PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Accessing nfs shares from the WL700gE



Gregoire.Favre
18-10-2006, 11:46
Hello,

I would like to access the 700g using nfs from the WAN.
If that's possible, how could I do that ?

Thank.

Gregoire.Favre
18-10-2006, 14:08
BTW cifs could also do the trick for me :)

fireflash
18-10-2006, 16:37
You would need to setup a VPN (Virtal Private Network) that you could connect to via the internet from any location. The only problem is, as far as I can tell the 700g does not have a built-in VPN server, so you would need a 2nd computer to act as a VPN server. Once that's setup connecting is easy and you'll have full, secure & encrypted access to you network from anywhere.

Gregoire.Favre
19-10-2006, 10:51
I don't really care about security as the 700g is after an openwrt router.
All I want is that computers after the openwrt router have access to the hd of the 700g.
Thank

fireflash
19-10-2006, 17:12
Well, if it's all being accessed on your local network, then you should be able to do a connection to it without any problems, provided the WL700g is not also trying to play router, along with your OpenWRT router. If the wl700 is also trying to play router, it could be on a different subnet (openwrt could be 192.168.0.1 and the wl700g defaults to 192.168.1.1), which might make it more difficult to connect to across the network. You would need to put the wl700g into AP mode, which will make it a slave device on the network.

If you want access to it outside your network (from work, for instance), then again you'll need a VPN server on your home network. In either case if you already have an openwrt router, you should take the wl700g out of router mode and put in AP mode so you don't have competing DHCP servers and firewalls.

d3viant
07-11-2006, 20:52
Hi

I have just gotten a wl-700ge router, and am trying to get the NFS share to work correctly. I have enabled NFS read/write in the admin console for the router, but I do not appear to be able to mount any directories. I just get permission denied.


A google search doesn't show up anything in particular for this router. I have tried combinations such as 192.168.1.1:/export/MYSHARE1 and 192.168.1.1:/export/MYVOLUME1, none of which work. Which directory is actually meant to be shared? (with the default MYSHARE1 MYVOLUME1 hard disc settings)

Thanks

d3viant

ralam
09-11-2006, 07:37
I access my router with <IP>\MYSHARE1\

So I think you should lose the "export" part in your path call...

Remco

d3viant
09-11-2006, 12:50
Hmm no luck with that, mounting 192.168.1.1:/MYSHARE1 failed with permission denied again

d3viant
10-11-2006, 12:02
Ok, managed to mount it eventually with 192.168.1.1:/shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1

kfurge
13-11-2006, 03:59
Ok, managed to mount it eventually with 192.168.1.1:/shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1

FWIW, you can use "showmount -e 192.168.1.1" from any nfs enabled box to show you all of the available shares.

- K.C.

d3viant
13-11-2006, 09:04
Cool - thats a useful tip - thanks :)

desray
14-01-2007, 04:11
Hi all, can anyone tell me how to mount a FAT filesystem External USB HDD properly?

I have tried a few combinations myself but to no avail. I only managed to mount the ../MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1 with success. That was easy.

I understand that I need to use the Disk Management Utility to ERASE and FORMAT and then CREATE VOLUME for the USB HDD so that I can do a preoper mounting...but the Disk Management Utility stuck at the CREATE VOLUME segment and presented to me with a Blue Screen of Death - saying 'Create Disk Volume Result' on the top...and nothing seem to happen despite the pop-up box stated that creating a VOLUME merely takes about 3 minutes max! What am I doing wrong here?

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

Barnosch
14-01-2007, 11:37
Ok, managed to mount it eventually with 192.168.1.1:/shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1

That is a wrong syntax
type in WindowsButton + R abd type in \\192.168.1.1\yourshare
There you go
If you want tu use the share as a mapped drive
type in
net use x: \\192.168.1.1\yourshare

The : is to add a special port. Leave it away

d3viant
14-01-2007, 13:26
That is a wrong syntax
type in WindowsButton + R abd type in \\192.168.1.1\yourshare
There you go
If you want tu use the share as a mapped drive
type in
net use x: \\192.168.1.1\yourshare

The : is to add a special port. Leave it away

The syntax is correct if the pc is running linux :)

Under windows you are perfectly correct - use backslashes and leave out the colon.

Barnosch
14-01-2007, 18:41
ok im sorry. i overread this.
:o

wl700twickers
23-04-2007, 11:59
Hi guys,

Does anyone know if it's possible for the White Box to act as an NFS client for a remotely shared folder (in my case a box running Ubuntu 7.04)?

I've tried something along the line of:

mount -t nfs ubuntu_box:/media/stuff /shares/MYVOLUME1/share2

but getting 'Invalid argument' errors.

(If I take off the '-t nfs' then I get an 'File not found error; and since upgrading to BusyBox 1.5 I get a super helpful 'Operation failed' error instead :confused: )

I can mount the folder from my macbook pro so the ubuntu box seems to be set up properly (as much as a complete n00b like me can set it up :D ).

-T

PS. A big thanks to everyone on this site. Like all of you, I was excited by an affordable, wireless NAS only to be dissapointed by the truly terrible firmware. Now I have something I can SSH into, listen to my music via mt-daapd and spin down the HD. (But not for bittorrenting, that still sucks!) Everything I've learnt here has given me the confidence to graduate to a 'proper' Linux server :) Thanx guys!

velovite
28-05-2007, 17:04
Hi everyone,

I've been mounting the WL700 share on my ubuntu box using both cifs and nfs. I'd prefer nfs since you can make file links and cifs cannot. But right now nfs is really problematic to use : when I create a file from my ubuntu box, it gets my ubuntu UID/GID which do not match the default UID/GID (35000/42000) on the WL700. This means means that I subsequently have permissions problems on those files, for instance when I access the WL700 from the WAN...
I know in principle it should be possible to map UID/GIDs when exporting a directory over nfs, but I can't find a way to do it on this box (I can't find out how to start the nfs deamon with a mapping file option). Has anyone already succeeded in doing this?

Phil.

nasebaer
28-08-2007, 20:01
Hi,

I tried to mount my WL-700gE with Mac OS, but always get the error Message "Permission denied". Configured the Asus fr NFS and PBSA as mentioned on the FAQ-Page at Asus.

So, what to do?

best regards.

officerwiggins
07-12-2007, 13:29
I'm having trouble to access nfs shares with the os 10.4 finder.
when i try to connect to nfs://192.168.1.1/MYSHARE1, i get a wrong username or password alert, but i know it's correct because samba (smb://192.168.1.1/MYSHARE1) works perfectly.
is this because the wl700ge is using a different nfs version than 10.4?
the box has the standard 1.0.7.8 firmware on it...

anyone got it working and can tell me what's going on?

pvarela
08-12-2007, 17:54
Hi All,

Can anyone tell me how to access nfs shares exported by another device from the WL700gE?

Regards,

PVarela

Gizmo1007
17-12-2007, 01:53
You'll need to be more specific, the question is too general, please provide more detail

pvarela
20-12-2007, 00:18
Hi, thank you.

I'm using an Intel SS4000E has a NAS server which has the possibility to export folder using NFS. What I would like to do is to mount some of these folders with NFS from the WL-700gE so that I can access them from the WAN.

Regards,

PVarela

Gregoire.Favre
21-12-2007, 22:14
Hello,

did someone succeed in exporting nfs dir from the router ?

An exportfs -r result in :

exportfs: can't open /var/lib/nfs/rmtab for reading
exportfs: could not open /var/lib/nfs/etab for locking
exportfs: can't lock /var/lib/nfs/etab for writing
exportfs: could not open /var/lib/nfs/xtab for locking
exportfs: can't lock /var/lib/nfs/xtab for writing

which is fully understandable... but how to force it to opt ?

kfurge
22-12-2007, 03:24
I believe it's missing the kernel modules necessary to mount NFS shares as a client.

- K.C.

kfurge
22-12-2007, 03:49
I think you're using the wrong share name. If OSX supports the "showmount" command, then execute "showmount -e 192.168.1.1" from and command prompt window. Mine looks like:

[kfurge@WL700gE /]$ showmount -e localhost
Export list for localhost:
/shares/tmp/tmp *
/shares/tmp/iso *
/shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1 (everyone)

I think you need to add "/shares" on the front of your path?

- K.C.

Gregoire.Favre
22-12-2007, 23:32
After some try, I got it working, lots of ipkg install/remove and it works ;-)

I didn't undertand what i really did, but I now got a really good router now !!!

mumsoft
03-03-2008, 21:56
SOLVED, see below.

Hi,

With Asus (custom) firmware 1.0.4.6 I could easily get NFS working.
But after upgrading to 1.0.7.8 I only get timeouts.

I get:
mount: mount to NFS server 'asus' failed: timed out (giving up).
and the log of Asus says nonetheless:

Mar 3 21:40:48 rpc.mountd: authenticated mount request from 10.2.2.1:721 for /shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1 (/shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1)

The problem is on the Asus: I have tried this with two pc's and also with a Knoppix DVD. Also installing the original Asus firmware 1.0.7.8 did not help.

SOLUTION
Downgraded to firmware Asus 1.0.4.6
- checked NFS: OK
upgraded to firmware Asus 1.0.7.8
- checked NFS: OK
upgraded to firmware KFurge 1.0.7.8
- checked NFS: OK :D

In this process I was forced to reset the Asus to factory defaults. Maybe, but unlikely, this did it.

Regards
Marc