Page 36 of 48 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast
Results 526 to 540 of 714

Thread: New oleg firmware version

  1. #526
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    starting the daemon:
    Bind usbip.ko to a usb device to be exportable!
    dunno if that's a debug message, but I modprobed usbip.ko
    Yes. Thats debug message, its ok.

    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    devices are detected properly and while mounting:
    usbip_bind_driver --usbip 1-2.1
    ** (process:5888): DEBUG: 1-2.1:1.0 -> usb-storage
    ** (process:5888): DEBUG: unbinding interface
    ** (process:5888): DEBUG: write "add 1-2.1" to /sys/bus/usb/drivers/usbip/match_busid
    ** Message: bind 1-2.1 to usbip, complete!
    Why just 1-2.1 exported, not whole 1-2? Have You got external USB hub?
    What device you try to export?
    Last edited by ryzhov_al; 18-01-2011 at 08:16.

  2. #527
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by ryzhov_al View Post
    Why just 1-2.1 exported, not whole 1-2? Have You got external USB hub?
    What device you try to export?
    Yes, it's a harddrive connected through an usb hub.
    I umounted the hdd first obviously.
    The other harddrive is connected straight to the router, but I don't think it's a good idea to force umount /opt and share it over usb

  3. #528
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    Yes, it's a harddrive connected through an usb hub.
    I umounted the hdd first obviously.
    I would like to solve your problem, but i have not any external hub. If i'll find one, i'll do. You may try to export entire hub (1-2).

  4. #529
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by ryzhov_al View Post
    I would like to solve your problem, but i have not any external hub. If i'll find one, i'll do. You may try to export entire hub (1-2).
    Mounting the hub works (late answer)

    anyway, I've tried the rtn version of the wl-500w firmware.
    Now, is this supposed to work or is it for future development?
    When I flash it with the restoration tool the device won't reboot after 10 minutes, and when I re-apply power myself it doesn't look like the router is going through a boot process at all

  5. #530
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    3,640
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    anyway, I've tried the rtn version of the wl-500w firmware.
    Now, is this supposed to work or is it for future development?
    If you compile rtn FW for WL500W yourself, I suppose it's incomplete automation in Makefile.top - your kernel MUST be MIPS32R1

  6. #531
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by lly View Post
    If you compile rtn FW for WL500W yourself, I suppose it's incomplete automation in Makefile.top - your kernel MUST be MIPS32R1
    well it seems like the logic is correct:
    Code:
    $(LINUXDIR)/.config: .config
    	cp $(LINUXDIR)/arch/mips/defconfig-bcm947xx $@
    	$(call SwitchConfParam,$@,CONFIG_IPV6,$(if $(CONFIG_IPV6),y,n))
    	$(call SwitchConfParam,$@,CONFIG_CPU_MIPS32_R1,$(if $(filter WL%,$(MODEL)),y,n))
    	$(call SwitchConfParam,$@,CONFIG_CPU_MIPS32_R2,$(if $(filter RT-N%,$(MODEL)),y,n))
    which should switch:
    Code:
    # CONFIG_CPU_MIPS32_R1 is not set
    CONFIG_CPU_MIPS32_R2=y
    I can try to manually set it to R1 to be sure

  7. #532
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    Mounting the hub works (late answer)
    Good news^) Win64 client is avaliable.
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    anyway, I've tried the rtn version of the wl-500w firmware.
    Now, is this supposed to work or is it for future development?
    When I flash it with the restoration tool the device won't reboot after 10 minutes, and when I re-apply power myself it doesn't look like the router is going through a boot process at all
    Before step 4.2 of Compiling HowTo run
    Code:
    $ cd ./broadcom/src/linux/linux-2.6
    $ make menuconfig
    and choose MIPS32R1 at "CPU Selection".

  8. #533
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by ryzhov_al View Post
    Good news^) Win64 client is avaliable.

    Before step 4.2 of Compiling HowTo run
    Code:
    $ cd ./broadcom/src/linux/linux-2.6
    $ make menuconfig
    and choose MIPS32R1 at "CPU Selection".
    Nice
    I just manually selected it yes, and works
    I noticed that my WL-500W which I use as wireless ethernet bridge has a better sensitivity now and higher throughput

    Now I know that my automatic building script doesn't work because I first do "make" which builds vor mips32r2, then I run something like "make install MODEL=RT-N16" so that's not going to work
    So the error is with me, allthough I didn't test if the logic in the makefile works

  9. #534
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    CzechRep
    Posts
    151
    I get "Illegal instruction" error as a result of (almost) every command I enter.
    I've tried upgrade firmware and ipkg update (illegal instruction)...
    __________________________________________________ _
    WL-500gP Oleg firmware v.1.9.2.7-rtn
    vsftp,lighttp,php5,mysql4,samba3,
    syslog-ng,rrdtools,cron,openvpn
    WD MyBook 250GB
    __________________________________________________ _
    OpenSUSE 13.1

  10. #535
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by sarlacc View Post
    I get "Illegal instruction" error as a result of (almost) every command I enter.
    I've tried upgrade firmware and ipkg update (illegal instruction)...
    Maybe it's a bad flash?
    or a faulty firmware image.

  11. #536

    ESD and sound on kernel 2.6.22

    Upgraded to RTN firmware on the WL500gP today.
    Got everything working but cannot figure out how to get sound working.
    Attaching a USB soundcard does not load a kernel module and there's also no /dev/sound
    I want to try to get ESD working
    Can anybody tell me how sound support is now implemented and what to do?

  12. #537
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by preacher@wl500g View Post
    Upgraded to RTN firmware on the WL500gP today.
    Got everything working but cannot figure out how to get sound working.
    Attaching a USB soundcard does not load a kernel module and there's also no /dev/sound
    I want to try to get ESD working
    Can anybody tell me how sound support is now implemented and what to do?
    Sound kernel modules are available in the modules.tar.gz file

  13. #538
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    Sound kernel modules are available in the modules.tar.gz file
    The RTN firmware already includes sound modules:
    Code:
    $ find /lib/modules/ -name *snd*
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-hwdep.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-mixer-oss.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-page-alloc.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-pcm-oss.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-pcm.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-rawmidi.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-timer.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-usb-audio.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-usb-lib.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd.ko
    Quote Originally Posted by preacher@wl500g View Post
    Attaching a USB soundcard does not load a kernel module and there's also no /dev/sound
    I want to try to get ESD working
    To make any USB Audio Class 1.0 standards compiant soundcard work do:
    1.1 Try to load kernel modules automatically
    Code:
    insmod soundcore
    insmod audio
    1.2 If it fails due to "modules.dep" absence, load modules manually in those order:
    Code:
    insmod soundcore
    insmod snd
    insmod snd-timer
    insmod snd-page-alloc
    insmod snd-pcm
    insmod snd-hwdep
    insmod snd-rawmidi
    insmod snd-usb-lib
    insmod snd-usb-audio
    insmod snd-mixer-oss
    insmod snd-pcm-oss
    2 check it out:
    Code:
    wget -q -O - http://scfire-dtc-aa06.stream.aol.com:80/stream/1010 | madplay -
    Mine works fine.

    There is no ESD-daemon, just OSS.
    Last edited by ryzhov_al; 14-03-2011 at 09:10.

  14. #539
    Quote Originally Posted by ryzhov_al View Post
    The RTN firmware already includes sound modules:
    Code:
    $ find /lib/modules/ -name *snd*
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-hwdep.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-mixer-oss.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-page-alloc.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-pcm-oss.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-pcm.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-rawmidi.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-timer.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-usb-audio.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd-usb-lib.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.22.19/snd.ko

    To make any USB Audio Class 1.0 standards compiant soundcard work do:
    1.1 Try to load kernel modules automatically
    Code:
    insmod soundcore
    insmod audio
    1.2 If it fails due to "modules.dep" absence, load modules manually in those order:
    Code:
    insmod soundcore
    insmod snd
    insmod snd-timer
    insmod snd-page-alloc
    insmod snd-pcm
    insmod snd-hwdep
    insmod snd-rawmidi
    insmod snd-usb-lib
    insmod snd-usb-audio
    insmod snd-mixer-oss
    insmod snd-pcm-oss
    2 check it out:
    Code:
    wget -q -O - http://scfire-dtc-aa06.stream.aol.com:80/stream/1010 | madplay -
    Mine works fine.

    There is no ESD-daemon, just OSS.
    It seems to work :-) Thanks a lot for the instruction.
    I guess it is not initialized automatically due to the abscence of the waveserver. I got ESD from: http://home.in.tum.de/~pustka/WL-500...soundcard.html
    In Kernel 2.4 it just caused an endles beep when playing.

    Code:
    WL-500gP login: admin
    Password:
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod soundcore
    insmod: can't insert 'soundcore.ko': File exists
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod audio
    insmod: can't insert 'audio.ko': No such file or directory
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod soundcore
    insmod: can't insert 'soundcore.ko': File exists
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd
    pcm
    insmod snd-hwdep
    insmod snd-rawmidi
    insmod snd-usb-lib
    insmod snd-usb-audio
    insmod snd-mixer-oss
    insmod snd-pcm-oss[admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd-timer
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd-page-alloc
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd-pcm
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd-hwdep
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd-rawmidi
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd-usb-lib
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd-usb-audio
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd-mixer-oss
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ insmod snd-pcm-oss
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ ls /dev/
    2-1        loop1      mtd2       ppp        ptypb      ttyS0      ttypc
    2-2        loop2      mtd2ro     ptmx       ptypc      ttyS1      ttypd
    audio      loop3      mtd3       pts        ptypd      ttyp0      ttype
    console    loop4      mtd3ro     ptyp0      ptype      ttyp1      ttypf
    dsp        loop5      mtd4       ptyp1      ptypf      ttyp2      urandom
    fd         loop6      mtd4ro     ptyp2      random     ttyp3      usb1
    full       loop7      mtdblock0  ptyp3      root       ttyp4      usb2
    fuse       lp0        mtdblock1  ptyp4      shm        ttyp5      usb3
    gpio       mem        mtdblock2  ptyp5      snd        ttyp6      usbdev1.1
    kmem       mixer      mtdblock3  ptyp6      sound      ttyp7      usbdev2.1
    kmsg       mtd0       mtdblock4  ptyp7      stderr     ttyp8      usbdev2.2
    log        mtd0ro     null       ptyp8      stdin      ttyp9      usbdev2.3
    loop       mtd1       nvram      ptyp9      stdout     ttypa      usbdev3.1
    loop0      mtd1ro     port       ptypa      tty        ttypb      zero
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ ls /dev/sound/
    audio  dsp    mixer
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ /tmp/local/opt/esd -d /dev/sound/dsp -public -tcp &
    [admin@WL-500gP root]$ - using device /dev/sound/dsp

  15. #540
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Heesch, Netherlands
    Posts
    118
    Is it still needed to recompile firmware to make use of both serial ports of the asus wl500g deluxe with the new firmware? I only found a 5 year old thread about recompiling the kernel, but I have never recompiled a kernel before, so I would like to know if this is necessary, and how I should accomplish this.
    Solar inverter monitoring with Asus wl500gx http://solar.reinieren.net (dutch)

Page 36 of 48 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Probleme mit der Oleg firmware
    By errox in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 14-06-2008, 22:26
  2. new firmware 1.9.2.7-8 by oleg
    By alien433 in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 24-01-2008, 20:31
  3. Oleg firmware not working.
    By wpte in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 12:48
  4. C Compiler voor de oleg firmware
    By wouzs in forum Dutch Discussion - Nederlands
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-10-2007, 15:57

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •