Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(430) : eval()'d code on line 123
[HowTo] Getting started (Firmware upgr, Storage, Samba, SSH) - Page 3
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 66

Thread: [HowTo] Getting started (Firmware upgr, Storage, Samba, SSH)

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    5
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but shouldn't your [ext3] section have only one "path" line?

    So probably, you should only have
    Code:
    path=/tmp/harddisk/part1
    and not
    Code:
    path=/tmp/harddisk/part1
    path=/tmp/harddisk

  2. #32
    Yes i know.. i have corrected that to.
    That was why i keept endning up the same place.

    Do u know if i can make one big ext3 partiton, maybe in partition magic.
    and just use that. or do i have to format the hd by the router, for it to be reconizede by the router.
    It´s stupid having a fat32 and a ext3 partition


    Quote Originally Posted by lebeno
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but shouldn't your [ext3] section have only one "path" line?

    So probably, you should only have
    Code:
    path=/tmp/harddisk/part1
    and not
    Code:
    path=/tmp/harddisk/part1
    path=/tmp/harddisk

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kysice,Czech Republic
    Posts
    46

    your unit has got to have assigned a host name

    It is mentioned somewhere in this thread but I somehow missed it and it took me an hour to find out what was wrong. Your unit needs to have assigned a host name - you need Oleg´s 1.9.2.7-5a (or later, if available:-)) firmware for that (it is bugged in earlier versions, as I understood) and you can do it through the webinterface (IP Config >> WAN & LAN >> LAN IP Setting >> Host Name). You can tell the difference whether it is assigned or not from the telnet command line(or how to call it:-)) - if it is like this:
    [admin@wl500g root]$ where wl500g stands for the name and admin for the user name, you ale alright, if it is like this: [admin@(none) root]$, you need to fix something up.
    I hope this helps somebody, it would have saved some time to me:-).

  4. #34
    seems to me that you only have one path (path=/tmp/harddisk) with a subdirectory in it (part1).

    if you mount /tmp/harddisk as an ext3 partitiosn then /tmp/harddisk/part1 is a directoty in that partition

    you should have something like this instead:

    /tmp/harddisk/part1 (for ext3)
    /tmp/harddisk/part2 (/for fat32)

  5. #35
    Hello,

    to anyone who uses an usb storage device on their asus with samba. Do you experience problems with writing 'big' (>100mb) files to the device? I tried all Oleg firmware versions without result. Currently running 1957-5a. I'm using an 80gb fat32 drive.

    And what's more, as i aproach the drive through my asus, it's recognised as an 4gb hd? While when i connect it directly through usb on my pc, it's recognised as 80 gb. Anyone a hint? Should i try make an ext3 partition?

    tnx
    Last edited by sharky123; 03-07-2005 at 10:35.

  6. #36
    With the newer versions of samba (and the firmware), it's better to use

    encrypt passwords = no

    as default, otherwise you get errors.

    You can also choose to create a password file for samba (search the forum).

  7. #37
    I am also having a problem with writing big files to my hd with samba....

    With the newer versions of samba (and the firmware), it's better to use

    encrypt passwords = no

    as default, otherwise you get errors.

    You can also choose to create a password file for samba (search the forum).
    Does a newer firmware help? Or is this a reply to an other post

  8. #38

    Question permission denied

    sometimes during the tutorial i get "permission denied". do i need to change that? and if i need to, how?

    tnx

  9. #39
    Hi,

    similar problem here. I use a 80GB drive formatted with ext3. When mounting from a Linux-PC only 4 GB are shown as available and 0 used. Actually perhaps 10GB are used. My first guess is that the samba version used in the Asus is old. But I couldn't find something on samba lists.

    tatnat

    Quote Originally Posted by sharky123
    Hello,

    to anyone who uses an usb storage device on their asus with samba. Do you experience problems with writing 'big' (>100mb) files to the device? I tried all Oleg firmware versions without result. Currently running 1957-5a. I'm using an 80gb fat32 drive.

    And what's more, as i aproach the drive through my asus, it's recognised as an 4gb hd? While when i connect it directly through usb on my pc, it's recognised as 80 gb. Anyone a hint? Should i try make an ext3 partition?

    tnx

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hogwarts
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by kuka
    Hi, great HowTo!

    I succesfully created the partitions with fdisk.
    But there's no way to create the Swap on Windows partition.

    [admin@(none) root]$ mkeswap /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1
    -sh: mkeswap: not found

    Is it possible only to create one big ext3 partition? How?

    I'm a noob in unix.
    Can you help me, please?!
    read my friend

    mkswap is the correct command, it is written some pages below me

  11. #41
    i have managed to start samba and stuff, but now i have a problem...
    i can acces the share$ folder, and i can copy stuff from it, but i cannot write/erase enything in windows?!?!
    Can anyone tell me whats going on?
    I have all the settings in smb.conf like it should be, so i really dont know why this thing dosent work!?!
    Anyone?
    Fresh

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    34

    Thumbs up It works!

    Thanks a lot hezik for this howto, ssh and samba work like a charm.
    If only everything was this easy...

  13. #43

    No post-boot dir.

    Great post, but it looks like I haven’t got a /post-boot dir.

    When I try: “echo "/usr/sbin/smbd -D" >> /usr/local/sbin/post-boot” I receive the following error message:

    -sh: cannot create /usr/local/sbin/post-boot: Directory nonexistent

    Any ideas?

    (firmware: WL500gx-1.9.2.7-6b)

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    post-boot is a file.

    Make sure you use a recent firmware from Oleg and then execute (if the /usr/local/sbin dir doesn't exist):
    - flashfs enable
    - mkdir /usr/local/sbin
    - touch post-boot
    - touch pre-boot
    - touch post-firewall
    - touch post-mount
    - flashfs save
    - flashfs commit

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Eindhoven @ The Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    Can't get the samba share working, what's going wrong?

    I did try this tutorial to enable a samba share at my external usb harddisk, but i can't access it through a share. What's going wrong?

    Here is all my information:

    [admin@(none) root]$ cat /etc/smb.conf
    workgroup = WERKGROEP
    server string = OpenWRT Samba Server
    wins support = no
    dns proxy = no
    name resolve order = lmhosts hosts bcast
    log file = /opt/var/log/samba/log.%m
    max log size = 1000
    syslog = 0
    security = share
    encrypt passwords = true
    obey pam restrictions = yes
    guest account = nobody
    passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
    load printers = no

    [share]
    comment = /tmp/harddisk
    path = /tmp/harddisk
    writeable = yes
    browseable = yes
    force user = admin

    [admin@(none) root]$ ps
    PID Uid VmSize Stat Command
    1 admin 700 S /sbin/init
    2 admin SW [keventd]
    3 admin SWN [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
    4 admin SW [kswapd]
    5 admin SW [bdflush]
    6 admin SW [kupdated]
    7 admin SW [mtdblockd]
    41 admin 292 S telnetd
    46 admin 392 S httpd eth1
    49 admin 340 S klogd
    53 nobody 428 S dnsmasq
    54 admin 388 S syslogd -m 0 -O /tmp/syslog.log -S -l 7
    56 admin 500 S nas /tmp/nas.lan.conf /tmp/nas.lan.pid lan
    59 admin SW [khubd]
    69 admin 276 S lpd
    71 admin 260 S p9100d -f /dev/usb/lp0 0
    73 admin 260 S p9101d -f /dev/printers/0 1
    76 admin 340 S waveservermain
    78 admin 348 S rcamdmain
    82 admin SW [usb-storage-0]
    83 admin SW [scsi_eh_0]
    93 admin 324 S infosvr br0
    94 admin 480 S watchdog
    96 admin 340 S ntp
    104 admin 428 S dropbear
    113 admin SW [kjournald]
    115 admin 404 S stupid-ftpd
    117 admin 744 R dropbear
    118 admin 528 S -sh
    124 admin 392 R ps

    [admin@(none) root]$ cat /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    #!/bin/sh
    dropbear
    /usr/sbin/smbd -D
    /usr/sbin/nmbd -D

    What is going wrong? It look to me that Samba is not started, but howcome?

    Any help apriciated.

    Tnx,
    Roland

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Firmware upgrading HOWTO
    By Styno in forum WL-500g/WL-500gx Tutorials
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-07-2008, 21:00
  2. Started with Custom 1.1.28. Need some help
    By fleppuhstein in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2005, 21:01
  3. Samba in 1.9.2.7-4 firmware
    By viper_002 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 31-03-2005, 19:24
  4. RCAMD started 3 times ?
    By max2950 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2005, 13:45
  5. Samba and Firmware 1.9.2.7-RC3
    By Arobs45 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 20-01-2005, 15:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •