereas I often times have to click "connect" on the Status & Log - Status page of the router. I hope somebody could guide me in debugging this problem as it really gets on my nerves!

Thank you very much in advance.
BR,
René

wengi
30-06-2009, 14:43
Hi,

only a guess: power suply.
These routers are very sensitive on voltage.
Maybe you stick needs too much power.

- test an other stick
- use an usb hub with power suply.

Maybe this helps debugging.

wengi