Results 1 to 15 of 187

Thread: IPv6 Support

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767

    IPv6 Support

    UPDATE:
    A simple how-to on how to set things up can be found here: http://code.google.com/p/wl500g/wiki...Pv6Tunnelhowto



    Well my idea was to use http://tunnelbroker.net
    since they have many different server locations:
    Fremont, CA; New York, NY; Dallas, TX; Chicago, IL; London, UK; Frankfurt, Germany; Paris, France; Amsterdam, NL; Miami, FL; Ashburn, VA; Seattle, WA; Los Angeles, CA; Hong Kong; Toronto, ON
    for me to Amsterdam it's only 24ms ping, so it's great

    basicly it set's up a IPv6 tunnel over IPv4


    I googled here and there but I can't find proper information how to get this working on asus routers

    after you're logged into your free account you can create a "Regular Tunnel" or a "BGP Tunnel". Regular tunnel is the one we're after I guess, since with BGP tunnel you must own a IPv6 adress already like from your ISP.
    http://www.tunnelbroker.net/forums/i...hp?topic=163.0

    Anyway, when creating a regular tunnel you have to fill in a static ip adress (your outside internet ip adress) called the "IPv4 endpoint". this is usually the ip from "You are viewing from IP"

    Now we have the tunnel... but how do we set this up?
    on the tunnel site we have:
    Server IPv4 address:
    Server IPv6 address:
    Client IPv4 address:
    Client IPv6 address:
    Anycasted IPv6 Caching Nameserver:
    and on the webconfig we have:
    LAN IPv6 settings
    Static IPv6 address: no idea
    Netsize (bits of hostpart): (64 I guess)
    Enable router advertisements: put on "yes"
    Tunnel IPv6 Setting
    Enable IPv6-tunnel: put on "yes"
    Remote endpoint: the Server IPv4 address?
    Local IPv6 address: the Client IPv6 address?
    Netsize (bits of hostpart): 64 (ip address says /64 in the end)
    Remote IPv6 gateway: the Server IPv6 address
    Tunnel MTU: 1280
    Tunnel TTL: 64
    now this doesn't seem to work
    Does anyone know how to get this running?
    Last edited by wpte; 18-02-2011 at 23:11.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    12
    From tunnel site you have
    Server IPv4 address:
    Server IPv6 address:
    Client IPv4 address:
    Client IPv6 address:
    Routed /48: Allocate
    Routed /64:
    webconfig:
    LAN IPv6 settings
    Static IPv6 address: *an address from Routed /64*
    Netsize (bits of hostpart): 64
    Enable router advertisements: yes
    I'd recommend :1 address from Routed /64.
    If you have 2001:db8:4242:4242::/64 as routed/64, you put 2001:db8:4242:4242::1 in Static IPv6 address

    Tunnel IPv6 Setting
    Enable IPv6-tunnel: yes
    Remote endpoint: the Server IPv4 address
    Local IPv6 address: the Client IPv6 address
    Netsize (bits of hostpart): 64
    Remote IPv6 gateway: the Server IPv6 address
    Tunnel MTU: 1280
    Tunnel TTL: 64
    And this works for me.

    Also note, that routed/64 is different from client and server ipv6 addresses (took me time to note 1a vs 1b in the third 16-bit group).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by libc View Post
    From tunnel site you have


    webconfig:
    LAN IPv6 settings


    I'd recommend :1 address from Routed /64.
    If you have 2001:db8:4242:4242::/64 as routed/64, you put 2001:db8:4242:4242::1 in Static IPv6 address

    Tunnel IPv6 Setting


    And this works for me.

    Also note, that routed/64 is different from client and server ipv6 addresses (took me time to note 1a vs 1b in the third 16-bit group).
    thanks for the instructions!
    it seems to work after doing the portscan from the website...
    I still don't get any ip's leased by my router to computer in the network..
    so in the end I still can't use any ipv6
    or should I add this manually?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    12
    You could add them manually.

    But it should just work. Make sure you entered the right LAN IPv6 settings. (static router address, 64 as netsize and enabled routing advertisment).

