Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(430) : eval()'d code on line 123
Update NoIp, DynDNS, dyn.ee, ipactive via script
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Update NoIp, DynDNS, dyn.ee, ipactive via script

  1. #1

    Thumbs up Update NoIp, DynDNS, dyn.ee, ipactive via script

    Hello,

    with the below script, you can update NoIp, DynDNS, dyn.ee and ipactive without any client! The advantage of that is, that you can update your DNS entry at any time you want. Client programs in most case are limited: You can only update after X minutes. But you can not update the DNS directly after you WAN connection is established.

    Here is the script:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    ###################################
    # Content of /opt/bin/IPupdate.sh #
    ###################################
    
    # Logfile parameter
    # LOG=1/0 (On/Off)
    # LOG=pathname to the logfile
    LOG=1
    LOGFILE=/opt/logs/IPupdate.log
    
    # provider url's
    # DynDNS
    #URL="http://$1:$2@members.dyndns.org/nic/update?hostname=$3"
    # NoIP
    URL="http://dynupdate.no-ip.com/dns?username=$1&password=$2&hostname=$3"
    # dyn.ee
    #URL="http://dynserv.ca/dyn/dynengine.cgi?name=$1&pass=$2&func=set&domain=$3"
    # ipactive
    #URL="http://logon.ipactive.de/cgi-bin/logon_off.pl?V=2.1&B=$1&P=$2&IP=$3&F=1"
    
    
    echo ""
    if [ $# != 3 ] ; then
      echo "IPUpdate script"
      echo "usage: $0 <LOGIN-NAME> <PASSWORD> <HOSTNAME/DOMAIN/IPADR>"
      exit
    fi
    
    if [ $LOG == 1 ] ; then echo "$(date) Starting DNS entry update for $3 ..." >> $LOGFILE; fi
    echo "Starting DNS entry update for $3 ..."
    
    # Update Host entry
    RESULT=`wget -O - $URL | cat`
    if [ "$RESULT" == "" ] ; then RESULT=Error; fi
    if [ $LOG == 1 ] ; then echo "$(date) DNS entry update result for $3: $RESULT" >> $LOGFILE; fi
    echo "DNS entry update result for $3: $RESULT"
    call this script via:
    Code:
    /opt/bin/IPupdate.sh <YourLogin> <YourPassword> <YourHostname>
    If you want to update the DNS directly after your PPPoE connection is raised up, you can place the above call at the end of your /usr/local/sbin/post-firewall. (Thanks to al37919 for this tip)

    To update DnyDNS or an other DNS service (supply with the script), you must remove / insert the # in front of the related
    Code:
    URL=
    Additional you can install cron and start the script with the above call every X minutes.

    Have fun!

  2. #2

    Unhappy dyndns not working

    Why is the dyndns option on the webpage of my asus wl-500gP not working? Is this a bug from oleg firmware? I've olge firmware 1.9.2.7-7g.

    In order to keep my IP updated, i had to create a script and run it every 15 minutes using crontab.

  3. #3

    DynDNS under Access Point mode

    Hi,

    I'm running a WL500gP under access point mode as a wireless bridge to a router that does not support DynDNS. I'd like to use the DynDNS features of the 500g, but these are disabled in the web interface. Have found the ddns_updated utility (and start_ddns) but neither of these provide information on their use. Can anybody point me to a reference for these (couldn't find anything in the forum) or suggest where and how I should put a configuration?

    Cheers.

  4. #4

    Updating regularly may leave you blocked

    I have tried using a script for updating my DynDNS on a regular basis. After about a day DynDNS blocked me because of excessive updating.
    Of course my script was different from yours, but the result *may* be the same. Since then, I have decided to install inadyn, which is recommended by DynDNS. Search for my how-to on this forum that I posted today.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,805
    After installing 1.9.2.7-8-pre15, it seems that built in ddns client started to work correctly (self-updating after reconnection). So you may try just to enable it in web-IF and remove all scripts.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Holy Roman Empire
    Posts
    70

    Updating more than one DynDNS client

    Is it possible to update 2-3 DynDNS hostnames from WL500gP (when the dynamic IP changes) at the same time?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,805
    sure, Oleg's firmware includes ez-ipupdate ( http://ez-ipupdate.com/ ). Tune in a way which you like.

  8. #8

    DynDns problem on oleg

    here is my problem on dyndns
    wl-500gp doesnt update my ip automatically or even if i update manually


    on IP Config - Miscellaneous
    Enable the DDNS Client? Yes
    Server: WWW.DYNDNS.ORG
    User Name or E-mail Address: acer21
    Password or DDNS Key: xxxxxxx
    Host Name: acer.gotdns.com
    Enable wildcard? Yes

    now the other problem is, when i log in to the dyndns website and update my ip manualy, it just bounces to my modem "Mt880" not on my router"wl500gp" can someone help me on this?

    heres my setup

    i have a dynamic ip
    my modem is MT880 that gets ip automatically
    my wl500gp setup is obtain ip automatically
    WAN IP Setting
    Get IP automatically? Yes
    IP Address: 192.168.1.2
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1


    LAN IP Setting
    Host Name: WL-500G
    IP Address: 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

    now what is wrong with my config that keeps me bouncing on the modem instead of the router?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Holy Roman Empire
    Posts
    70
    Is ez-ipupdate in any way connected to the DynDNS settings on the router's web interface? Or is it a separate application?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ukraine, Odessa
    Posts
    6

    Config DYNDNS by CLI (SSH)

    Hi, all!
    How can I configure DynDNS service by command line? Web unreachable...
    Last edited by slawuta; 04-01-2011 at 17:16.

Similar Threads

  1. Maintainin multiple dyndns accounts from wl500g.
    By ikerstges in forum WL-500g/WL-500gx Tutorials
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21-03-2008, 21:12
  2. Call script from post-boot and not returing?
    By scriptman in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-12-2006, 04:56
  3. FW Update crashed
    By Marcel in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-01-2006, 20:08

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •