Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 242

Thread: Firmware v1.9.2.7 CR6, updated to CR6a ... now CR6b [Oleg]

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,355

    Firmware v1.9.2.7 CR6, updated to CR6a ... now CR6b [Oleg]

    New firmware available for download. It includes snmp support and updated samba, which should allow handling of files > 2gb in size.

    The complete list of changes:
    • Timezones fixes, affecting ppp reconnect issues
    • Fixed pppoe/pptp mss clamping (thanks to Ark+ for reporting)
    • Added various busybox applets
    • Fixed UPnP crashes (thanks to tomilius for finding this out)
    • Yet another WAN port dies fix
    • Added snmp support
    • Updated samba to patched 2.0.10
    • WL500g Deluxe VLANs completely reworked
    • Restore to defaults/shutdown are now called using RESTORE/RESET button as follows:
      • first 3 seconds - power LED on: release button to do nothing
      • next 5 seconds - power LED off: release button to "shutdown"
      • next 5 seconds - power LED blinking: release button to reset to defaults
      • start over


    Updated firmware to CR6b:
    • Changed WAN port dies workaround (perhaps this one would be the last)
    • Samba now properly deals with large (> 2gb) files
    • Fixed usb printer model parsing bug (affects some Canon models and usb/lpt adapters)
    Last edited by Antiloop; 10-07-2005 at 13:20.

  2. #2
    All my thanks to you, from me and my WL-HDD. btw, i am using my usb 10/100 RTL-8150 as my wlan port, thanks again , now goes to download.

  3. #3

    Great work.

    Great work Oleg.

    It seems like it is much improved regarding handling P2P traffic like emule. The .5a version made WAN completely die when running emule, this one seems to handle it much better (even though not perfect).

    Also - when using /usr/local/sbin/post_firewall

    on the 500gx version that I am using, I now have to change the WAN port from eth0 to vlan1....this will probably cause problems for some people :-)
    macsat
    http://www.macsat.com - Tutorials and information on using ASUS WL-500G and family.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,355
    Quote Originally Posted by macsat
    on the 500gx version that I am using, I now have to change the WAN port from eth0 to vlan1....this will probably cause problems for some people :-)
    So, that's why never use hardcoded names. post-firewall gets WAN ifname as one of the args, and the correct usage is suggested on my page.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,355
    P.S. ATTN: WL500g Deluxe owners: WAN port is now vlan1, LAN is vlan0.

  6. #6

    Has anything changed in wireless section?

    ...namely, when I upgraded WL-500gx from 1.9.2.7 CR5a to CR6, reset it to defaults and reloaded CR5a settings - my wireless AP disappeared. I can no longer connect to my WPA-PSK (AES) protected wireless network (open seems to work, haven't tried WEP yet).
    Last edited by FauDrei; 18-06-2005 at 21:30.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,355
    Quote Originally Posted by FauDrei
    ...namely, when I upgraded WL-500gx from 1.9.2.7 CR5a to CR6, reset it to defaults and reloaded CR5a settings - my wireless AP disappeared.

    Should I restore "factory settings" and reenter all passphrases, macs & other stuff manually?
    Nothing. In fact, there is no need to reset defaults then upgrading 5a to 6. It would use old settings. Anyway, importing settings is not a good idea.

  8. #8

    help me guys !

    well, first time i'm trying to upgrade my asus wl500g's firmware ...
    seems to work , but now, when i'm trying to configure it , I can't connect to it !
    http: \\192.168.1.1 , It ask me login and passwd ( didn't change it , still admin admin )
    and It won't work !!!
    what can I do ??? helllpppp !

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,355
    Quote Originally Posted by dada94
    well, first time i'm trying to upgrade my asus wl500g's firmware ...
    seems to work , but now, when i'm trying to configure it , I can't connect to it !
    http: \\192.168.1.1 , It ask me login and passwd ( didn't change it , still admin admin )
    and It won't work !!!
    what can I do ??? helllpppp !
    http://wl500g.info/faq.php?faq=asus_..._upgradedv1800

  10. #10
    Well...

    Restored settings, reentered everything manually but laptop would not detect the presence of hidden WPA-PSK (AES) network to which it was connecting before without problem.

    Unhiding network haven't helped - it is still undetectable.

    Will try combinations with WEP...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    145
    Nice job Oleg..
    Home Page
    Marco Sousa from PORTUGAL
    [ WL-500g - fw: 1.9.2.7-7e [Oleg] | WL-500gP - fw: 1.9.2.7-7f-USB-1.63 [Oleg&koppel.cz] ]

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    145
    reset bug present...
    Home Page
    Marco Sousa from PORTUGAL
    [ WL-500g - fw: 1.9.2.7-7e [Oleg] | WL-500gP - fw: 1.9.2.7-7f-USB-1.63 [Oleg&koppel.cz] ]

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Frankfurt / Germnay
    Posts
    36

    not working for me....

    i get reboots with every streaming media or file download. downgraded to x.x.x.5a....

    ciao,
    JBK

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands, Haarlem
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by jbkerner
    i get reboots with every streaming media or file download. downgraded to x.x.x.5a....

    ciao,
    JBK
    Working perfect now, also with big and fast downloads no wan dissconection
    wan speed also little faster

  15. #15
    Hi all,

    Help... I've upgraded the unit to 1.9.2.7-6 recently but it didn't work properly (e.g. after the flashing process the router was offline and not available via telnet, the internet connection died frequently, ...). Finally I decided to go back to 5a which worked perfectly so far. But again the router was offline after flashing and not available via telnet. So I tried to reboot that thing manually but since then the power LED is blinking and the box remains totally inaccessible. Restore to factory defaults doesn't work either. So what could I do now??

    Any help would be very appreciated...

Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Firmware v1.9.2.7 CR5, updated: v1.9.2.7 CR5a [Oleg]
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 189
    Last Post: 18-06-2005, 12:07
  2. Firmware v1.8.1.7 CR2 [Oleg] - updated ( CR2a )
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 69
    Last Post: 08-12-2004, 10:01
  3. Firmware v1.7.5.6 CR3 [Oleg]
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 28-07-2004, 21:11
  4. Firmware v1.7.5.6 CR4 [Oleg]
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 30-05-2004, 15:56
  5. Firmware v1.7.5.6 CR1 [Oleg]
    By Antiloop in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-04-2004, 17:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •