PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Would it be possible to implement wondershaper?

Snigel
22-03-2004, 22:45
I have big problems with download speeds and ping while uploading. Wondershaper can fix these problems. WL-500g would be great if it could run this, is it possible to implement in firmware?

Or making it able to run from usb-memory.

Snigel
22-03-2004, 23:03
I forgot the link.

Wondershaper (http://lartc.org/wondershaper/)

I'm not good at all with linux. But it seems like this is just a script of somekind, I hope the router got everything the script wants. The script asks for bash, which we don't got. But it doesn't look like a big problem or? I don't know. Would be very kind if someone looked on it. It can do miracles with my bandwidth.

Booster
22-03-2004, 23:34
I guess that in theory it is possible to add wondershaper, BUT, it requires a kernel with extra options.

As far as I know, Asus is witholding the kernel source they're using, so we can't recompile it yet.

What wondershaper does, is using a few rules for the Linux firewall (and extra 'add-on' modules like 'fair queueing') to reduce the 'waiting queue' for important data packets.
This reduces network latency to the minimum.

I'm VERY interested in adding this feature as well, because I believe it would make the WL-500G the first affordable router with packet shaping options. (which is GREAT!)

Snigel
22-03-2004, 23:37
I'm running a game-server. But when more people join, the demands for upload rises. When upload rises the ping rises, and then it's totally unplayable. Not good.

Oleg
23-03-2004, 07:02
Originally posted by Booster

As far as I know, Asus is witholding the kernel source they're using, so we can't recompile it yet.

No, we can do that. Kernel itself is build on the stock broadcom sources. I've already posted the patches for building the kernel from wrt54g sources.

Booster
23-03-2004, 10:51
Ah, then I was wrong after all. ;)