PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : can't install new firmware on wl-500gP

cobelloy
18-10-2007, 12:19
hi,

I bought this router last week because a few people have had success installing new firmware and configuring it to dial the same usb modem as I have, so that they can easily share internet around their home. However I have tried several times to change the firmware and it gives me the same error every time - to check that it is the right firmware, I have tried the asus clear and recover firmwares, dd-wrt and open-wrt and it wont work.

I have been using the web interface via both windows and linux, is there something i dont know about? some other way to change the firmware?

please bear in mind i am not that technical - but I can follow instructions, for either windowsXP or linux

and to answer the obvious question "why dont you just get a better modem?"

short answer: there is no other modem

long answer: I live in remote australia and there are four options for internet: dialup (which sucks), ISDN dialup (expensive and sucks), sattelite (expensive, takes about a year on a waiting list for installation, and not very fast) or wireless broadband, which I have but it is only supplied by one ISP out here and they only have one modem that will work as it is a proprietary 3G protocol that they keep a very tight grip on. So far I have paid $300 for the modem, $170 for an antenna so I can get a signal, and $100 for this asus router, the outlay has been significant as far as I am concerned, and I just wish it was all working

so please can someone help me?

newbiefan
18-10-2007, 22:20
hi,
I bought this router last week because a few people have had success installing new firmware .......

Well, it isn't clear what you want to do - it sounds like you would like to install a usb-modem to your asus router using any kind of firmware!
Be aware, that every firmware is different in handling and possibilities.