PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : WebCam Problem:Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

copycat
22-04-2004, 20:44
Since I tried a couple of webcams on my router which didn't work, I'm looking to buy a new one. I noticed that the logitech quickcam sphere is supported as of PWC 8.12., which has features to control the cam. Being a total linux noob, I'm trying to figure out what I would need:

- the quickcam sphere obviously
- PWC 8.12: is it possible to put it in the firmware?
- for remote control I probably need a new webpage instead of the default cam-page

Can this be done? I have no idea how to build my own firmware, but would it be possible to put the driver and page on my external usb disk?

Antiloop
22-04-2004, 20:46
very short answer: yes/yes

when i'll finish my router directory i'll compile the new pwc, as i need too a new version (logitech quickcam pro 4000)

copycat
22-04-2004, 20:53
Great. I was thinking of the 4000 pro as well, but since the sphere is a bit nicer... The 4000 doesn't work with the current 8.8?

Antiloop
22-04-2004, 21:45
current is 8.6

somebody reported the logitech 4000 as working, don't know how he got it working..

but mine is not recognized by the current 8.6 pwc (according to the pwc it should only work from 8.8)

oCe
24-04-2004, 20:57
My webcam (Philips ToUCam Pro) functions fine with the current official firmware, though, can't select 640x480; which should be possible too. Hopefully a new costumized firmware can do that.

The main problem though, I can view the webcam just fine from within my LAN; as both ActiveX streaming webcam and in 'preview' JPEG-picture mode. But from WAN, only the 'preview' JPEG-picture mode works; can't seem to get the ActiveX script loaded from WAN.

The other weird thing, 'preview' JPEG-picture mode is in black&white, streaming is in color! Any suggestions?

Phillbis
04-10-2004, 02:39
Hi all,