PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : WL700gE bricket



yeller
03-12-2007, 02:20
After countless firmware changes (tried the Kfurge upgrade but failed when the packages didn't match the installation instructions), so I went back to the admin site, uploaded 4.6n firmware, and the router went dark.

It's plugged in but the drive doesn't spin up and there are no lights on. Any suggestions?

gratitude182
03-12-2007, 09:46
do you have tried this from back2basic

http://www.wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=8070

grat182

yeller
03-12-2007, 14:55
I can't get by the first step, no power to the lights


If you push them both the ready the ready light starts blinking (Is there life ? ?)

back2basic
03-12-2007, 16:34
Hi

When no lights starts to blink @ all after holding the buttons for a few sec the box probably died :(. If you got any warenty on youre device you can take it to youre reseller

yeller
10-12-2007, 22:32
Sent in for repairs since it's still covered by warranty. I hope they fix/return quickly.

buddy
24-06-2008, 18:40
The other day there was a blackout and the lights went out and my router went off along with it. When the electricity turned back on my router loaded up but the hard drive didn't load. I think its pretty much the same as the power cord being unplugged when the router is on. It actually says on the router not to unplug the power cord when the router is on. Is the hard drive damaged? What can I do to get it up and going again? Will I lose everything on it?

Maccro
25-06-2008, 23:28
You may have to reload the firmware, but you won't lose any data. It's happened to me as well.



The other day there was a blackout and the lights went out and my router went off along with it. When the electricity turned back on my router loaded up but the hard drive didn't load. I think its pretty much the same as the power cord being unplugged when the router is on. It actually says on the router not to unplug the power cord when the router is on. Is the hard drive damaged? What can I do to get it up and going again? Will I lose everything on it?

buddy
26-06-2008, 03:55
You may have to reload the firmware, but you won't lose any data. It's happened to me as well.

I uploaded the WL700gE_kc_1078_02.nas file, but still the same thing. In disk management it comes up with the harddrive being unmounted? How do i mount the harddrive but at the same time I dont wanna lose all my downloads that I have going wit mldonkey.

mumsoft
26-06-2008, 22:46
I uploaded the WL700gE_kc_1078_02.nas file, but still the same thing. In disk management it comes up with the harddrive being unmounted? How do i mount the harddrive but at the same time I dont wanna lose all my downloads that I have going wit mldonkey.

I guess you have to chkdsk (dos-speak) the drive.
Telnet into the router. If telnet does not work you might have to stop loading rc.local the way KC Furge has described:

Q. I've really messed up my rc.local and now my router won't boot. How can I fix it?
A. Flash the latest image (WL700gE_kc_1078_02.nas) then press and hold the copy button when the ready light blinks three times. Release the copy button when the ready light stays on steady. This will bypass any /opt customizations on your router and boot with only the firmware image contents.
Then, if you're at it, as root, give this command:

reiserfsck /dev/se/2
and follow the instructions.

good luck,
Marc

buddy
27-06-2008, 17:25
I guess you have to chkdsk (dos-speak) the drive.
Telnet into the router. If telnet does not work you might have to stop loading rc.local the way KC Furge has described:

Then, if you're at it, as root, give this command:

reiserfsck /dev/se/2
and follow the instructions.

good luck,
Marc

still no luck I the command reiserfsck /dev/se/2 but when it says yes to continue it just goes back to the command prompt. Also when i log into through telnet i can only login as root with no password, not admin and my password.

Also in disk management is says the harddrive is unmounted, any ideas?

mumsoft
27-06-2008, 21:34
still no luck I the command reiserfsck /dev/se/2 but when it says yes to continue it just goes back to the command prompt. Also when i log into through telnet i can only login as root with no password, not admin and my password.

Also in disk management is says the harddrive is unmounted, any ideas?

yes, that is, Yes.... :D

Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you do):yes
[root@Sneeuwwitje ~]$


Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you do):Yes
###########
reiserfsck --check started at Fri Jun 27 19:26:34 2008
###########
Partition /dev/se/2 is mounted with write permissions, cannot check it
[root@Sneeuwwitje ~]$

I hope this is clear enough.
- you can only check the filesystem if it is UNmounted, as in your case.
- you have to say Yes and not yes.

with reiserfsck --help you get more options.
After the repair has finished correctly, you should be able to reboot the router and see your disk mounted as usual.

gOOD lUCK
mARC

buddy
28-06-2008, 03:46
yes, that is, Yes.... :D

Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you do):yes
[root@Sneeuwwitje ~]$


Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you do):Yes
###########
reiserfsck --check started at Fri Jun 27 19:26:34 2008
###########
Partition /dev/se/2 is mounted with write permissions, cannot check it
[root@Sneeuwwitje ~]$

I hope this is clear enough.
- you can only check the filesystem if it is UNmounted, as in your case.
- you have to say Yes and not yes.

with reiserfsck --help you get more options.
After the repair has finished correctly, you should be able to reboot the router and see your disk mounted as usual.

gOOD lUCK
mARC

I actually tried Yes when I tried it last time but I tried it again same thing.


Will read-only check consistency of the filesystem on /dev/se/2
Will put log info to 'stdout'

Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you do):Yes

[u@h W]
[u@h W]


Any other ideas, I think it may not be working cos I am logging in under root and not admin. For some reason its not letting me log in under admin and my password, its saying the password is incorrect when I know it is the correct password

mumsoft
28-06-2008, 23:23
I actually tried Yes when I tried it last time but I tried it again same thing.


Will read-only check consistency of the filesystem on /dev/se/2
Will put log info to 'stdout'

Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you do):Yes

[u@h W]
[u@h W]


Any other ideas, I think it may not be working cos I am logging in under root and not admin. For some reason its not letting me log in under admin and my password, its saying the password is incorrect when I know it is the correct password

Hmm... I hope someone else has some clue?
I'm almost out of ideas.
But please tell what you get with:

mount
and try

reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/se/2
You could also try to mount it yourself, and post here what you get with:

mount -t reiserfs /dev/se/2 /shares/MYVOLUME1

Marc

buddy
29-06-2008, 18:34
Hmm... I hope someone else has some clue?
I'm almost out of ideas.
But please tell what you get with:

mount
and try

reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/se/2
You could also try to mount it yourself, and post here what you get with:

mount -t reiserfs /dev/se/2 /shares/MYVOLUME1

Marc

I did what you said and this is what I got, still no good =(
im thinking only thing i could do is replace the harddrive but I really dont wanna lose all my stuff thats on it.


(none) login: root



BusyBox v1.00-pre2 (2008.01.27-00:53+0000) Built-in shell (msh)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

[u@h W]
[u@h W]mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
/dev/root on /mnt type cramfs (ro)
none on /mnt/dev type devfs (rw)
/dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 on / type cramfs (rw)
/dev on /dev type devfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
usbdevfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw)
ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
ramfs on /shares type ramfs (rw)
ramfs on /foreign_shares type ramfs (rw)
[u@h W]
[u@h W]reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/se/2
reiserfsck 3.6.11 (2003 www.namesys.com)

************************************************** ***********
** If you are using the latest reiserfsprogs and it fails **
** please email bug reports to reiserfs-list@namesys.com, **
** providing as much information as possible -- your **
** hardware, kernel, patches, settings, all reiserfsck **
** messages (including version), the reiserfsck logfile, **
** check the syslog file for any related information. **
** If you would like advice on using this program, support **
** is available for $25 at www.namesys.com/support.html. **
************************************************** ***********

Will check consistency of the filesystem on /dev/se/2
and will fix what can be fixed without --rebuild-tree
Will put log info to 'stdout'

Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you do):Yes

[u@h W]
[u@h W]mount -t reiserfs /dev/se/2 /shares/MYVOLUME1
mount: mounting /dev/se/2 on /shares/MYVOLUME1 failed: No such file or directory
[u@h W]

mumsoft
29-06-2008, 21:51
Buddy,

You problay lost only some time, as we all do now and then.
When I told you to check dev/se/2 I was referring to the wrong partition. It has something to do with mirroring, but don't ask we how and what and why.

Actually the disk in the Asus is hiding here:
/dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0
if you do:

ls /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0
I get:
disc part1 part2 part3 part63
If I'm not wrong, disc refers to the whole hard drive, part1 and part2 both contain a part of the firmware, part3 is where all your stuff goes (/opt, /shares/MYVOLUME1), and part 63 is, well, I don't know.

Try

reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3
Maybe you should also check part1 and 2, but part3 is where your data is for sure.
Plus I don't know what filesystem is on part1 and part2.
- check and repair part3.
- reboot

Marc

buddy
30-06-2008, 04:01
Buddy,

You problay lost only some time, as we all do now and then.
When I told you to check dev/se/2 I was referring to the wrong partition. It has something to do with mirroring, but don't ask we how and what and why.

Actually the disk in the Asus is hiding here:
/dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0
if you do:

ls /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0
I get:
disc part1 part2 part3 part63
If I'm not wrong, disc refers to the whole hard drive, part1 and part2 both contain a part of the firmware, part3 is where all your stuff goes (/opt, /shares/MYVOLUME1), and part 63 is, well, I don't know.

Try

reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3
Maybe you should also check part1 and 2, but part3 is where your data is for sure.
Plus I don't know what filesystem is on part1 and part2.
- check and repair part3.
- reboot

Marc


This is what i got when I tried reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3


[u@h W]reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3
reiserfsck 3.6.11 (2003 www.namesys.com)

************************************************** ***********
** If you are using the latest reiserfsprogs and it fails **
** please email bug reports to reiserfs-list@namesys.com, **
** providing as much information as possible -- your **
** hardware, kernel, patches, settings, all reiserfsck **
** messages (including version), the reiserfsck logfile, **
** check the syslog file for any related information. **
** If you would like advice on using this program, support **
** is available for $25 at www.namesys.com/support.html. **
************************************************** ***********

Will check consistency of the filesystem on /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/par t3
and will fix what can be fixed without --rebuild-tree
Will put log info to 'stdout'

Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you doYes

###########
reiserfsck --fix-fixable started at Mon Jun 30 01:48:59 2008
###########
Replaying journal..
0 transactions replayed
˝Checking internal tree../finished
Comparing bitmaps..finished
˝Checking Semantic tree:
˝finished
No corruptions found
There are on the filesystem:
Leaves 22095
Internal nodes 135
Directories 520
Other files 12235
Data block pointers 21922575 (11749546 of them are zero)
Safe links 0
###########
reiserfsck finished at Mon Jun 30 01:53:32 2008
###########
[u@h W]


After that I rebooted but still comes up that the drive is unmounted.

I tried the other parts and got this:


[u@h W]
[u@h W]reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part63
reiserfsck 3.6.11 (2003 www.namesys.com)

************************************************** ***********
** If you are using the latest reiserfsprogs and it fails **
** please email bug reports to reiserfs-list@namesys.com, **
** providing as much information as possible -- your **
** hardware, kernel, patches, settings, all reiserfsck **
** messages (including version), the reiserfsck logfile, **
** check the syslog file for any related information. **
** If you would like advice on using this program, support **
** is available for $25 at www.namesys.com/support.html. **
************************************************** ***********

Will check consistency of the filesystem on /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part63
and will fix what can be fixed without --rebuild-tree
Will put log info to 'stdout'

Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you doYes


reiserfs_open: the reiserfs superblock cannot be found on /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part63.

Failed to open the filesystem.

If the partition table has not been changed, and the partition is
valid and it really contains a reiserfs partition, then the
superblock is corrupted and you need to run this utility with
--rebuild-sb.

Abort
[u@h W]


Is that what I should be getting?

mumsoft
30-06-2008, 11:29
Buddy,

Finaly you got some results!

The check on part3 took only 5 minutes, which is very short. Your drive is filled with 125 GB if I'm correct. My drive has 180GB and checking it took some hours.
But that is no real concern.

The other parts 1, 2 and 63 have most likely no Reiser filesystem.
You could try to check them with fsck (fsck /dev...../part1 etc)

All in all I now think that the Asus lost it's knowledge of your system volume, but that all data is still there.
Creating a new volume will probably wipe out that data.
Please search this forum on this topic, because I can't do much more for you.

If there is no certain way to recreate the system volume, you should have a look here:
http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=10198

Regards,
Marc

buddy
01-07-2008, 18:58
Buddy,

Finaly you got some results!

The check on part3 took only 5 minutes, which is very short. Your drive is filled with 125 GB if I'm correct. My drive has 180GB and checking it took some hours.
But that is no real concern.

The other parts 1, 2 and 63 have most likely no Reiser filesystem.
You could try to check them with fsck (fsck /dev...../part1 etc)

All in all I now think that the Asus lost it's knowledge of your system volume, but that all data is still there.
Creating a new volume will probably wipe out that data.
Please search this forum on this topic, because I can't do much more for you.

If there is no certain way to recreate the system volume, you should have a look here:
http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=10198

Regards,
Marc

thanks for ur help marc, i still havent got it going yet but ill have to leave it for a month as im going overseas tomorrow. sorta spewing i havent cos i was going to go nuts wit my downloads while i was away but wat can u do.

Wihoka
14-12-2008, 17:24
I tried to upgrade my firmware but i got a time out and the router is bricked. :eek:
I've tried to restart with holding teh EZ button and the rest button. The ready light is on but if i try to get to the router i don't get anything. When the power has been off and i restart the ready light doesn't go on again. Is there anybody who can tel me how to get my WL700 back?

About the nas files; They are to large for upload and i can''t find software to split it using Windows XP or Vista.
Can someone help me?

torretje
17-12-2008, 17:41
I tried to upgrade my firmware but i got a time out and the router is bricked. :eek:
I've tried to restart with holding teh EZ button and the rest button. The ready light is on but if i try to get to the router i don't get anything. When the power has been off and i restart the ready light doesn't go on again. Is there anybody who can tel me how to get my WL700 back?

About the nas files; They are to large for upload and i can''t find software to split it using Windows XP or Vista.
Can someone help me?

i think you just need the firmware uploaded like this one
http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=9632
but i notice that this one is not secure yet...check asus site and choose download from the top menu and again download
then select wireless and ap/router and your unit to get the WL-700gE Firmware Version 1.0.7.8 file around 17mb in size : WL700gE_1078.zip

I had the same issue and could not use it for some time...
on the cd that came with the unit is a program to restore the firmware
but should also be available on the download site of asus...you would need the
"Rescue700g.exe" program to restore the unit to factory default.
if you do not have the cd you can try using
this link (http://www.xs4all.nl/~xaviera/Utility_1700.zip) to get the Utility_1700.zip file

Wihoka
24-12-2008, 19:49
Thanks for you're advise. I don't even get an IP anymore. It's totally bricket. I'll try to make a hard reset by using a pin or metal. Could never be worse than this. :p

torretje
24-12-2008, 20:34
Thanks for you're advise. I don't even get an IP anymore. It's totally bricket. I'll try to make a hard reset by using a pin or metal. Could never be worse than this. :p
so no lol then...and did you try to set a fixed ip address in your network settings
e.g. 192.168.1.10 and ping 192.168.1.1 your router? does the unit startup?
and if it does are you connected by cable? is the cable ok!? can you see the unit in network environment of your windows?

hyyap
12-07-2009, 07:32
Hi all,

I sort of having the similar problem describe in this thread by buddy where I could not see /shares/MYVOLUME1.

I follow through the discussion here and was manage to mount /shares/MYVOLUME1 back.

Apparently, as describe by mumsoft, the disk is hiding there in ;
/dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0

What I did was to remount the /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 as follow ;

mount -t reiserfs /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 /shares/MYVOLUME1

I got an error ;

mount: mounting /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 on /shares/MYVOLUME1 failed: No such file or directory

What I did was to go ahead and create the directory /shares/MYVOLUME1 and then repeat the mounting comand again.

This time, the command went through without error and I got all my data back :

Here are the extract from telnet ;

=======================================
#
# mount -t reiserfs /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 /shares/MYVOLUME1
mount: Mounting /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 on /shares/MYVOLUME1 fail
ed: No such file or directory
#
# mkdir /shares/MYVOLUME1
#
# mount -t reiserfs /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 /shares/MYVOLUME1
#
# mount
/dev/root on /mnt type cramfs (ro)
none on /mnt/dev type devfs (rw)
/dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part2 on / type cramfs (rw)
/dev on /dev type devfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
usbdevfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw)
ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
ramfs on /shares type ramfs (rw)
ramfs on /foreign_shares type ramfs (rw)
/dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 on /shares/MYVOLUME1 type reiserfs (rw)

=====================================


Hope this helps :)