    If you ssh to your router, config should be something like that:
    Code:
    $ cat /etc/radvd.conf 
    interface br0 { AdvSendAdvert on; prefix 2001:db8:4242:4242::/64 { AdvOnLink on; AdvAutonomous on; }; };
    Where prefix is Routed /64. Also radvd must be running.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    no it's not running!

    my config atm:
    Static IPv6 address: 2001:470:1f15:31e::1
    Netsize (bits of hostpart): 64
    Enable router advertisements: yes

    Enable IPv6-tunnel: yes
    Remote endpoint: 216.66.84.46
    Local IPv6 address: 2001:470:1f14:31e::2
    Netsize (bits of hostpart): 64
    Remote IPv6 gateway: 2001:470:1f14:31e::1
    I use the wl500g.googlecode.com latest version of oleg...
    the portscan doesn't respond to ping, but the portscan says one host is active

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    12
    Have you rebooted your router after changing this settings?

    Your config looks reasonable to me. Is connection working on the router?
    (try to ping ipv6.he.net or ripe.net from router's ssh)
    Code:
    $ ping6 ipv6.he.net
    PING ipv6.he.net (2001:470:0:64::2): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 2001:470:0:64::2: icmp6_seq=0 ttl=56 time=220.8 ms
    I'm using 1.9.2.7-10 (2008-03-30) for wl500g premium.

  7. #7

    Routing /64 prefix

    Good evening. I'm lucky to have native Ipv6 address provided on physical vlan1 interface by provider 2001.x.x.x/64 (while ipv4 goes through PPTP). I've set a static ipv6 address on vlan1 and set up default route, so from router i can reach ipv6 hosts w/o any problem. Also I've set another ipv6 address from /64 prefix on my br0 interface + set up radvd with /64 prefix (can't use /80, cause i gives an error). After that i flushed all ip6tables rules and made iptable -A INPUT -p ipv6 -i vlan1 -j accept (just in case). Now i have global addresses provided in my wireless network, and i can ping computers in a network and router with ping6. But still i can't traceroute6 from my local network to ipv6 hosts (only does 1 step to br0 ipv6 address i've assigned for router and then stops) and i also can't traceroute6 from my router to local network (strange, just doesn't jump at all). Would you please give me a hand setting this configuration. Thank you

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    since my wl-500w is back up running again I tried to use ipv6 in r1000

    ping6 works properly on the router
    but all the computers inside my network can't browse the internet however they do receive an ipv6 adress from the router.
    I think the range from the local ip's are not set properly yet

    I have the basic firewall now:
    Code:
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere           rt type:0
    ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     ipv6-icmp    anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      fe80::/10            anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      ff00::/8             anywhere
    ACCEPT     tcp      anywhere             anywhere           tcp dpt:ftp
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    
    Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere           rt type:0
    ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     ipv6-icmp    anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      fe80::/10            anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      ff00::/8             anywhere
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    
    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere           rt type:0
    
    Chain SECURITY (0 references)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    RETURN     tcp      anywhere             anywhere           tcp flags:SYN,RST,ACK/SYN limit: avg 1/sec burst 5
    RETURN     tcp      anywhere             anywhere           tcp flags:FIN,SYN,RST,ACK/RST limit: avg 1/sec burst 5
    RETURN     udp      anywhere             anywhere           limit: avg 5/sec burst 5
    RETURN     icmp     anywhere             anywhere           limit: avg 5/sec burst 5
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    
    Chain logaccept (0 references)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    LOG        all      anywhere             anywhere           LOG level warning tcp-sequence tcp-options ip-options prefix `ACCEPT '
    ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    
    Chain logdrop (0 references)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    LOG        all      anywhere             anywhere           LOG level warning tcp-sequence tcp-options ip-options prefix `DROP '
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    so I've used some tables from my old home made script
    PHP Code:
    # Get global, link and wan adresses
    GLOBALSCOPE=`ifconfig sixtun | grep 'Scope:Global' | awk '{print $3}'`
    LINKSCOPE=`ifconfig sixtun | grep 'Scope:Link' | awk '{print $3}'`
    WANIF=`echo $GLOBALSCOPE | cut -f1 -d/`

    #Allow local traffic
    #includes loopback and local adresses
    ip6tables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
    ip6tables 
    -A OUTPUT -o lo -j ACCEPT
    #link-local
    ip6tables -A INPUT -s $LINKSCOPE -j ACCEPT
    ip6tables 
    -A OUTPUT -s $LINKSCOPE -j ACCEPT 
    and now I'm able to browse ipv6 sites on my clients

    The changes in the list: (-- is added)
    Code:
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere           rt type:0
    ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     ipv6-icmp    anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      fe80::/10            anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      ff00::/8             anywhere
    ACCEPT     tcp      anywhere             anywhere           tcp dpt:ftp
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    --ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    --ACCEPT     all      fe80::/64            anywhere
    
    Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere           rt type:0
    ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     ipv6-icmp    anywhere             anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      fe80::/10            anywhere
    ACCEPT     all      ff00::/8             anywhere
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    
    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere           rt type:0
    --ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    --ACCEPT     all      fe80::/64            anywhere
    
    Chain SECURITY (0 references)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    RETURN     tcp      anywhere             anywhere           tcp flags:SYN,RST,ACK/SYN limit: avg 1/sec burst 5
    RETURN     tcp      anywhere             anywhere           tcp flags:FIN,SYN,RST,ACK/RST limit: avg 1/sec burst 5
    RETURN     udp      anywhere             anywhere           limit: avg 5/sec burst 5
    RETURN     icmp     anywhere             anywhere           limit: avg 5/sec burst 5
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    
    Chain logaccept (0 references)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    LOG        all      anywhere             anywhere           LOG level warning tcp-sequence tcp-options ip-options prefix `ACCEPT '
    ACCEPT     all      anywhere             anywhere
    
    Chain logdrop (0 references)
    target     prot opt source               destination
    LOG        all      anywhere             anywhere           LOG level warning tcp-sequence tcp-options ip-options prefix `DROP '
    DROP       all      anywhere             anywhere
    so it added code to accept anything from anywhere... (not secure)
    but it also added fe80::/64 considered unsafe according to kamil, but it was the final step to make ipv6 browsable again

    in the end the current firewall is not complete imo

  9. #9
    first of all, your ip6tables listings ain't correct, no extra options were copied and no interfaces are visible
    Code:
    [admin@router root]$ ip6tables -vL INPUT
    Chain INPUT (policy DROP 0 packets, 0 bytes)
     pkts bytes target prot opt  in  out source    destination
        0     0 DROP   all       any any anywhere  anywhere    rt type:0
        0     0 ACCEPT all       lo  any anywhere  anywhere
        9   672 ACCEPT all       br0 any anywhere  anywhere
       14  1232 ACCEPT ipv6-icmp any any anywhere  anywhere
        0     0 ACCEPT all       any any fe80::/10 anywhere
        0     0 ACCEPT all       any any ff00::/8  anywhere
        0     0 ACCEPT tcp       any any anywhere  anywhere    tcp dpt:ftp
       60  7158 ACCEPT tcp       any any anywhere  anywhere    tcp dpt:www
    second, ifconfig sixtun | grep 'Scope:Link' | awk '{print $3}' wil produce smth like "fe80::xxxx:xxxx/64 fe80::yyyy:yyyy/64", eg 2 ips, what leads to fe80::/64 range.
    but there's fe80::/10 INPUT rule already specifies range fe80:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000 -
    febf:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff.
    so your INPUT LANSCOPE rule is useless

    next, OUTPUT chain has ACCEPT policy and only ping-pong DROP rule
    so, your OUTPUT rules are useless

    about INPUT chain - it controls only incoming (eg. end-point is router itself) connections, and doesn't affect on your pc internet connectivity, which is pass over FORWARD chain.
    moreover, INPUT's ACCEPT rule is dangerous, it makes your web interface accessable from wan, at least.

    p.s IPv6-in-IPv4 tunnel needs some time to be established after router reset.
    On connect, your local PCs will receive router advertisements 'bout IPv6 adresse prefix and everything will be fine.
    Autoconfiguration requires radvd daemon should be running (Enable router advertisements: Yes) and correct LAN IPv6 address should be specified.

    Just wait some time, not more than 1 min.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    I reconfigured my router and now it seems to work.
    kinda weird since the settings are the same

    maybe some leftover from the broken psu
    the weird thing is that ipv6 did work on the router, but not on any of the pc's

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    I reconfigured my router and now it seems to work.
    kinda weird since the settings are the same

    maybe some leftover from the broken psu
    the weird thing is that ipv6 did work on the router, but not on any of the pc's
    another suggestion is to move -p ipv6 -j ACCEPT right after - i br0 -j ACCEPT

    Code:
    Chain INPUT (policy DROP 3990 packets, 470K bytes)
     pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source      destination
        0     0 DROP       all  --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state INVALID
    48680 9967K ACCEPT     all  --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state RELATED,ESTABLISHED
        0     0 ACCEPT     all  --  lo     *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state NEW
     8332 2792K ACCEPT     all  --  br0    *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state NEW
      673 69654 SECURITY   all  --  ppp0   *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state NEW
     4167  487K SECURITY   all  --  vlan1  *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state NEW
       16   940 ACCEPT     icmp --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0
        0     0 ACCEPT     41   --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0
    Code:
    Chain INPUT (policy DROP 3990 packets, 470K bytes)
     pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source      destination
        0     0 DROP       all  --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state INVALID
    48680 9967K ACCEPT     all  --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state RELATED,ESTABLISHED
        0     0 ACCEPT     all  --  lo     *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state NEW
     8332 2792K ACCEPT     all  --  br0    *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state NEW
        0     0 ACCEPT     41   --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0
      673 69654 SECURITY   all  --  ppp0   *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state NEW
     4167  487K SECURITY   all  --  vlan1  *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0   state NEW
       16   940 ACCEPT     icmp --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0   0.0.0.0/0

  12. #12

    IPv6 support

    My ISP has started rolling IPv6 and offers native IPv6 dual-stacked with IPv4. The requirements are as follows: the router should support PPPoE Ipv6 and Prefix Delegation via DHCPv6. Also, I have to write "ipv6" in the Service Name box. I currently connect via PPPoE, using an Asus WL500gP v1 with DD-WRT, which apparently doesn't support the reqs. above.
    I'd like to try Oleg's, but before I start flashing again, can anyone tell me if those 2 features are supported by Oleg's firmware?
    • PPPoE Ipv6
    • Prefix Delegation via DHCPv6

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Galati, Romania
    Posts
    4
    Later edit:

    Build 3655 from http://asus.vectormm.net/rtn/ has working pppoe v6 and dhpc6 pd!

    Great work! Thank you!

    Quote Originally Posted by radub View Post
    My ISP has started rolling IPv6 and offers native IPv6 dual-stacked with IPv4. The requirements are as follows: the router should support PPPoE Ipv6 and Prefix Delegation via DHCPv6. Also, I have to write "ipv6" in the Service Name box. I currently connect via PPPoE, using an Asus WL500gP v1 with DD-WRT, which apparently doesn't support the reqs. above.
    I'd like to try Oleg's, but before I start flashing again, can anyone tell me if those 2 features are supported by Oleg's firmware?
    • PPPoE Ipv6
    • Prefix Delegation via DHCPv6
    Hi Radu (radub), your ISP is RDS?
    DHCP6 PD works with oleg firmware?

    Thank's
    Last edited by vdorin; 30-11-2011 at 17:39. Reason: Solved question
    vdorin
    WL-500gP
    WL-330gE

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by vdorin View Post
    Later edit:

    Build 3655 from http://asus.vectormm.net/rtn/ has working pppoe v6 and dhpc6 pd!

    Great work! Thank you!



    Hi Radu (radub), your ISP is RDS?
    DHCP6 PD works with oleg firmware?

    Thank's
    I actually switched to a custom build of TomatoUSB found here. It works perfectly with my ISP (yes it's indeed RDS), with dual-stack and all the other stuff (optware, firewall, etc).

Similar Threads

  1. New oleg firmware version
    By Lesiuk in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 713
    Last Post: 13-05-2016, 04:55
  2. Broadcom 63xx SOCs support in linux-mips and OpenWrt
    By goundoulf in forum WL-600g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22-10-2008, 17:48
  3. About to remove IPv6 support from the firmware
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25-04-2008, 18:51
  4. HOWTO use your WL-500g as IPv6 router
    By phedny in forum WL-500g/WL-500gx Tutorials
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17-02-2008, 07:19

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •