Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 51

Thread: Howto add serial port to WL-500gx/gp

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Delft, The Netherlands
    Posts
    62
    When serial ports share same interrupt, do we need to explicitly enable
    Code:
    CONFIG_SERIAL_SHARE_IRQ
    Or is that done automatically. What about IRQ 1,5 and 6. I do not see them in /proc/interrupts? Could those be used?

  2. #17
    sodb
    So, have you any progress?

    P.S. Just soldered my TTL-RS232 converter for my -Deluxe. I used RS-232/RJ-45 pinout to save space, so both serials or serial and 2 additional USB ports can fit between Ethernet ports and external antenna.
    RTS/CTS and DTR/DSR lines are shortened to work as a NULL-modem, so hardware flow control can be used on the terminal side.
    First time I forgot to solder ground to V+/V- charge pump capacitors, so many symbols was damaged . I was thinking that 0.1mF capacitors is not enough, but finally that's ok
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by Duke; 29-06-2005 at 21:54.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lund, Sweden
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb

    I had trouble with /dev/tts/1 hanging my router, even with flow control disabled. I solved it recently.

    I use both serial ports -- one port for the console, one for a serial graphic LCD. For some reason, the second serial port (/dev/tts/1) did not work by default in my firmware (Oleg's excellent 1.9.2.7-6b). /proc/tty/driver/serial showed /dev/tts/1 as mapped to IRQ 0 (instead of IRQ 3).

    Here's what I did:

    • Compiled setserial (http://setserial.sourceforge.net/) for mipsel
    • Enabled stty in busybox
    • Enabled the CONFIG_SERIAL_SHARE_IRQ flag in the kernel, as suggested by user sodb below (I haven't verified whether this is necessary)
    • Added the following lines to /usr/local/sbin/post-boot:
      Code:
      /usr/local/bin/setserial /dev/tts/1 irq 3
      /bin/stty -crtscts 19200 < /dev/tts/1   # or whatever rate you prefer


    NOTE: make sure you supply the complete absolute path to the setserial binary; /usr/local/bin is not in the default path for the post-boot script. If you are not careful, any access to /dev/tts/1 will hang your router, and you do not want this to happen on boot.

    -- Patrik

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Delft, The Netherlands
    Posts
    62
    That's good news. Can you please post the binary of the setserial util? I will try without the CONFIG_SERIAL_SHARE_IRQ flag first.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lund, Sweden
    Posts
    2

    setserial binary

    As requested,

    here is the setserial binary I use on my WL-500G deluxe.

    Setserial was written by Theodore Ts'o. Please refer to http://setserial.sourceforge.net for source code and documentation.

    Best regards,

    -- Patrik
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #21

    Serial I/O (UART)

    Does anybody know of any serial uart i/o pins are exposed on the pcb of this beast? I don;t care for RS232 levels, they'll do me fine at 3.3V as long as they are accesible.

    Also i've not managed to find any info as regards to the cpu..Anybody know what it is?

    Cheers

    dan

    Edit: OPk, i found answers to my own questions now . If anybody else is wondering check this
    Last edited by mangodan; 29-08-2005 at 05:18.

  7. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by Josephus
    The Asus wl500g deluxe has uart pinout onboard, so 2 serial ports can be added to the unit.
    The only difference between wl500g and wl500gx that the deluxe does not require a UART chip, so a simple RS232 transceiver will do the trick.

    Here are my experiences adding a single serial port to the router
    The parts you need:
    - 1 MAX3232 IC (SO-IC)
    - 5 1uF capacitors
    - cables, connectors

    ...
    [/CODE]
    There is an alternate way. All these parts are built into a Nokia serial data cable which can be bought quite cheap now. Just connect up 3 wires tx, rx and ground that used to go to the phone to the connector in the WL500gx.
    The other end of the cable has a 9-pin to connect to the PC.

  8. #23
    Quote Originally Posted by WVR
    There is an alternate way. All these parts are built into a Nokia serial data cable which can be bought quite cheap now. Just connect up 3 wires tx, rx and ground that used to go to the phone to the connector in the WL500gx.
    The other end of the cable has a 9-pin to connect to the PC.
    Well, there is yet another way with single 74HC14N

  9. #24

    Some pictures of my additional serials and Usb's

    Hi all,
    Just for your information. I'll post a schematic later on.
    Hervé
    Attached Images Attached Images      

  10. #25

    No stty in my Busybox

    Dear All,
    Well I would like now to check my serials.
    I did not found any stty in the directories neither in the busybox.Is this one missing in the latest Oleg firmware.
    How to get stty?
    Can you descrivbe a test procedure. I looped my serial pins 2 to 3 , so if I send something, it should be back...
    Thanks for help
    Hervé

  11. #26

    Schéma Electrique de montage USB et série

    Hi all,

    This is the schematic to create links USB and serial.
    For the MAX chip use a 3V3 model named MAX3232
    Thanks to all of you who already made pictures, that helped me.

    CU
    Hervé


    Bonjour à tous,

    Ci joint le schema de montage USB et series
    Pour le max bien prendre un modèle 3V3
    donc un MAX3 232 (avec un TROIS en premier chiffre!)

    Merci à ceux qui ont sur ce Post fais les images que j'ai reprises
    pour éclairer le schéma.

    @+
    Hervé
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by galmiche; 29-09-2005 at 10:13.

  12. #27
    By default, Oleg's firmware is using the first serial as terminal, and the second one is disabled.

  13. #28

    Serial Console and CFE

    From those people who hooked up a serial console to the WL500gx, has anybody tried to interrupt the ordinary boot process and get to the CFE Bootloader Prompt?

    I have built and setup the serial console and correctly get all the boot messages captured, first from the CFE bootloader and then from the Linux Kernel. However, if I enter "CTRL-C" at the very beginning of the boot process, it just continues as without intervention. Other Broadcom routers will stop at a CFE commandline interface (Linksys, Netgear,.., google for CFE and "CTRL-C" will show several hits). I have tried this multiple times, so timing is not the problem. Of course it could be my soldering skill while putting together the MAX232 converter.

    Why do I want to do this? Via CFE, one can seemingly boot a kernel over network. As the WL-500gx does not have a JTAG, it would be the safest way to try to get Linux 2.6 running temporarily for development, without having to flash back and forth between a stable and development system (USB would allow for different root filesystems).

    Also, I noticed a NVRAM setting "rescueflag=disable", and the corresponding CFE output "Rescue Flag disable." In the CFE binary of Olegs updated bootloader, there seems to be the string "rescueflag enable". Any idea whether this is possibly the option to allow the CFE CLI? How big do you think is the chance of messing up if I just try that out?

    Thanks a lot for any input,
    TSCoreNinja

  14. #29
    Quote Originally Posted by galmiche
    Dear All,
    Well I would like now to check my serials.
    I did not found any stty in the directories neither in the busybox.Is this one missing in the latest Oleg firmware.
    How to get stty?
    Can you descrivbe a test procedure. I looped my serial pins 2 to 3 , so if I send something, it should be back...
    Thanks for help
    Hervé
    I have the same problem as galmiche. How do I enable stty?

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Prague, Czech republic
    Posts
    3

    stty enable

    Quote Originally Posted by vlad75
    I have the same problem as galmiche. How do I enable stty?
    Hi!
    I have done it with 1.9.2.7 version:
    1. download: GPL_1927.zip and wl500g-1.9.2.7-6b.tar.bz2
    2. extract GPL: tar xzvf GPL_1927.zip
    3. extract patch: tar -C broadcom/src -xjvf wl500g-1.9.2.7-6b.tar.bz2
    4. cd broadcom/src/wl500g-1.9.2.7-6b
    5. create workspace: make
    6. cd ../gateway
    7. try to make own build: make
    8. make install
    9. this should create WL500gx-1.9.2.7-6b.trx image, try to flash it to be sure compilation process was well
    10. now change busybox settings: cd busybox, make menuconfig
    11. configure your busybox: Coreutils->stty
    12. exit & save
    13. cd .. (to .../gateway)
    14. make, make install

    You don't need to configure kernel CONFIG_SERIAL_SHARE_IRQ

    --- Jarda

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Alle Howto's, all howto's
    By newbiefan in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 29-03-2013, 14:57
  2. Use an USB-serial port converter
    By Technik in forum WL-500g/WL-500gx Tutorials
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 24-04-2012, 11:54
  3. Virtual serial port (CDC Class)
    By Snail.cz in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-03-2009, 17:42
  4. WL-500gx with openwrt pre-rc5 howto webserver?
    By ye_old in forum WL-500g Custom Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-03-2006, 13:54
  5. Serial port for WL-500g
    By sveasoft in forum WL-500g Pics & Specs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-03-2005, 22:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •