Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Anybody installed ImageMagick on WL500-g?

  1. #1

    Anybody installed ImageMagick on WL500-g?

    Hiall,

    I'm getting totally excited with the possibilities of this router! I have never ever entered a single keystroke of LINUX commands, so basically I'm following step-by-step the instructions to get my router geared up. So far, I managed to perform Macsat's howto's:
    + ipkg package system,
    + Olegs firmware SSH Server,
    + thttpd Web Server,
    + vsftpd Installation and Setup,

    On Oleg's 1.9.2.7-7b. (BIG thumbsup to Macsat and Oleg and their crew!!!!)

    I have my 'under construction' page running and I want to replace that asap with a nice image-gallery. I'm considering to use Gallery 1.5.2 (preferred) or maybe Simple Picture Gallery Manager 1.4.4.

    I've checked phpinfo of the thttpd webserver, it reports PHP Version 5.0.4. Any decent image gallery will allow thumbnail resizing using image processing libraries like ImageMagick or NetPBM (or GD) but these seem to be missing on the router (according phpinfo). Is this a matter of editing the php.ini file, or do I first need to install a package?

    Here, I'm hitting my limitations: I don't know how to search ipkg packages, let alone install any of such image processing libraries myself!

    I prefer to have ImageMagick on my wl500g IF possible? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!? (I've searched this forum on ImageMagick, but this turns up only 1 hit, so I have my fingers crossed here )

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    736
    It is possible. I've personally prepared imagemagick ipkg for wl500g. Please report us how gallery works on wl500g. From my experience, speed of PHP programs on wl500g is not acceptable for many APPs.

  3. #3
    Hi oleo,

    Good to see that ImageMagick is available in ipkg.. Is this only a matter of running:
    Code:
    /opt/bin/ipkg install imagemagick < enter >
    And update the php.ini

    Or do I need to consider more to get this image processing library available on the wl500g??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    736
    Except for libtiff and X11 stuff all should work as expected. Of course
    Depends: zlib, libjpeg, libpng, libtool, bzip2
    will be installed at imagemagick request!

    I am really curious about Gallery report!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,308
    Hmm, if I'm not mistaken, Gallery does not support PHP5, but as said: I'm not sure...

    Also, generating thumbnails on a PIII requires quite some time. Guess it will be very sloooooow on the WL-500g.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    736
    There are no technical difficulties with gallery 1.5 except the speed. And I think, that it can be configured in such way that no user resize is available. Resizing for thumbnails is not a big deal. An if this will be dedidated picture server it can also be shadowed by busybox_http wich is much faster than thttpd. But shadowing scripts for static html pages should be written and then use thttp just for administration!

    See http://codex.gallery2.org/index.php/...n_Offline_Copy for such use.

  7. #7
    Thanks for this feedback! I have actually SEARCHED the forum to come up with the thread: How to run two webservers, where the install of busybox_http is explained pretty much detailed.

    So now I'm facing the decision: continue with my current setup or re-flash the ASUS firmware, then upgrade to Oleg's latest, configure my disk and then have busybox_http for serving my pages. It will be a dedicated image-server anyway and I will be uploading content myself only. So maybe I should bite the bullit and do all that, so I will have a somewhat decent performance..

    Guess it will all depend on my mood when I continue tonight..

    Thanks all!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    736
    And now with the latest Oleg 7b firmware you can simply move Config httpd to siome other port by setting
    Code:
    nvram set http_lanport=8006 && nvram commit && reboot

  9. #9
    It is my intention to give it a try and install Gallery 1.5.2. It needs imagemagick, so I ran:
    Code:
    /opt/bin/ipkg update
    and
    Code:
    /opt/bin/ipkg install imagemagick
    During installation, I could see: zlib, libjpeg, libpng, libtool, bzip2 install with it and there were no abnormal messages.

    Now I wonder: I cannot find any reference of imagemagick in the output result of my phpinfo.php and I believe that is not good. I've searched this forum and googled a bit, but I cannot find confirmation.. Do I need to apply any more changes (maybe in /opt/etc/php.ini or so?).

    I hope anybody can give me some feedback, because I want to feel good before I proceed with installing and setup Galery 1.5.2.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    736
    As I understand Gallery, Image magick is considered as external program and not as PHP library. So this is normal that no reference is given for imagemagick in phpinfo. Just install gallery.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,308
    You also need to install php-imagick Gallery package.

    When activating the ImageMagick plugin for Gallery you need to give the directory where the ImageMagick tools (e.g. convert) are installed. This is often: /usr/bin.

  12. #12
    Tssss, I wonder what I got myself into....

    Searching on php-imagick gave me this:
    http://phprpms.sourceforge.net/imagick
    and also this:
    http://pecl.php.net/package/imagick

    This is confusing me.. In the first link, I can only see php-imagick Intel rpm's and the second link gives me the option to download imagick-0[1].9.11.tgz

    I'm s&#250;ch a newbie to this stuff!.... GRrrrr..

    Styno: do I really need this php-imagick to be able to setup Gallery 1.5.2?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,308
    Quote Originally Posted by ikerstges
    Styno: do I really need this php-imagick to be able to setup Gallery 1.5.2?
    No, but if you want to use imagemagick you will need it. Most php installs automatically include GD graphics library which is good enough for all the basic gallery functions, but if you want to edit the images (e.g. rotate them) then you will need to install imagemagick (or NetPBM).

    If there aren't any native binary sources for your architecture (wich is MIPS when you install on the WL-.... stuff) then you can download the sources and compile your own executable. You can find more info on compiling on this forum, but it is not easy for newbies (especially when compiling runs into troubles).

  14. #14
    Ok, clear, this is beyond my skills!..

    Is it easy to undo the installation of imagemagick?
    (searching this forum on 'uninstall' and 'ipkg' didn't turn any results, so I would appreciate some more-or-less detailed instructions about removing any ipkg-ed package and it's related packages?) I prefer to keep my router setup as clean as possible..

    Thanks in advance!

  15. #15
    Sorry, found it..

    Apparently, I only need to:
    Code:
    /opt/bin/ipkg remove imagemagick
    Thanks folks!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Asus WL500 is slow when accessed from WAN....
    By max2950 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-05-2009, 06:24
  2. Use wl500 as node in the FON network
    By erik_bies in forum WL-500g Custom Development
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26-03-2008, 16:17
  3. dd-wrt Firmate - FTP am WL500
    By Delta_D in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-01-2006, 14:47
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-01-2006, 19:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •