Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 66

Thread: [HowTo] Getting started (Firmware upgr, Storage, Samba, SSH)

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Eindhoven @ The Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    Already did try some more things, with the same result, it looks again that Samba is not starting. I followed the above tutorial, and also try the tutorial from www.macsat.com

    This is my post boot file at the moment:

    [admin@(none) root]$ cat /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    #!/bin/sh
    dropbear
    mount -t ext3 /dev/discs/disc0/part1 /opt
    mount -t ext3 /dev/discs/disc0/part3 /tmp/harddisk
    swapon /dev/discs/disc0/part2
    # remove audio module
    killall waveservermain
    rmmod audio
    rmmod soundcore
    # And printer
    killall p910nd
    killall lpd
    killall infosvr
    rmmod printer
    # start Samba
    /usr/sbin/smbd -D
    /usr/sbin/nmbd -D

    Please help, got stuck....

    Roland

  2. #47
    well, thanx alot . this howto won't let my router be reachable anymore....
    it boots, but i can't reach it by 192.168.1.1 and can't get internet to. so i plugged the wan cable direct in my pc and internet works again....
    but the router not.... i pushed the resetbutton several times and now i unplugged the powercable with the hope of a total reset.


    i've got an 500gdeluxe with oleg's 1.9.2.7-6b
    HD: a WD 160GB in a sitecom md200 (old version) casing formatted as EXT3 as 1 big partition, works with ftp but has appearantly a 2GB filesize limit since uploading of 2GB< files always failes. WHY??

    what i did:
    i put this in smb.conf
    [global]
    workgroup = MSHOME
    guest account = nobody
    security = share
    browseable = yes
    guest ok = yes
    guest only = no
    log level = 1
    max log size = 100
    encrypt passwords = yes
    dns proxy = no

    and saved it--> \\192.168.1.1 gave "incorrect path" in windows so samba didnt work (yet)

    then i added this to smb.conf:
    [ext3]
    path=/tmp/harddisk
    writeable = yes
    browseable = yes
    force user = admin

    then i did this:
    echo /etc/smb.conf >> /usr/local/.files

    and this:
    echo "/usr/sbin/smbd -D" >> /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    echo "/usr/sbin/nmbd -D" >> /usr/local/sbin/post-boot

    this first didn't work since the sbin directory didn't exist. I created that and the postboot with some other howto from this site.

    and last:
    flashfs save
    flashfs commit
    flashfs enable
    reboot


    what did i wrong to make my router not reachable anymore and why did't samba work????

  3. #48

    Lightbulb Not a samba problem

    You don't write what modifications did you do with your router except samba configuration. Without this info it is not possible to say why is your asus not routing to internet. Definitely it is not caused by samba.

    For your samba "problem" - it looks like you didn't make the post-boot script executable and forgot to put #!/bin/sh at begining of the file

    You can fix it with following commands:
    Code:
    echo "#!/bin/sh" > /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    echo "/usr/sbin/smbd -D" >> /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    echo "/usr/sbin/nmbd -D" >> /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    chmod +x /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    flashfs save
    flashfs commit
    flashfs enable
    reboot
    I presume you have only 2 lines in post-boot right now. If you added other lines to your post-boot, just add the first line using vi editor.

  4. #49
    Quote Originally Posted by unicorn View Post
    You don't write what modifications did you do with your router except samba configuration. Without this info it is not possible to say why is your asus not routing to internet. Definitely it is not caused by samba.

    For your samba "problem" - it looks like you didn't make the post-boot script executable and forgot to put #!/bin/sh at begining of the file

    You can fix it with following commands:
    Code:
    echo "#!/bin/sh" > /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    echo "/usr/sbin/smbd -D" >> /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    echo "/usr/sbin/nmbd -D" >> /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    chmod +x /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    flashfs save
    flashfs commit
    flashfs enable
    reboot
    I presume you have only 2 lines in post-boot right now. If you added other lines to your post-boot, just add the first line using vi editor.
    i already did a full reset and now the router is working fine. i dont think i'll try samba again unless i know exactly what i'm doing,

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by hezik View Post
    Code:
    mkeswap /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1
    swapon /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lub0/part1
    Now we'll create a ext3 file system on the logical partition:
    Code:
    mke2fs -j /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lub0/part5
    Should be, after typos corrected in mkswap and the last two paths:
    Code:
    mkswap /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1
    swapon /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1
    Now we'll create a ext3 file system on the logical partition:
    Code:
    mke2fs -j /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part5
    Hope that helps. Just finishing of the rest of the tutorial myself.

    matt

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    Hi! I've been working on a configuration as described in this thread, but I'm running into difficulties. Could someone please help?

    I have formatted my usb drive as described, with a big fat32 and an ext3 partition. On the command line I don't see any problems. But these drives don't work properly in Windows.

    At first, I got it working. But when I started editing the name of the shared drive and the names of the shared folders, things went wrong. Now I can't see any drive in my network neigbourhood. All my XP machines give an error messages: "Windows - System error / A duplicate name exists on the network"

    Does anyone have a clue?

    Thanks for your help! ye, Michiel.
    Last edited by ookmich; 24-08-2006 at 10:18.

  7. #52
    What do you mean by
    editing the name of the shared drive
    Perhaps now you have 2 computers with the same name on net, therefore you have also the error message
    "Windows - System error / A duplicate name exists on the network"

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    I have solved my problem with "Windows - System error / A duplicate name exists on the network".
    The machine name of my router was the same as my workgroup name. After I changed the name of my router, this message was gone and I could see my workgroup again.

    Now i'm just struggling with users and passwords, so I'm one step further...

    Thanks for your help, Michiel
    Last edited by ookmich; 24-08-2006 at 10:17.

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maule - France
    Posts
    6

    Bonjour

    hello
    excuse my bad english
    I have WL 500g Deluxe
    With your excellent tutorial, I had install WL 500gx-1.9.2.7-4.trx. it run very well
    I have an extern hard disk (Western Digital 250 Go). I do tutorial enterily... but samba want not run

    In /var/log/smb :
    Get_Hostbyname : Unknown host (none) .
    Get_Hostbyname : Unknown host (none) .
    No interface found for adress xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (I don't know what is this adress, it's not IP adress of my router, it's not IP adress of my network and it's not my internet IP !)
    Get_Hostbyname : Unknown host (none) .

    In /var/log/nmb
    1970/01/01 00:00:11 netbios name server version 1.9.18p10 started
    Copyright Andrew Tridgell 1994_1997
    Get_Hostbyname : Unknown host (none) .
    Unable to get my hostname - exiting.

    What is hapened ? What can I do to repare this? please help me
    I had do my /etc/smb.conf like in tutorial and I can see my hard disk like
    ftp server but not like a share device...
    Thank you very much for your help

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by ROBBY View Post
    hello
    excuse my bad english
    I have WL 500g Deluxe
    With your excellent tutorial, I had install WL 500gx-1.9.2.7-4.trx. it run very well
    I have an extern hard disk (Western Digital 250 Go). I do tutorial enterily... but samba want not run

    In /var/log/smb :
    Get_Hostbyname : Unknown host (none) .
    Get_Hostbyname : Unknown host (none) .
    No interface found for adress xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (I don't know what is this adress, it's not IP adress of my router, it's not IP adress of my network and it's not my internet IP !)
    Get_Hostbyname : Unknown host (none) .

    In /var/log/nmb
    1970/01/01 00:00:11 netbios name server version 1.9.18p10 started
    Copyright Andrew Tridgell 1994_1997
    Get_Hostbyname : Unknown host (none) .
    Unable to get my hostname - exiting.

    What is hapened ? What can I do to repare this? please help me
    I had do my /etc/smb.conf like in tutorial and I can see my hard disk like
    ftp server but not like a share device...
    Thank you very much for your help
    set the hostname on your Asus device then try again

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maule - France
    Posts
    6
    thanks for your help
    what "name" I put ? the name of workgroup ? or what ?
    thanks

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maule - France
    Posts
    6
    ohhhh! thank you
    thankyou very very veeerrryyy MUCH!!!
    IT'S RUN LIKE A CHARM!!!!!

  13. #58
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25

    Question Problems with Remote Administrator

    Okay,

    I managed to get SSH, WWW, Samba and RRD working but got stuck with the VSFTPd.

    When I installed VSFTPd, I just couldn't connect to it (LAN side). It refused connection every f#cking time. I tried to shutdown the HDD and then reconnect it (as mentioned here)

    ...One of my readers have brought to my attention, that after following the guide, the ftp server kept rejecting him to login. He then reconnected his harddrive, and after that it worked. Maby worth a try if you are having problems getting it to work....
    but this didn't solve the problem. It stayed unreachable. So I've given up on that and gone back to stupid-ftpd for now.

    Any insight in what went wrong here is appreciated.
    Last edited by JaJoah; 02-09-2006 at 10:58. Reason: Remote administrator problem fixed.
    My current collection:

    WL-500gX (original firmware), WL-500gX (Oleg 1.9.2.7-7g), WL-500gX (Oleg 1.9.2.7-8), WL-700gE (Asus 2.0.0.7)

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Maule - France
    Posts
    6
    I use the 1.9.2.7 -7e with Samba
    it goes well with a disk USB but in the Windows explorer I have:

    - my first partition named “fat32” and inside the second partition “ext3” show like a repertory “part1” !!

    - my second partion “ext3” and inside also I still have a repertory “part1” which is the copy of “fat3”!!

    How could I avoid that? I followed your tutoriel exactly…

    Still a second question pleaqe: how I can mount a second disc USB on the router ? and how I must declare it in smb.conf?

    when I connect it on the router, I see it well like:
    /dev/scsi/host1/bus0/target0/lun0/disc
    /dev/scsi/host1/bus0/target0/lun0/part1

    thank you very much of your assistance.

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    6

    Smile

    Just a tip for people who have problems getting things working:

    I my situation, I couldn't get SSH working, because the port 22 wasn't visible on the outside.

    It appeared to be the following problem: My post-firewall script wasn't executable. After I made it executable, everything works fine!

    Making a script executable:
    type 'chmod +x /usr/local/sbin/post-firewall'

    Michiel

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Firmware upgrading HOWTO
    By Styno in forum WL-500g/WL-500gx Tutorials
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-07-2008, 21:00
  2. Started with Custom 1.1.28. Need some help
    By fleppuhstein in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2005, 21:01
  3. Samba in 1.9.2.7-4 firmware
    By viper_002 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 31-03-2005, 19:24
  4. RCAMD started 3 times ?
    By max2950 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2005, 12:45
  5. Samba and Firmware 1.9.2.7-RC3
    By Arobs45 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 20-01-2005, 14:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •