Page 19 of 19 FirstFirst ... 9171819
Results 271 to 283 of 283

Thread: alpha rt-n firmware releases

  1. #271
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Smolensk, Russia
    Posts
    2,397
    Blog Entries
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by maurer View Post
    but no increase in speed.
    is it because nf_conntrack_fastnat is 1 instead of 2 ?
    No. theMIROn explains nf_conntrack_fastnat values:
    • 0 - FastNat switched off,
    • 1 - FastNat works without URL filter. Its fastest option,
    • 2 - FastNat work with URL filtering support.


    Try to monitor CPU load when you pppoe connection speed at highest point. If CPU will be full loaded, then there is no option to raise router throughput.
    Entware Repository ◄ RT-N66U Router + ZyXEL V352L Phone + WD TV Live Player + WD My Book Live NAS

  2. #272

    other fw recomandation

    do you think an older fw would do the trick - get more throughput?
    maybe k 2.4 based ?
    or newer - 3.0 Openwrt ?
    I don't need any features like QoS.
    IPv6 would be a good option (native DHCPv6 from ISP)...
    Botton line is - highest possible throughput - less features.
    Thanks for your help

  3. #273
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Smolensk, Russia
    Posts
    2,397
    Blog Entries
    17
    Yes, there is a whole bunch of alt. firmwares, but only this one uses native Broadcom SDK. So only this one utilizes routers hardware in a best way.

    Some part of Broadcom source code is still not avaliable, so wireless driver was unstable, AFAIK, till october on all other -WRT firmwares.

    IMHO.
    Entware Repository ◄ RT-N66U Router + ZyXEL V352L Phone + WD TV Live Player + WD My Book Live NAS

  4. #274

    Thumbs up GOT IT !!!

    Christmas release did it !!!
    I've got 80-90 mbps throughput with r3702!
    Great work guys, lly and themiron !!!
    also thanks to ryzhov_al

  5. #275

    Webinterface gone

    Hello together,

    after flashing 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3825 my web-if is not accesible anymore (neither form WAN oder LAN). There's no server messag - it's just trying to load...
    ssh works fine and I can't see any complaints concerning this in dmesg.

    Any idea what went wrong/how to fix this?

    Thanks,
    pheidrias

  6. #276
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    3,586
    pheidrias
    First of all, there was no http server for webUI changes for a long time.
    I guess that you lost your flashfs content due to FW size increase or some custom scripts works wrong.

    Second, dmesg contains only kernel messages. You should check "httpd" process existence & port listen by "netstat -an".

    Additionally, it can be common mistake - current(old ASUS) web-UI not resistive to external attacks from WAN.
    Or if you upgrading from old "-d" branch(you didn't write old FW version), your settings become wrong...

  7. #277
    Hi Ily,

    thanks for the fast reply.
    Would it be a solution to reflash the last version (WL500gpv2-1.9.2.7-rtn-r3702.trx)?

    In fact what I did was to flash from an even older fw (don't know which one) with saving of confing and flashfs. Then I reuploaded those settings. After reboot (my Asus hang in the reboot, so I had to hard-reset it), I flashed the alpha version.
    This time without second saving of the settings. If I remember right, I reuploaded the old settings - the ones from the first firmware.

    Could this be the problem (but why?)? Flashing two times subsequently and the reupload the flashfs/config?

  8. #278
    Okay
    After reboot into recovery and another reboot, the web-if is there up again!
    Unfortunately, the router was not accessible (no ping) in recovery mode. Hope, this isn't going to be a permanent problem...

    So I have no a explanation but a solution...these are the things driving scientist mad !

  9. #279
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Milano - Italy
    Posts
    164

    Copy flash from WL500W to RT-N16. Is it possible ?

    Due to an hardware fault of my WL-500W, in the next days I'll replace it with a new RT-N16.
    I was running WL500W-1.9.2.7-rtn-r4051.trx, and I'll flash RT-N16-1.9.2.7-rtn-r4051.trx.

    Is it possible to save settings.cfg and flashfs from my old router and upload it on the RT-N16 (I know of different flash size) ?

    Thanks

    Max

  10. #280
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,763
    Quote Originally Posted by QMax View Post
    Is it possible to save settings.cfg and flashfs from my old router and upload it on the RT-N16 (I know of different flash size) ?
    It should be... but I'd rather choose a manual reconfig.
    flashfs is always good to go.

  11. #281
    Quote Originally Posted by maurer View Post
    do you think an older fw would do the trick - get more throughput?
    maybe k 2.4 based ?
    or newer - 3.0 Openwrt ?
    I don't need any features like QoS.
    IPv6 would be a good option (native DHCPv6 from ISP)...
    Botton line is - highest possible throughput - less features.
    Thanks for your help
    it depends on what kind of device you're using.

    if it's WL500gP WL500W or any of the R1 MIPS processor series I'd recommend using 2.4.20 kernel (2.6.22.19 kernel seems to be buggy and utilizies lots of CPU when there is network activity).

    for new RT-N routers 2.6 kernel is preffered.
    Last edited by staticroute; 07-06-2012 at 19:48.

  12. #282
    Quote Originally Posted by staticroute View Post
    if it's WL500gP WL500W or any of the R1 MIPS processor series I'd recommend using 2.4.20 kernel (2.6.22.19 kernel seems to be buggy and utilizies lots of CPU when there is network activity).
    i dont know, i have wl500gpv2 and i went for 1.9.2.7-d-4257 and router froze (i had to plug it off and on) during the heavy torrent download (on PC), something that happened first time in years for me..

    before i used some rtn-r4xxx revision and router seemed to work fine

    what is the best/stable 1.9.2.7-d-rxxxx fw for wl500gpv2 ?

  13. #283
    Quote Originally Posted by outlaw11 View Post
    i dont know, i have wl500gpv2 and i went for 1.9.2.7-d-4257 and router froze (i had to plug it off and on) during the heavy torrent download (on PC), something that happened first time in years for me..

    before i used some rtn-r4xxx revision and router seemed to work fine

    what is the best/stable 1.9.2.7-d-rxxxx fw for wl500gpv2 ?
    not sure, but I think Oleg's original firmware (1.9.2.7-10).

    you might try latest -rtn as well, there were some bugs fixed.

Page 19 of 19 FirstFirst ... 9171819

Similar Threads

  1. Essential Firmware Questions
    By vladk2k in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 14-10-2009, 12:10
  2. wl500gP v1 not booting after successfull flash of custom firmware
    By nocturne.op.15 in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13-07-2008, 02:28
  3. New Oleg firmware 1.9.2.7-9 problems?
    By wpte in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18-04-2008, 00:34
  4. Visit WL-500g Firmware Releases forum
    By Oleg in forum WL-550gE Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18-09-2006, 11:22
  5. Flashing Oleg's Firmware in WL HDD
    By hugo in forum WL-HDD Custom Development
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 21-10-2004, 15:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •