PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : New firmware wl500gpV2



beniusc
06-09-2007, 20:42
Hello,

i was running my wl500gp with original firmware 1.9.7.5.

i found on asus a new firmware : http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/WL-500gPV2/WL-500gPv2_firmware_2005.rar

upgrade is ok, the configuration is still here -> but now the wl500gp say no cable connected (no internet connection) and i can access throuth wan to my modem...

in the description firmware page the name changed to wl500gpv2, and it's impossible to back to 1.9.7.5 or oleg firmware.

the router is running by no connection to internet and acces to wan !?

what can i do to back to 1.9.7.5 ?

the asus utility firmware restoration say invalid ip, stop, and no conneciton is possible.

thanks

ben.

beniusc
06-09-2007, 22:14
re,

the firmware restoration tools works fine after waiting a big moment...

now the routeur go back in original 1.9.7.5

all is working now !

thanks

ben.

EddieZ
11-09-2007, 00:05
It's firmware for the upcoming V2 of the 500gP. Other hardware design so that's why it won't work.

beniusc
11-09-2007, 10:53
Hi,

thanks, thats what i think when the router reboot and wan isn't working.
but the firmware upgrading still working...

i open the box and i'v 1.14 rev motherboard.

ben.

EddieZ
11-09-2007, 12:21
V1 (yours and mine) has Mini_PCI layout (wirelss card on mini PCI card in slot), the V2 has everything integrated on the mobo.

beatmag
30-09-2007, 13:02
integrated mobo,

will oleg still work like normal?

ss-18
28-11-2007, 12:45
Hello,

i upgrede my wl500gp up to wl500gpv2.

upgrade is ok,
but WAN port work like LAN
and LAN4 whork like WAN ! :)

all the functions test now ...

apok
04-01-2008, 04:23
Hello,

i was running my wl500gp with original firmware 1.9.7.5.

i found on asus a new firmware : http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/WL-500gPV2/WL-500gPv2_firmware_2005.rar

upgrade is ok, the configuration is still here -> but now the wl500gp say no cable connected (no internet connection) and i can access throuth wan to my modem...

in the description firmware page the name changed to wl500gpv2, and it's impossible to back to 1.9.7.5 or oleg firmware.

the router is running by no connection to internet and acces to wan !?

what can i do to back to 1.9.7.5 ?

the asus utility firmware restoration say invalid ip, stop, and no conneciton is possible.

thanks

ben.

I've one similar problem can some one help them?

You already know the solution for that problem? what have you done?

dta
08-01-2008, 06:29
Does that mean the WL500gP v2 firmware also (partly) works on the WL500gP except that the WAN port doesn't function anymore?

Is it OK to upgrade the WL500gP v1 router with v2 firmware? What added functionalities does v2 firmware do over v1? (or is it only the hardware that changed --> integrated on router motherboard, but same features)

calebz
23-01-2008, 00:27
Maybe torrenting works on this piece of #%@^@#$ asus firmware

EddieZ
27-01-2008, 13:51
Does that mean the WL500gP v2 firmware also (partly) works on the WL500gP except that the WAN port doesn't function anymore?

Is it OK to upgrade the WL500gP v1 router with v2 firmware? What added functionalities does v2 firmware do over v1? (or is it only the hardware that changed --> integrated on router motherboard, but same features)

It ssems to me that V2 firmware can not be used as an upgrade for a V1 device. Although functionality of the WLAN module is the same, the changed module layout requires different drivers. There is someone who tried this, but did not get a working device :rolleyes:

lord_dizzy
03-02-2008, 05:35
According to http://support.asus.com/faq/faq.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=WL-500gP the only difference between those two versions is in software (i.e. v2 supports DinamicDNS; v1 WebCAM + Download Master). Not big deal I could say...:D

al37919
03-02-2008, 11:32
According to Oleg, there is a considerable hardware difference between wl500gP and wl500gPv2: http://oleg.wl500g.info/devices.html
It seems that wl500gPv2 is a top model from wl520g* line. So, its more "honest" name should sound: wl520gP

Oleg
03-02-2008, 11:36
Exactly it should be named wl520gP, as it's much slower than original wl500gp. :D

mjwills
26-02-2008, 00:37
Exactly it should be named wl520gP, as it's much slower than original wl500gp. :D

How can I tell physically whether a device is a 500GP or 500GP v2? Do they look different?

geenex
16-07-2008, 20:10
How can I tell physically whether a device is a 500GP or 500GP v2? Do they look different?

Today I got one... They(sellers) tricked me, wasn't V1 as stated on their website... They added "V2" near Premium... Details soon...

darius
17-07-2008, 15:40
Hi,

I called Asus asking the same question
and was assured v2 firmare can't support webcam.
V1 did.

Darius


According to http://support.asus.com/faq/faq.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=WL-500gP the only difference between those two versions is in software (i.e. v2 supports DinamicDNS; v1 WebCAM + Download Master). Not big deal I could say...:D