Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Clearing nvram = default settings?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Hamburg / Germany
    Posts
    24

    Cool Original NVRAM settings

    Has anyone a backup of the original nvram settings and could post it here? I added and altered some variables to make OpenWRT work and now I would like to know what I have changed

    Werner

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,350
    They're embedded to pmon at offset 1k. Mine are as follows:
    Code:
    boardtype=bcm94710dev
    boardnum=asusX
    clkfreq=125
    sdram_init=0x0419
    sdram_config=0x0000
    sdram_refresh=0x8040
    et0macaddr=00:0C:6E:9A:xx:xx
    et0phyaddr=30
    et0mdcport=0
    et1macaddr=00:0C:6E:9A:xx:xx
    et1phyaddr=0
    et1mdcport=1
    dl_ram_addr=a0001000
    os_ram_addr=80001000
    os_flash_addr=bfc40000
    lan_ipaddr=192.168.1.1
    lan_netmask=255.255.255.0
    scratch=a0180000
    boot_wait=on
    watchdog=3000
    hardware_version=WL500-02-02-01-00
    regulation_domain=0X30DE

  3. #3

    Clearing nvram = default settings?

    Well, I've read some threads speeking about how to resurect dead units... and the use of wl500g-clear-nvram.trx file!

    ... and I'm staying in a confuse state!!!

    So, could you please give me some clarifying answers?

    1. Does this file really erase the nvram values or just perform a restoration to default values? Is it necessary to flash new fw after flashing wl500g-clear-nvram.trx?

    2. Do hardware reset and/or software factory defaults operations have the same effect than flashing wl500g-clear-nvram.trx?

    3. Does restoring a firmware (without applying wl500g-clear-nvram.trx before) also affect nvram content and overwrite it to default values?

    4. And finaly, how to be sure that nvram content is not corrupted and doesn't affect incorrect firmware behaviour?

    Thanks in advance...

  4. #4
    I have similar questions regarding this subject.
    If someone knows the answers to the above questions, please share them.

    thank you.
    [ WL-500G | fw: 1.9.2.7-7f ]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,350
    Quote Originally Posted by Spot
    1. Does this file really erase the nvram values or just perform a restoration to default values? Is it necessary to flash new fw after flashing wl500g-clear-nvram.trx?
    It's completely clears nvram, which is then would be filled with defaults with bootloader and firmware. You will need to reflash your real firmware after using this one.

    2. Do hardware reset and/or software factory defaults operations have the same effect than flashing wl500g-clear-nvram.trx?
    There is no hardware reset, everything is done in software. Yes, the results are the same.

    3. Does restoring a firmware (without applying wl500g-clear-nvram.trx before) also affect nvram content and overwrite it to default values?
    No.

    4. And finaly, how to be sure that nvram content is not corrupted and doesn't affect incorrect firmware behaviour?
    Reset to defaults using RESTORE button or type these in the telnet session
    Code:
    erase /dev/mtd/3
    reboot

  6. #6
    thanks.
    [ WL-500G | fw: 1.9.2.7-7f ]

  7. #7
    Big thanks!!!

  8. #8
    I'm having the same problem, it's rather annoying since I want to forward a port that has already been defined but since the changes don't get saved on reboot it's pointless. I'd also prefer to find a solution that doesn't include a messy-workaround with post-firewall scripts.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    21
    Any news on this? Or are we going to update the FW to make a complete reset of the iptables to get rid of the old entries that's not valid anymore?
    //... ZeroCrash

  10. #10
    just to Flush all rules out of CHAIN "VSERVER" by below :

    iptables -F VSERVER -t nat


    good luck!

  11. #11

    but how to clear them from nvram?

    but the entries are restored after a reboot, how to remove them permanently? Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. default route on a br0 interface? how?
    By xtraya in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-07-2005, 10:11
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2005, 16:19
  3. Change default firewall ruleset ?
    By majx in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2005, 16:59

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •