PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : iTunes server

dsf260
01-12-2004, 16:58
I am about to purchase a WL-500g, and was trying to figure out if anyone has gotten it configured as an iTunes server. I've done a search on the site, but haven't come up w/ anything.

Setting the 500g up as an iTunes server w/ attached storage would allow 2 things: Access to a music library by devices like the Roku M1000 & SqueezeBox without powering up a PC, and access to the music library remotely.

I am an almost complete newbie with Linux and the 500g, although I actually have some experience with Xenix from years back and I have a better than basic understanding of networking, so not all of this is foreign.

Here's a link I found that describes how to set up an iTunes server on a typical linux install:

http://www.whatsinyourbox.org/article28.html

and here's a detailed description on how to get it running on a Linksys NSLU2 (a NAS box with out the S--similar to the add the USB HD feature on the 500g):

http://www.tomsnetworking.com/Sections-article88.php

It doesn't look too tough, although the first example seems easier for the uninitiated (i.e. me), but I'm not sure how the instructions would be applied to the 500g...but it would be nice if somehow the device could load the right processes and fire them up automatically.

Thanks for the help...I am sure I will be dropping in here very often.

Darren

Styno
01-12-2004, 22:08
I believe forum user wlanman is busy setting up a streamcast audio server. Also there are other ppl trying to do streaming over usb or bluetooth, so there are certainly options here.

What you need is sourcode for an iTunes server which you can compile with the Asus toolchain. You also need to realise that the WL-500g has limited resources, so it might not be strange if it does not have the power to do what you want. Perhaps you can wait for the WL-500gx to come out. This version has faster hardware. Good luck

dsf260
02-12-2004, 01:48
Thanks for the response.