Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: How to enable telnet or ssh into router from WAN ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    16

    How to enable telnet or ssh into router from WAN ?

    The title says it all. How can I do this ?

    Caveat: my ISP only allows ports above 1024.
    Is it enough to add an iptables rule, redirecting e.G; port 2323 to the router's internal IP port 23 ?

    eg:

    Code:
    iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -d \$2 -p tcp --dport 2323 -j DNAT --to-destination 100.100.100.1:23
    All tips welcome,

    BigOoze

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    103
    Same here.
    What I did was to start dropbear ssh on a second port.
    Just add to the dropbear line -p 22 -p 2222 or something

    This is what I have in my post-boot
    /usr/sbin/dropbear -b /mnt/ramfs/local/welcome.msg -p 22 -p 55909
    and in post-firewall
    iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --syn --dport 2222 -j ACCEPT

    If you use firm 1.8xx
    the command should be something like
    iptables -I INPUT 2 -p tcp --syn --dport 2222 -j ACCEPT
    to avoid the last drop

Similar Threads

  1. Telnet the router
    By guch79 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23-06-2005, 10:29
  2. telnet my.router
    By eytan in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-04-2005, 16:24
  3. connect into router using telnet?
    By artonice in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-12-2004, 15:01
  4. enable syslog in AP mode
    By init_{} in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-06-2004, 12:04
  5. Enable PPPoE Relay ?
    By bodel007 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-03-2004, 09:58

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •