PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : USB Print Server support?

neil
29-07-2007, 20:48
Hi,

I'm a noob to the asus wl700ge - i'm looking at buying one this week as a backup device primarily, but also cos it has the print server option.

I have two printers, an old Epson Stylus Color 760, and an Epson R300 Photo printer - will these be supported on the wl700ge: i'm using a mac osx 10.4: if support is ropey built in, what would be the best custom firmware

Additionally, are the any compatibility issues with it and mac osx? can't see how, but you never know...;) - can i setup auto backup of files at regular intervals from the mac to the asus device??

I'm a big fan of asus in general (i'm writing this on my work asus w2v laptop, which is without doubt the most reliable laptop i've ever used!) and the 700ge is getting good reviews in the UK...any recommendations of where to buy? (scan computers look cheapest)

cheers for all advice

neil

kfurge
29-07-2007, 23:58
Asus maintains a collection of supported devices on their website. I'm using the print server feature on mine with a generic usb<->parallel converter and it works fine for me. YMMV.

Regarding mac support, others in this forum have had good success with mac compatibility, though not necessarily with the box as it ship from Asus. Many have installed more mac friendly packages with my custom firmware.

- K.C.

neil
30-07-2007, 22:02
many thanks...both printers mentioned are usb direct, so need for the parallel lead. if i understand rightly, only one usb->printer connection is allowed for the print server? (it'd be a bonus if more than one was supported!)

you mentioned more "mac friendly packages" - what exactly did you mean by that, specific components of your firmware, or packages running on the mac itself (i.e. the backup software), and if anyone has any experience of backing up from mac to the asus, that'd be handy!

...sorry for all the questions, just want to make sure i buy the right equipment!

haraldrt