Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 32

Thread: boost your transmission power from 19mW to 84mW

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    2
    Here's a nice guide to: http://erhnam.demon.nl/asus-wlan-hack/

    Isn't it smarter to change it to 65-75mWH ?
    Last edited by ilmer; 01-04-2004 at 21:56.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,404
    Originally posted by ilmer
    Here's a nice guide to: http://erhnam.demon.nl/asus-wlan-hack/

    Isn't it smarter to change it to 65-75mWH ?
    to inform you, I am the one who wrote that guide... except for the wl -i eth2 txpwr 84

    and why should it be smarter to change it to 65-75mWH ?
    so that the signal would get better or something?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helmond, The Netherlands
    Posts
    89
    Here is a WL500g measurement with a R&S spectrum analyzer. Please notice the 8dBm difference (19mW = 12,7dBm, 84mW = 19,2 dBm). This is measured with an Antenna, no direct connection to the Spectrum Analyzer.



    The Following picture shows a direct connection:


  4. #19

    txpwr in client mode

    Hi,
    nice pictures, but I've some quetsions about them. Did you measured WL500g in AP or client mode? I thought, if there are no clients associated to AP, it transmit just something like "hello, I'm here" and no standard traffic signal. And if you have your spectrum analyzer connected directly on coax, I'm sure there are no clients associated. So, do you thing that signal on your picture is this "hallo" signal? Did this signal have same strenght, like traffic?
    And about client mode. I use wl500b in client mode, AP distance is about 500 meters and it's same link quality if txpwr is 1 or 84. No packetloss or something like this. So I've some doubt about txpwr setting. I tried to measure power with RF powermeter, but I wasn't succesfull. I gues that not associated client is just listening and no transmiting. What do you thanks tenis

  5. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by bramfm
    Here is a WL500g measurement with a R&S spectrum analyzer. Please notice the 8dBm difference (19mW = 12,7dBm, 84mW = 19,2 dBm). This is measured with an Antenna, no direct connection to the Spectrum Analyzer.



    The Following picture shows a direct connection:

    What is the name of that program you used for analyzing signal? I need a good program to find what is wrong with my network. I get ping timeout every 57 sec on my Asus WL-500g based network.

  6. #21

    Question if i change the transmission power iss it permanent

    hi @ all,
    my question is if i change the transmission power iss it permanetly or i have to change each new start of my wl-500gx?

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Germany / NRW
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by PHanToMiC
    hi @ all,
    my question is if i change the transmission power iss it permanetly or i have to change each new start of my wl-500gx?
    It is permanetly.

  8. #23
    big thx for answer

  9. #24
    hi @ all,
    i use the new firmware from oleg. and i need to boost up the transmission power.
    i do it by the guide from page 1 with this command
    /usr/sbin/wl -i eth2 txpwr 84

    but i get this error massage?

    eth2: No such device
    txpwr Set tx power in milliwatts. Range [1, 84]. (Deprecated: Use txpwr1 instead)

    so if i understand it right, all i have to do is this command?
    txpwr84

    is this right?
    Last edited by PHanToMiC; 15-01-2006 at 16:15.
    BIG Thx

    PhanToMiC

  10. #25
    Code:
    [admin@wl root]$ wl -i eth2 txpwr1 -m 84
    [admin@wl root]$ wl -i eth2 txpwr1
    TxPower is 77 qdbm,  19.25 dbm, 84 mW  Override is Off
    however I don't think this makes much difference...
    If you also don't see a difference in power, try:
    wl atten 0 0 120
    [ WL-500G | fw: 1.9.2.7-7f ]

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by PHanToMiC
    eth2: No such device
    If you are doing this on a wl-500g deluxe: eth1 is the wireless interface...

  12. #27
    ok.
    eth1 is wireles.
    thats what i like to boost up.
    my router is the wl500g deluxe so what i have to write for command to boost up transmission? is the how to on the first page wrong? or i do somthing wrong?
    BIG Thx

    PhanToMiC

  13. #28
    Quote Originally Posted by PHanToMiC
    ok.
    eth1 is wireles.
    thats what i like to boost up.
    my router is the wl500g deluxe so what i have to write for command to boost up transmission? is the how to on the first page wrong? or i do somthing wrong?
    # /usr/sbin/wl -i eth1 txpwr1 -m 85
    to check..
    # wl txpwrlimit
    Current TX Power Limit: 89 mW ( 19.50 dBm)
    (it seems to go to nearest 0.25 dbm)

  14. #29
    @ WVR,
    big thx it's a great support thank you
    BIG Thx

    PhanToMiC

  15. #30
    new problem,
    i setup my wl500g to 84mw transmission power.
    one off the routers lose allways the power from 84 to 1mw without doing anything firmware of both is same newest release from oleg.
    what can i do or did some one knows this f.. problem?
    BIG Thx

    PhanToMiC

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Signal Power
    By Panja in forum Dutch Discussion - Nederlands
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 24-09-2005, 03:46
  2. How to power down WL-HDD?
    By grumpa in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-09-2005, 11:31
  3. Power over LAN (IEEE802.3af)
    By uli in forum WL-300g Q&A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-07-2005, 09:22
  4. WL-HDD auto power-off?
    By kn0rz in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17-02-2005, 10:34
  5. Power Boost wl-138g ?
    By davidsanton in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-04-2004, 20:37

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •