PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Firmware v1.9.3.6 BETA



Antiloop
20-03-2005, 01:21
WARNING: BETA VERSION
TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK!

DO NOT UPGRADE UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING
DOWNGRADE IS NOT EASILY POSSIBLE!!

Changelog:


1. Fix: reset to default problem
2. Fix: wireless range problem
3. Chg: pppoe package for idle disconnect timeout
4. Add: support connection of NAT track to 4096


important!!

When upgrading from 1.7.x.x based firmware: you MUST Reset your WL500g to defaults via the restore button at the back after upgrading to this firmware!

you do not have to do this when you upgrade from 1.8.x.x based firmware!
but we RECOMMEND you to do a restore to defaults.

Do not import saved settings from older/other firmwares! this can cause unstability to your device


find files here:

Mirror @ Chupa.nl
http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/firmware/WL500g_1936_EN.zip

cK LEe notified me by mail of the existence.

Spot
20-03-2005, 11:56
I got the message: "could'nt connect to server".
Never happends with previous fw versions up to 1.9.3.5!

Grrrr... I know this is beta one but seems that new versions always lost things that worked well before :D

kenneth
20-03-2005, 15:55
The connection speed is really low using 1.9.3.X version firmware.
I am using VDSL 10Mbps with PPPOE

(It changed from 1.2MB/s [in 1.9.2.x ] to 400KB/s, however, 1.9.3.X is more stable. The connection seldom disconnects.)

jago25_98
21-03-2005, 17:34
doesn't seem to be telnet or dropbear running with this release...hmm..

tomilius
22-03-2005, 00:10
doesn't seem to be telnet or dropbear running with this release...hmm..
ASUS releases never have such things. This is not custom firmware.

newbie
22-03-2005, 09:36
After applying Firmware upgrade the reset function is not working anymore.
Tried different things -> power off for an hour, pressing reset button 5 seconds and keeping pressed during power on, pressing button for about 1 minute etc. but nothing is succesfull. Power led will not burn anymore while LAN led is flashing. No connection is possible at the moment.

Anyone an idea how to get the router in control again?

Antiloop
22-03-2005, 11:52
After applying Firmware upgrade the reset function is not working anymore.
Tried different things -> power off for an hour, pressing reset button 5 seconds and keeping pressed during power on, pressing button for about 1 minute etc. but nothing is succesfull. Power led will not burn anymore while LAN led is flashing. No connection is possible at the moment.

Anyone an idea how to get the router in control again?

you can try to connect pin10 from the flash (AMD) chip to ground while powering on, this should force the unit to go into firmware recovery mode so you can reflash firmware and start over

newbie
22-03-2005, 12:46
you can try to connect pin10 from the flash (AMD) chip to ground while powering on, this should force the unit to go into firmware recovery mode so you can reflash firmware and start over

I'll try this but as a newbie I've never done so before. Can you explain me where I can find the (flash) chip on the print after opening the device? and which pin is pin10?
which ground can I use?-> outside surface of power connector?

int
23-03-2005, 18:30
reboot issue. (fw 1.9.3.6)

Styno
24-03-2005, 12:03
After applying Firmware upgrade the reset function is not working anymore.
Tried different things -> power off for an hour, pressing reset button 5 seconds and keeping pressed during power on, pressing button for about 1 minute etc. but nothing is succesfull. Power led will not burn anymore while LAN led is flashing. No connection is possible at the moment.

Anyone an idea how to get the router in control again?
What happens if you, regardless of what the LEDs do, try to do the firmware restoration trick?
What I mean is:
- Bring the unit in restoration modem (power off, reset, power on while reset, hold reset for another 10 seconds, then release reset button).
- Prepare pc for restoration (single ethernet interface enabled, fixed ip address).
- Run restoration tool.

More info here: http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?p=8236

Report results here please.

Viper_Rus
25-03-2005, 17:05
At 1.9.3.5 and later it normally worked....

tomilius
26-03-2005, 03:51
At 1.9.3.5 and later it normally worked....
You mean and prior/earlier ...

Viper_Rus
26-03-2005, 15:52
You mean and prior/earlier ...
Yes, 1.9.3.5 and earlier

rprior
26-03-2005, 19:26
At 1.9.3.5 and later it normally worked....
USB printer does not work here either (HP DeskJet 940C). The USB port works for pen drives, though.

Theo
27-03-2005, 11:19
Let's first say that I'm a newby, but I have read a lot of postings on the forum. Now my problem:

I recently purchased the WL-500g with firmware version 1.8.1.9. I'm trying to connect my Canon ip3000 printer to the wl500, but without success. I know there are some posting regarding this item but they did not help. The printer wizard doesn't indicate any problem and the port automatically switches to a 'standard tcp/ip port', but when I want to print something, nothing happens. The protocol is RAW and the port number is 9100. Bidirectional communication on or off does not make any difference.

The next step I want to do now is to upgrade the wl500g firmware. On the site of Asus a 1.9.3.6 beta version is available, with among others 'a range problem' solved. On this forum the latest version seems to be 1.9.2.7 CR4.
Can I use this version or does it still have this range problem? Or do I have to wait for a final 1.9.3.6 version from Asus?

(My Asus is installed on the second floor and the laptop is mostly used at the ground floor (couch!). The receiver quality now is 3 out of 5 on average, so I'm a little bit worried about this range problem.)

System info:
FW version: 1.8.1.9
mode: access point
security: WPA-PSK
PC: Windows XP SP2
printer: Canon PIXMA ip3000, with latest drivers

Any help appreciated!

Theo.

Oleg
27-03-2005, 11:42
The protocol is RAW and the port number is 9100. Bidirectional communication on or off does not make any difference.

RAW is not supported by original 1.8.1.9 firmware.

Theo
27-03-2005, 11:49
RAW is not supported by original 1.8.1.9 firmware.

Is this simply the reason why the ip3000 does not work with 1.8.1.9? Or can I use another setting?

Theo.

Emand
03-04-2005, 21:56
Is this simply the reason why the ip3000 does not work with 1.8.1.9? Or can I use another setting?

Theo.

Hi

I am using 1.9.2.7-3c and have 2 printers connectet, on the USB a IP4000 @ RAW:9100, and on parrallel a HP890 @ RAW:9101, it works fine, and the question about the range, I have no trouble using my labtop i 2 floors.
IBM whit a Linsys WPC54G

Esben

PatatoHead
06-04-2005, 11:47
Hello,

I recently bought a WL500 Deluxe. It came with ASUS firmware version 1.8.2.1. Upgrading to ASUS version 1.9.3.6 (beta) caused problems with transfering files from WAN -> FTP, so I downgraded to 1.8.2.1. Large files still can't be uploaded.

Question: Are there any problems (and solutions) known uploading files to FTP using fw 1.9.3.6? With 1.8.2.1 large files still stop transfering. Is it possible that the "Stay Timeout in Seconds:" is causing this problem? After a certain time de connection is closed while transferring files.....

Question: Will there be custom firmware for the WL500g Deluxe including Samba, Telnet, etc.?

Question: Are these features in custom firmware accessable through router setup (www) or do you have to run commands from the hidden admin-page / by using telnet?

Oleg
06-04-2005, 12:10
Question: Will there be custom firmware for the WL500g Deluxe including Samba, Telnet, etc.?

It's already available. My primary unit is wl500g deluxe now.



Question: Are these features in custom firmware accessable through router setup (www) or do you have to run commands from the hidden admin-page / by using telnet?
Some features like basic samba/nfs in managed thru the web, others (if you want something advanced) from the telnet/ssh connection.

PatatoHead
06-04-2005, 12:21
Oleg,

Thanks for your fast answer.
Where can the latest firmware for 'deluxe' be downloaded?
I only see 1.8.1.9 (chinese), 1.8.2.1 (the one i use) and two beta versions from ASUS (3.5 and 3.6).

Oleg
06-04-2005, 12:51
Oleg,

Thanks for your fast answer.
Where can the latest firmware for 'deluxe' be downloaded?
I only see 1.8.1.9 (chinese), 1.8.2.1 (the one i use) and two beta versions from ASUS (3.5 and 3.6).
Check wl500g firmware releases for 1.9.2.7 CR4. This is latest custom firmware.

Styno
06-04-2005, 13:17
Oleg,

Thanks for your fast answer.
Where can the latest firmware for 'deluxe' be downloaded?
I only see 1.8.1.9 (chinese), 1.8.2.1 (the one i use) and two beta versions from ASUS (3.5 and 3.6).
Check all forums in this forum carefully, starting here: http://wl500g.info/index.php. You will then find a forum which contains all firmwares (Official and non-Official) which are release for the WL-500g.

PatatoHead
06-04-2005, 13:28
I did.... but i didn't know that the firmware for the WL500g could be used for the WL500gx aka deluxe.

Oleg
06-04-2005, 14:46
If you browse a directory, there is a firmware called WL500gx-1.9.2.7-4.trx

speedxs
27-04-2005, 07:54
Let's first say that I'm a newby, but I have read a lot of postings on the forum. Now my problem:

I recently purchased the WL-500g with firmware version 1.8.1.9. I'm trying to connect my Canon ip3000 printer to the wl500, but without success. I know there are some posting regarding this item but they did not help. The printer wizard doesn't indicate any problem and the port automatically switches to a 'standard tcp/ip port', but when I want to print something, nothing happens. The protocol is RAW and the port number is 9100. Bidirectional communication on or off does not make any difference.

The next step I want to do now is to upgrade the wl500g firmware. On the site of Asus a 1.9.3.6 beta version is available, with among others 'a range problem' solved. On this forum the latest version seems to be 1.9.2.7 CR4.
Can I use this version or does it still have this range problem? Or do I have to wait for a final 1.9.3.6 version from Asus?

(My Asus is installed on the second floor and the laptop is mostly used at the ground floor (couch!). The receiver quality now is 3 out of 5 on average, so I'm a little bit worried about this range problem.)

System info:
FW version: 1.8.1.9
mode: access point
security: WPA-PSK
PC: Windows XP SP2
printer: Canon PIXMA ip3000, with latest drivers

Any help appreciated!

Theo.

Theo,

I had the same problem with my HP OfficeJet 5510.
After I changed the port protocol from RAW to LPR with queuename "LPRServer", it worked like a charm!

Hope this helpes!

Nick