Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 54

Thread: [HowTo] Setup MediaTomb (mediaserver) on WL-500gP and WL-500W

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    I have the static running on mine, works great, except that i need a script where to place a link to start it up after reboot. Any one have any ideas?
    WL-500gp (Premium) v2
    transmission, dropbear, open-sftp, samba2, mediatomb(PS3), midnight commander

  2. #2
    in your post-boot file put the following;

    cd /opt/share/mediatomb <- or whatever your mediatomb directory is
    ./mediatomb.sh (make sure you update the mediatomb.sh file to include the -d option)

  3. #3
    rathalian - Thanks very much for posting this information, it was a big help in the right direction. I tried to follow the directions today and wound up getting the 'zmm::Exception' error message. I did a little digging and found the problem was the config.xml that was using. I got past the problem by following these steps.

    Code:
    ipkg install mediatomb
    mkdir /usr/local/root/.mediatomb
    cd /opt/share/mediatomb
    cat sqlite3.sql | sqlite3 mediatomb.db
    mv mediatomb.db /usr/local/root/.mediatomb/
    mediatomb
    Since there was no config.xml in place, mediatomb created a pretty good default. Here's the diff from my working(-) and failing(+) config.xml:
    - <udn>uuid:1d40049c-e8ee-43bc-81ed-18859eb25b1e</udn>
    - <home>/usr/local/root/.mediatomb</home>
    + <udn>uuid:207f02e4-943d-4982-946a-22db80475be8</udn>
    + <home>/opt/etc/mediatomb</home>

  4. #4
    Problem is that with the ipkg package you have two problems:

    - you WILL get that database error, requiring you manually recreate it via cat, and it's likely it will happen again
    - you WONT be able to autostart mediatomb when the router reboots (the -d command fails)

    The static package includes it's own config.xml file etc...the ipkg package should be pulled from the optware list as it is problematic for our router.

    This is my mediatomb.sh file:
    #!/bin/sh

    # if you want to launch this script from a different directory (for example
    # from an another init script or similar, set the LAUNCHDIR variable below
    # to the absolute path of the mediatomb.sh script

    LAUNCHDIR=`pwd`
    export MEDIATOMB_DATADIR="$LAUNCHDIR/usr/share/mediatomb"
    export MEDIATOMB_MAGIC_FILE="usr/share/file/magic"
    $LAUNCHDIR/usr/bin/mediatomb -m $LAUNCHDIR -f config -d

    This is my post-mount file
    #! /bin/sh

    /opt/etc/init.d/rc.unslung start
    cd /opt/share/mediatomb
    ./mediatomb.sh

    Link to static build : http://downloads.sourceforge.net/med...ips32el.tar.gz

    Hope this helps
    Last edited by rathalian; 23-03-2009 at 06:13.

  5. #5
    I did a little testing and found that the startup script included with the ipkg distribution works fine if you:

    1. Edit the file /opt/etc/mediatomb.conf to specify correct user, group and port.
    2. The ".mediatomb" directory exists in the user's home directory.
    3. The directory /opt/etc/mediatomb exists.
    4. The database is manually created in the /opt/etc/mediatomb directory

    For me, the key was creating the empty .mediatomb directory in my home directory

    Code:
    ipkg install mediatomb
    mkdir -p ~/.mediatomb
    mkdir -p /opt/etc/mediatomb
    cd /opt/share/mediatomb
    cat sqlite3.sql | sqlite3 mediatomb.db
    mv mediatomb.db /opt/etc/mediatomb/
    vi /opt/etc/mediatomb.conf  (I set user, group and port)
    vi /opt/etc/default/mediatomb and set enabled = true
    /opt/etc/init.d/S90mediatomb start
    tail /opt/var/log/mediatomb
    I was able to stream an avi to my PS3 last night so this setup seems to work, at least for me.

  6. #6

    Exclamation

    Can I get a howto for installing this as I cant work it out.

    I have a WL-500G.
    I have Mediatomb that I can run via telnet from a HDD.
    I want mediatomb to automatically turn on after a reboot.
    I want it to be installed to the router not the HDD.

    How do I do this?

    Where is the "post boot" file and how do I edit it?

    I'm not having much luck. I dont know the linux commands so I'm a complete noob at this.

    I'm all new to linux and telnet so the most noob way would be good.

    I'm using Windows 7.

    I need to know what programs do I need to do do it.
    How do I install it on the router? So far I can read the dirs but everything is read only so I cant copy anything. I'm not even sure I'm using the right commands.

    I did today get SSH installed but its still mainly read only.
    Also, how do I install files? I've read about these ipkg files but I cant get them to install even copying what it says to type.
    Last edited by NakedFaerie; 31-05-2010 at 12:05.

  7. #7
    made it work !

    just have to set the ip in mediatomb config file to 192.168.1.1 !

    anyone experienced problems with the subtitles ?

  8. #8

    Thumbs up

    For all the very newbie like i'm...could someone join all these informations in a final step-by-step procedure to follow for a correct installation??? very thank's to all of you

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 113
    Last Post: 25-07-2012, 11:31
  2. [HowTo] Get a HeadStart on a WL-500gP
    By raas in forum WL-500gP Tutorials
    Replies: 187
    Last Post: 11-01-2012, 08:19
  3. WL-500gP + Mediaserver + XBOX360
    By LeChuck in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 15:20
  4. HowTo: Use Palm as 500gP LCD
    By Tamadite in forum WL-500gP Tutorials
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-02-2009, 21:18
  5. Howto setup WinSCP to connect to my wl500g?
    By ikerstges in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-02-2006, 12:20

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •